User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Of The Month - November 2021 with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

Good Fellow George, Nottingham

Pub added by Mark Davey
11-15 Alfreton Road
Nottingham
NG7 3JE

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Old Boots left this review about Good Fellow George

A former bank now renamed after George Canning the Prime Minister, as indeed is Canning Circus itself. A single room with a courtyard at back. 6 pulls with Sharps, Pedigree, a Black Iris beer and two from Lenton Lane, one blank; my beer was borderline off. Laminate floor, a few tables and chairs of varying height in the middle with booths around the front curve of the room. The beers are listed on single black boards by the front door, decor is mainly from hanging baskets and the counter is still faced with coins as in Overdraught days.

On 12th September 2021 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2441 recommendations about 2242 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Conway left this review about The Overdraught

The overdraught is unfortunately somewhere I do not share the high praise others have bestowed upon it below. Based in one of Nottingham's best pub areas the Overdraught has a lot of fierce competition around it to compete with and in my opinion falls a little short. The layout is open plan with hard floors and feels a little too open to me especially as I have not seen this place ever anywhere near busy giving it a very empty atmosphere. Beer wise there are seven hand pulls usually including six from local micro brewery Totally brewed plus a guest and priced very reasonably between 3.30/40 for normal strength beers (and they give Camra Discount). Unfortunately in my previous visits I have never had a beer in what i would consider "good condition" and I have been more times than to put this down to just being unlucky with beers usually on the cloudy side and very tired. I really wish this place could up its game as it could be a really good part of the Canning Circus Crawl but is missing a bit of something to make it a top real ale spot.

On 4th January 2020 - rating: 6
[User has posted 455 recommendations about 455 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Overdraught

Brewery Tap for Totally Brewed with a beer choice to match the other pubs nearby. The 2 we tried were excellent. You really could spend all day in the Canning Circus area.

On 25th March 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1231 recommendations about 1166 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Overdraught

Large one room with bar to right side. Seven hand pumps with a good selection of ale. Countless craft taps to rear of the bar. Fridge to rear of the room. Worth a revisit.

On 10th August 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1693 recommendations about 1691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Overdraught

As noted below this is a conversion of a shop and a bank before that. It's modern inside but I didn't really get the feeling of it being anything other than a pub. It's a large open plan room with the bar on the right and plenty of low tables and chairs. It was quiet on a Wednesday evening.
The bar has seven hand pumps which had one unused, five Totally Brewed beers and Abbeydale Stuntman. I went for the Totally Brewed Crazy Like A Fox (£3.40) and on a quick Friday visit Captain Hopbeard (£3.80) I only remembered the discount for the Friday visit.
I quite liked this one and would definitely return.

On 27th July 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Overdraught

This pub had a wide and varied range of beers on our visit. The 14 keg options also included three beers from Cloudwater and a comprehensive choice of cans and bottles at the far end of the bar. There was a tap take over on our visit, with two brewers from Wales, showcasing. This consisted of two beers from Waen Brewery and five from Hopcraft. We went for the Hopcraft Perfect Skin, which was excellent.

On 8th April 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3035 recommendations about 3035 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The Overdraught

A rammed opening night in the 16th February saw the latest addition to the Canning Circus and Nottingham drinking scene crash into life. As the new tap for the Totally Brewed team, the pub sits nicely with the Organ Grinder, Falcon, Room with a Brew, Hand & Heart and the Sir John BW, making Canning Circus a real beer destination.

The OverDraught started life as a Nat west bank and was until recently a fancy dress and costume shop. The inside has been stripped back to the raw concrete and brick, featuring the original lift shaft. The décor is contemporary with a leaning to the hipster brigade. Lots of greys and fairy lights along with assorted scrub top tables make the place feel quite modern. The bar is primarily a single room, with a mezzanine at the far end, reached by a short flight of stairs, the toilets are downstairs.

The long resin topped bar has a good assortment of TB beers and a couple of guests, as well as a long line of keg taps on the back wall, using Katana sword handles as levers. Spirits are not currently high on the pubs priority list and the pouring of a G&T seemed to confuse the new barman. At the end of the bar are a couple of fridges with a huge selection of strange beer cans and bottles for consumption in or out.

Music was playing fairly loudly during our visit, but the pub was really over full and I'm sure that it will be moderated as the immediate excitement dies off a bit.

I will certainly be back again, probably when it is a little quieter.

On 19th February 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]