User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

Ye Olde Trip To Jerusalem, Nottingham

1 Brewhouse Yard
Nottingham
NG1 6AD

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Greene King
Page: 1 2 3

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Ye Olde Trip To Jerusalem

More tourist venue than traditional pub (but not going to bemoan that as I qualified as one on the day), and another of those places that purports to be the oldest Inn in England. Well I suppose one of them has to be. But in saying that, this is a must do pub venue when visiting Nottingham and I’m thoroughly glad I’ve ticked this one off.
The pub has been well described by previous reviewers so I won’t repeat any of that, except to say the Nottingham ales saves this from just being a dreary GK outlet, and the Rock Mild was very good. And once you’ve finished having a good look round it best to find somewhere to park your bum, as the layout of the pub means wherever you stand , you will be in the way of someone.

On 17th November 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2110 recommendations about 1992 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Ye Olde Trip To Jerusalem

A great looking irregular shaped building that extends into the caves behind. The pub is white painted brick, with black window frames and doorway, which look early Georgian to me. The pub claims to be the oldest in the universe – I assume it goes by the date of the rock, but as others claim to be the oldest in Nottingham alone, one takes it with a pinch of salt. Indeed, the pub was once called the Pilgrim, but with the fondness we have incorrectly using ‘Ye’ for ‘the’ and adding the extra ‘e’ in words to give some sort of pedigree, the old became olde – funny, why didn’t they didn’t stick an ‘e’ on the end of Trip? There are patio areas at the front and the rear.

The interior has a plethora of rooms over a couple of floors. Upstairs, there is the a lounge bar, with its own serving bar. It is in white and wood panel, with rock ceiling and wood floor, as well as a little brick fireplace. It is adorned with interesting ephemera and there is a shop here as well. A passage connects this with another room which I didn’t see. The ground floor encompasses the serving bar. The first room on entry is rock hewn, and has a stone flag floor, with red leather seats and stools. The most prominent feature here is the black painted brick fireplace, but it has the ring the bull game – which you clearly can’t play if anyone is sitting here! There is a small drinking area at the foot of the steps, where we sat at one visit. Moving around the bar you enter the lounge, which is a rectangular room in white and wood panel, tile floor, with a fireplace at one end. The roof is supported by a post and again, the seating is red leather covered. Lots of photos and pictures are on the walls and a suit of armour watches on – which also doesn’t date to 1189. Up a few stairs at the back there is a small ante-room, which feels like a front room, with red seating, tiled fireplace and interesting clock. They do food but I have never eaten here so can’t comment on that. There is no TV and there was no background music. The service was fine and the clientele consisted of busy mixed crowd- many tourists I am sure.

Beer; the usual tap stuff with GK IPA, Abbot, Old Trip, Spekky Hen, Notts Brewery’s Legend, EPA and a decent enough Centurion MILD on handpull

Greene King beer it may be, but Notts Brewery stuff is better and the pub itself is really worth a visit despite playing to the tourist market. I go every time I am in Nottingham – but for half!

On 17th November 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3067 recommendations about 3062 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Ye Olde Trip To Jerusalem

Really liked this place, quirky with lots to see inside. Well worth the visit when in Nottingham. I went for the Nottingham Brewery A Knight's Tale and Notts Brewery Rock Mild, both of which were excellent. Will defo return.

On 14th November 2011 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3382 recommendations about 3381 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Ye Olde Trip To Jerusalem

This pub is a must for anyone visiting Nottingham thanks to its unique location - it's built into the base of the sandstone rock on top of which stands Nottingham Castle. It's one of a number of pubs laying claim to be Britain's oldest, but their claim of 1189AD is probably best taken with a pinch of salt. Still, such details don't deter the tourist masses who can pack the place out if you don't time your visit well.
The front entrance takes you into a small room with a short bar counter, flagstone floor and bare rock face walls. Beyond there are a couple of little nooks offering limited seating in the form of low stools and tables and the bar counter reappears again in another short stretch. A staircase leads to an area best suited for diners, where some nice lanterns create a bit of atmosphere. There is a bar up here as well, but it didn't seem to have been used for some time. Above the bar counter is something called the Cursed Galleon - a model ship that supposedly puts a curse on anyone who tries to clean it. Next to the bar is the Fertility Chair, which, as the name suggests, has apparently done its bit for Nottingham's population growth over the years, but now looks forlorn as it's protected behind a small barrier. There are a few interesting sculptures up here too as well as some nice barrel seats and a very warm side room called the Museum Room which has a tapestry depicting the city's history.
Back downstairs there are further rooms to be explored in the shape of Yorkey's Lounge - a typical lounge bar, apart from the fact that you can't get served from this area. A suit of armour stands in one corner and a door at the far end leads into the Haunted Snug - a small carpeted room with a fireplace. There is a courtyard out the back and a lot of people take their drinks out to the benches in front of the pub or lie in the grass under the rock face.
The pub is tied to Greene King and offers Abbot Ale, Old Trip and Speckled Hen as well as guests from the local Nottingham Brewery in the shape of their EPA (£3.00) and Legend. I tried the EPA which I found to be a tasty pint, but a repeat visit a few weeks later saw the same beer in less than ideal condition which was a shame. There is a standard Greene King menu available as well which looked to be quite reasonably priced.
I always enjoy a visit here, but with so many other excellent pubs in the vicinity, I rarely stay for more than one drink. Well worth a look for the unique location and with so many different rooms to explore, it stands up to repeat visits.

On 4th May 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3114 recommendations about 3114 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Ye Olde Trip To Jerusalem

This visit saddened us as the beer was not well kept, and two of the beers, both from Nottingham brewery, had to be returned as not up to scratch. It is very much a tourist attraction and cannot fault it on this, as it is not a pub just to go and sit down in, but wander round, exploring the rooms and seeing the way it has been built into the stone. The highest of the rooms is quaint with a tapestry depicting Nottingham history. A bar in the cursed galleon room has been converted for selling touristy items of the pub.

On 18th November 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1339 recommendations about 1222 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Ye Olde Trip To Jerusalem

This pub was a Free House then Kimberley took it over and now its a Greene King house.
When you go into this pub there is a room almost facing you with the bar just around the corner in the first room there are seats around the cave walls and the game played here is called Ring the Bull and when me and my wife were in here recently we saw one bloke ring the bull three times on the trot but nobody else could do it.
The next room is to the left and this is a well furnished and comfortable room and the one we prefer to drink in when here there is a very small room off this room,if you walk up the stairs there are other rooms but no bars and there is also a small courtyard at the back but this is next to the outside toilets which is a bit off putting.
There are 5 handpumps at the first bar counter you see with a couple of GK beers plus Olde Trip which is also now a GK beer but there are also local beers on with usually a couple from Nottingham brewery we had Extra Pale Ale there will also be a couple of beers from other micro brewerys, the other three pumps are around the corner before you go into the second room mentioned.
This pub is usually very busy and in summer it gets tourists from around the world coming in for a drink.
Having said that we quite like this pub and the beer is always well kept.

On 9th November 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Ye Olde Trip To Jerusalem

Well worth seeking out.Beers as below.

On 15th October 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2883 recommendations about 2820 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Ye Olde Trip To Jerusalem

Popular with tourist groups during the day, and it doesn't take many people to fill the small rock-hewn rooms at the back of the pub in the evening, so space is very much at a premium. However, there are also two small courtyard areas if the weather's fine Eight real ales on when I last visited, with half being Greene King offerings but these were supplemented by three beers from Nottingham Brewery (including an excellent Extra Pale Ale) and another guest. Beer prices are reasonable, as is the menu. Overall, this unique place is a 'must visit' so if you go at a sensible time of day you'll find much to enjoy.

On 19th July 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 8086 recommendations about 8086 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Ye Olde Trip To Jerusalem

Well worth a visit to view the unique interior.The first seating area by the entrance has a steel hoop on a chain which is swung around the room with the aim of getting the hoop over the horn on the far wall.It hasnt been done in years,and for H&S reasons attempts werent allowed on a busy Saturday evening.As you walk around there are lots of alcoves cut into the rocks ,small seating areas and a high vaulted cieling at one point with a trap door from the castle above.The interior is not enhanced by the poor lighting and some of the framed "stories" about the pub are a little tacky and I'm not sure how authentic the cursed galleon and pregnancy seat really are.This may play better with the many tourists .The beer range has expanded and it is possible to avoid the dull regular beers from the owners Greene King.Enjoyed the Extra Pale Ale from Nottingham Brewery but felt that this is a pub to have a look around rather than a base for a night on the ale.The small bar means that service can be slow ,it is normally very busy in the evening and is on the town centre pub crawlers itinerary.The interior is probably in need of some tlc.

On 5th May 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2727 recommendations about 2727 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about Ye Olde Trip To Jerusalem

A very interesting building which really does deserve a visit, even if only for one. Built into the stone beneath Nottingham Castle it is a warren of nooks and crannies all of which were busy on our Saturday visit. Six real ales were offered including 3 from the Nottingham brewery as well as the execrable Olde Trip from Hardys & Hansons (Greene King), Old Speckled Hen and Barnes Wallace from Amber Ales. The Nottingham Extra Pale Ale was well kept and quaffable but there wasn't really anything on to tempt us into a session. A fascinating town pub.

On 4th May 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 679 recommendations about 678 pubs]

Page: 1 2 3