User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with Komakino on the Pub Forum

The Admiral Sir John Borlase Warren (JD Wetherspoon), Nottingham

97 Derby Road
Stapleford
Postal town: Nottingham
NG9 7AA

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Admiral Sir John Borlase Warren (JD Wetherspoon)

The Admiral Sir John Borlase Warren is a brand new Wetherspoons that opened on the 7 February 2012,this pub is almost opposite the old Warren Arms which was pulled down around 2007.
The pub looks very nice from the outside it looks a lot different to most Spoons i have been in.
Once inside the bar is at the rear of the room this runs almost the full width of the pub,as you walk to the bar there is a very large ships cannon pointing towards you this is probably used to get rid of unruly customers,the ships theme is used throughout the pub with porthole windows used in the toilets.
The pub is one large square room that is divided into three drinking areas,the largest area is closest to the bar this has got a mixture of normal tables and chairs,tall tables and chairs and american type diner seating the two smaller areas towards the front of the pub have just got normal tables and chairs.
There are ten pumps on the bar with Abbot and Ruddles bitter being doubled up the six other pumps have a good choice of guest beers on them,we tried Hambleton Nightmare and this was a very nice well kept pint we also had a drink of Oldershaws Old Tom which was also a very nice drink the other beers were Thornbridge jaipur,Newby Wyke Kingston Topaz,Springhead Roaring Meg and Tring Three legs of Man.
Wetherspoons have spent a lot of money on this pub and i think they have done a very good job,i just hope that the other local pubs dont close down because of this.

Pub visited 15/2/2012

After loads of visits most weekends i still like this pub and there is usually a good choice of guest beers on the bar,on our recent visit we had decent meals and the Talyor Boltmaker went down very well.
Not disgruntled at all.

Pub visited 27/2/2016

Hundreds of revisits since my last review,always a decent selection of local Nottinghamshire brewed beers on the bar,Lincoln Green Marrion was not on the bar today or when we went in on the 29th May 2017,the Nottingham Admiral Ale was drinking well as usual and the Sambrooks Battersea Rye was good on bank holiday Monday and also today,four pints of each drunk over the two days so i should know what was on the bar.

Revisits 29/5/2017 and 31/5/2017

On 31st May 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Admiral Sir John Borlase Warren (JD Wetherspoon)

This one is a newly built pub on the site of a former health centre.
As noted below it's a large room split into various areas. There is a nice tiled entrance and a front patio.
There are ten hand pumps and the beer choice consisted of one available soon, the IPA JDW Trio Of Doom with the GK beers doubled up, Lincoln Green Marion, Magpie Four For A Boy, Newby Wyke Black Beard and the house Admiral's Ale from Nottingham. It was good to see the guest ales were all local. I went for the Marion which was in excellent condition. Overall I thought this was one of the better Spoons.

On 31st May 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Conway left this review about Admiral Sir John Borlase Warren (JD Wetherspoon)

The Admiral Sir John Borlase Warren is a newly built Roadside Wetherspoons on the main shopping street in Stapelford. A nice solid looking brick building from the outside the interior is equally as impressive and is up there as having one of the best interiors for spoons I have seen. The inside is very spacious and open plan with nice carpets and a fresh airy feel o it unlike some of the fustier drearier wetherspoons. There is also a nice glass ceiling and better more modern looking tables and chairs compared with the rest of the chain so design wise I was very impressed. The bar runs along the back wall of the pub had there were ten hand pulls. Unfortunately a lot of these were taken up by the boring house beers with Doombar and Abbot doubled up. There was also Ruddels bitter and a house beer from Nottingham Brewery called Admiral Ale. This left me with the choice of Butcombe Brewery’s rare Breed, Lincoln Green Brewery’s Sherwood IPA and Caledonian Brewery’s First Dawn as well as another I failed to note, all guest ales were £2.15. I thought the beer selection was a little disappointing but my rare breed was kept in reasonable shape and on the lower end of spoons pricing so overall quite enjoyable. This Is a nice little addition to stapelfords beer scene and although not the most exciting range It was a very comfortable modern spoons to sit and enjoy a beer in and one that I would not mind returning to as it is a rather pleasant place to relax with a beer. A strong 6

On 22nd May 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 452 recommendations about 452 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Disgruntled Customer left this review about Admiral Sir John Borlase Warren (JD Wetherspoon)

Wetherspoons slogan is food til 11 having finished work late and not knowing exactly where the sir john borlais warren wetherspoons was i got there at 10.55. A little flustered and slightly delayed at the entrance by a taxi driver asking me where the conservative club was. I went to the bar and ordered food to be told sorry the ovens are switched off we havent had an order for 20 minutes ! Now i know i was late but wetherspoons proudly states FOOD TIL 11. The night before i was at the waggon and horses in alfreton and again i rushed there for food (i would have gone there again but it was too far)(i live oop north) (im not normally this late) i got to the bar again 5 to 11 i said its ok i know im late and you can refuse if you want to but is there any chance of food. I got served. So if food isnt served til 11 they should say 10.30 last orders but you know what would happen youd get there 10.25 and theyd say sorry the ovens have just been switched off. If the slogan is food til 11 it should be that, food til 11. Another thing the guy that served me he then starts collecting glasses with his jacket on ready to go at 11.25 what kind of message is he giving? Hurry up drink up its time to go! Arent they open til 12 ? I will go again its a very nice place and most important the beer was good. But obviously if i cut it fine again to get there in time for food i will go elsewhere and therein lies the deathknell for the place. If it says open til 11 it should mean 11 or lose your customers. I will rate the place 8 because of the quality of the place its also the most expensive wetherspoons ive been to for food (if you can call wetherspoons expensive) (i looked at the menu, i could have eaten it!)(noodles are £2.25 where i go £3.90 here)(coffee 69p 99p here) the staff came accross as a bit surly and almost as if i was bothering them to get served (the second pint) so 4 for them

On 9th June 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Admiral Sir John Borlase Warren (JD Wetherspoon)

Detached, new-build 'spoons. Rectangular bar with various side seating areas. Small split-level terrace out front. Eight of ten handpumps in use, with most real ales priced at £2.15.

On 29th November 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about Admiral Sir John Borlase Warren (JD Wetherspoon)

Popped in on Saturday night after a couple in the Horse & Jockey. Alan is pretty much spot on with his review. at the end of the day, it's a spoons. We had a good pint of JHB and then left in a taxi for the Vic in Beeston for some proper food. My overwhealming memory was just how bright it was inside. The roof has a massive glass panel to it and all of the halogen lights were blazing. The place was very busy, lots of families eating, a few too many kids for my liking. Nice and clean, sells decent beer but probably won't bother going back, the Horse and jockey is much better.

On 20th August 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]