User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with Real Ale Ray on the Pub Forum

The Angel Microbrewery, Nottingham

7 Stoney Street
Nottingham
NG1 1LG
Phone: 01159476735

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Angel Microbrewery

A warren of small rooms means that this one is struggling a bit with the Covid regulations due to its shape and size. All regulations were adhered to though, it just meant that not many people could be inside at once. As it happens it was sunny, so most people moved outside, including ourselves who sat in the rear courtyard. Only two beers on the several handpumps, both from their own brewery. I chose Eureka IPA which was pretty strong for the second pint of the day, but was in good nick. Very friendly staff was another bonus. The food menu looked good, but it was too early for us to eat. We enjoyed our 45 minutes here and will definitely call back next time we're in Nottingham.

On 2nd October 2020 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3026 recommendations about 2941 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Angel Microbrewery

As the previous reviewer says, this is now a stripped out old pub (exposed brickwork and minimalist décor, etc) that has been given a thorough makeover as part of the transition to a microbrewery. I tend to agree that the Lord Roberts is generally superior, but as they couldn’t manage a lunch for four blokes at 1.45 PM we decided to give The Angel try. And we’re glad we did. The Angel was doing food at half price in an effort to drum up lunchtime trade, and that brought snacks like mushroom bruschetta down to £3.50 or so.

Both bars are now in use, and each has its own bar counter with its own bank of handpumps. When we were in they were not duplicated, but the barman took the trouble to tell us what was on in the other bar. They had three ales from the Black Iris Brewery – Mogs Pale, Bleeding Heart, and Ngaru Nui – which everyone knows means big wave in Maori. It’s an unfined (and labelled on the clip as such) 6% IPA. They also had on London Pride, Shipstone’s Gold Star Blond, and Navigation Eclipse. This is a very good selection, even if thay hadn’t quite got their microbrewery up and running – we were told they were doing a test brew. The prices seemed good – four pints came to £12.15, but one of them was a pint of lager shandy!

This one is certainly worth a punt (or even a pint) if you’re in Nottingham, but a traditional pub it isn’t.

On 6th December 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2599 recommendations about 2513 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Conway left this review about The Angel Microbrewery

A very grimy city center boozer targeting the gig goers of the city center. Four real ale pumps were on the bar but only two were in use. I opted for a pint of the newly reformed Home brewery robin hood pale ale which i found a little expensive at £3.40 for a 3.8% beer in Nottingham. The beer was averagely kept and equally as tasty, it seemed to also be served far too cold!

the decorations are a bit hit and miss with them going for a messy/ rugged look but to me the tables and chairs were very dirty, as was the floor and looked like a good clean was in order. I must also state that on my visit this now hold the record for having the worst mens toilets i have ever been inside in a pub, absolutely filthy and broken beyond belief.

There is a time and place for this pub, it has some good points but a fair few bad ones to go with it. An ok city center boozer to have a drink when others around are closed and you don't fancy going to a bar but some basic improvements are in order.

** Update November 2016
The angel has been completely renovated and is now no longer anything like what it was before. It is now a clean, bright and modern city centre pub. I personally am not the biggest fan of this kind of decor as I like more traditional pub layouts such as the lord Roberts down the road but do appreciate it nice and new and a pleasant place to have a drink. Only the right h and room is open at the moment as the other is being kitted out with the microbrewery that is yet to open.
The bar is in the same place with a complete overhaul of the drinks selection with more continental lagers and some craft beers now present such Fullers Frontier. There are also two hand pulls at either end of the bar with three available on my visit but it was late on a Saturday night so all four are usually occupied. London pride (£3.50) and black Iris Snake Eyes are regular beers with the others changing which had one from the nearby Navigation brewery. The London Pride was a very nicely kept beer and very enjoyable, The snake eyes was unified and this was not made clear as it usually is not so I obviously assumed sediment but was very harshly spoken down to by a member of the bar staff that left a bad taste in my mouth which irritated him when I was less than enthusiastic about fined vs unfined, Some people like it some less so, I am the latter, I don’t mind unfined beer if it tastes but personal preference means I like my beer clear, mainly because it contributes a little towards helps me judge how well their cellar stills are and is not something I should have to defend. Overall A bit modern for my liking with less than desirable bar staff (rude quite frankly) but it is clean, tidy, has well-kept beer and a nice opening time of 1:30 on weekends which is good when you want a late night real ale. The ranking does not change as it is still a good place but for completely different reasons

On 5th November 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 455 recommendations about 455 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The Angel Microbrewery

I like the new look!

I have been in and out of the Angel many times in the last few years and I think that the stripped back, brick on show, scrub top look is perfect. There were a couple of decent brews on the bar when I visited last Friday, the micro brewery is still a work in progress. The main bar has been stripped of the clutter and the canopy over the bar has gone, giving it a more inviting feel from the main entrance.

Best thing by far are the new toilets. It has to be said that the old bogs were disgusting and I for one will be glad to see the back of them.

Judging by the posters, there will still be lots of live music at the Angel which will suit the punks and rockers that were still frequenting the smoking area outside during my visit.

Glad to see a great old pub get a new lease of life.

On 4th October 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Angel Microbrewery

The Old Angel has had a new paint job and reopened as The Angel Microbrewery.
The inside layout is just as it was before with the main bar room being long and narrow,i am sure that some of the bench seating which faced to the bar to the front of the room has been removed,there is still bench seating in the middle on the right side facing the bar,there are now leather settees further down the right side,there is a still a separate room to the rear.
The micro brewery was under construction when i visited the pub with it being housed in a separate room behind the bar.
There were four real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Black Iris Endless Summer which was not to my taste,the other beers were Black Iris Snake Eyes,Black Iris Dark Angel and London Pride.
The posters have gone and the pub seems to have lost the bohemian feel that made it stand out from other pubs in the area.
Things may improve when the micro brewery is up and running.

Original Review 11/1/2011

The Old Angel is one of the original lace market pubs before the rash of new bars opened in this area.
This pub used to be an Home Ales tied house and once inside here the pub is still the same as it was years ago.
There are two rooms in this pub with the bar on the right and a quieter lounge to the left,i went in the bar which is a long narrow room with the bar on the left the walls are bare brick and the flooring is bare boards there is bench seating and small stools at the front and tables and chairs at the rear where there is also a darts board.
There were four handpumps on the bar but only one was in operation this was Blue Monkey BG Sips and this was a very nice drink.
The pub has a bohemian feel to it and most of the customers have unusuall hair but i thought this was a friendly pub and i would be happy to come in here again.

Recent visit 23/7/2016

On 8th September 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The Angel Microbrewery

The Angel is currently closed for a major refit and will open Summer 2016 as the Angel Micro Brewery.

On 4th August 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Old Angel

Basic music pub with historic origins, retaining two separate bars and a rear room with a pool table. Decor largely old and new gig posters on the walls and ceilings. Nottingham Legend and two from Navigation - Last Knight (£3.65, and in fine form) and Pints of Peace from a total of six handpumps on the two counters. Good music and good atmosphere.

On 26th April 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 7108 recommendations about 7108 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Old Angel

This interesting historic Lace Market pub, dating back to the 1600's, has a bit of a rock pub feel to it, serving the local community as a traditional boozer and live music venue. The pub is easily spotted from afar thanks to a striking exterior with a huge blue name plaque on the front wall and a mural of local author and angry young man, Alan Sillitoe. The pub is on two levels with a centrally positioned servery splitting them into two separate rooms. The large lower level room is to the left and has tatty floorboards, knackered looking furniture, bare brick walls and a smattering of patterned green wallpaper. Things have been livened up a little with the addition of some contemporary art pieces, collages of musicians, an etched glass mirror and various blackboards listing food options. Meanwhile, the upper level bar to the right hand side seems a lot more popular and has similarly worn features and shabby décor plus a juke box and a row of slot machines. To the rear there is a third room which is dominated by a pool table. An interesting indie/alternative soundtrack played throughout my stay and the bar staff and clientele were very friendly and good humoured. Like many Nottingham pubs, there are apparently a series of caves beneath the pub, but in this instance it uniquely includes a former chapel which has been converted and is used to put on live music, although sadly I was not able to explore on this occasion.
There were four ales available on my visit which, having entered into the lower bar, the barman helpfully listed for me due to the lack of handpulls on this side. I plumped for a pint of Black Hole Titan which was very good, but can only recall Nottingham Rock Bitter as one of the three other options.
This is an unusual pub that really appealed to me and I regretted visiting on a quiet Thursday afternoon, as I suspect I'd enjoy it even more in full swing one evening. The good beer and music, friendly service and interesting building mark this out as the top venue in the Lace Market area and I'd be keen to return again.

On 13th April 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2813 recommendations about 2813 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The Old Angel

A proper scrub floor rock and punk pub with loud music and decent beer. I'm 50+ and never get any bother in here, if you don't like it, go elsewhere. Three large rooms, one with a pool table and lots of real rock memorabilia on the walls. This is not the Hard Rock or some similar contrived establishment dreamed up by a stylist. I was particularly intrigued by the collection of AAA passes stapled over the bar. Someone here has been a roadie I think? Toilets are a bit minging, but the ale makes up for that. Don't be scared, well worth a visit.

On 12th May 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Old Angel

Glad we popped in here as we managed to get a taste of Medieval Brewery Chivalry, which was very good. This Punks and Rockers pub consisted of a large room and bar on the right and a couple of smaller rooms off this with a pool table in the back room. Newspaper cuttings of bands round the bar area.

On 9th April 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3121 recommendations about 3121 pubs]

Page: 1 2