User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
New pub visits 2019 with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

Robin Hood & Little John, Nottingham

Pub added by Alan Winfield
1 Church Street
Arnold
Postal town: Nottingham
NG5 8FD

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 9 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about Robin Hood & Little John

Another great brewery tap in Nottingham, serving Lincoln Green beers. We called in on a tap crawl of Nottingham in September 2017. The pub was clean and inviting, nice staff, clean toilets and great beer, with the exception of the Everards Tiger that was a bit cloudy. Well worth the hike out of town.

On 9th January 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Robin Hood & Little John

I had high expectations after reading some top reports about this pub in the Nottingham Drinker. I can now understand why, as this pub is faultless in my opinion. The staff were friendly and welcoming and were very upbeat, and they certainly knew their craft when it came to cask ales. We entered the pub bar side and had a choice of ten ales on handpump, it was only when we visited the lounge that we noticed a further choice of ales on handpumps along the lounge side bar. There were six Lincoln Green beers to choose from on our visit, so we went for the Marion and the Archer, which were in excellent condition.
The lounge side was traditional in décor, with some chesterfield settees, private booths along one wall, carpeted throughout and an upright piano was the main central feature, which comes into use on Thursday nights.
The bar area was mostly light coloured timbers and had some bench seating around the walls and the bar counter was in solid oak. There was also a beer garden, which was accessible from the bar. Great pub and well worth a visit.

On 14th August 2017 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2859 recommendations about 2859 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Conway left this review about Robin Hood & Little John

This pub is best example I have ever came across proving that anywhere can succeed with the right Investment. Only two years ago the RHALJ was what I would consider to be one of the top five worst pubs in Nottingham and certainly the worst pub in Arnold. Fast forward and it is now thriving under the project William initiative under the running of the Lincoln Green Brewery. A complete refurbishment has renovated the pub both inside and out. There is a separate lounge and bar both served by their own bar and both with no less than ten hand pulls. When this pub first opened these were duplicated but as the trade has built up and at busy periods it is not uncommon to see different beers on each bar meaning 20 different hand pulled ales on occasion! Five Lincoln green beers always feature from their core range, this consists of: Marrion (£2.90) Hood (£3.00) Tuck (£3.00) Sherwood (£3.00) and Archer (£3.000 as well as well as Everards Tiger (£3.40). The rest are ever changing guest ales from near and far and usually feature a lot of local products, beer quality is constantly superb. This won the Nottingham pub of the year as well as National cider pub of the year for its huge range of real ciders so it caters for all tastes. A true gem and destination pub that is a must visit for pub and ale lovers.

On 19th October 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 431 recommendations about 431 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Robin Hood & Little John

Enjoyed our visit to this busy pub with plenty of ales being served from 2 bars. We enjoyed beers from Lincoln Green, espiecially the Gin and Beer it. Also had beers from Leatherbritches, Nelson and Wantsum. They were selling beers in thirds on a tray so it was possible to try more. There is a rear courtyard and skittle alley here.

On 11th September 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1296 recommendations about 1186 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Robin Hood & Little John

This is another excellent Project William effort. It's a two roomed corner pub and I went for the bar which has fairly basic furnishings and a wooden floor. There were some old Home Ales photos on the walls reflecting the pub's owner before they sold out to the appalling Scottish & Newcastle. It was fairly quiet on my Saturday afternoon visit, although there was a large man present whose entire face and head were covered in tattoos. He was clearly very hard indeed as he was wearing sandals with no socks.
I didn't look into the lounge or the outdoor area.
This bar had ten hand pumps with 3 Vale beers, five Lincoln Green, Everard's Tiger and Celt Experience Iron Age. I went for the Lincoln Green Little John which turned out to be a tasty darker beer. I forgot to write down the price but it was around the three quid mark. I didn't think this was quite as good as the other Lincoln Green pub over at Canning Circus as it's a much more straightforward building but it's still well woth visiting.

On 27th March 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2131 recommendations about 2126 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Robin Hood & Little John

Revived, and very busy, community local. Retains two separate bars, and a rear patio, but sensitively and sensibly refurbished. Ten handpumps in each bar, with about 12 real ales in total on our visit, including five from Lincoln Green (including seasonal Spring Green £3.00) and Everard's Tiger. Run under the 'Project William' partnership scheme. Nottingham Camra 'pub of the year 2015' and 'cider pub of the year 2015'. Well worth seeking out.

On 26th April 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 5722 recommendations about 5722 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Anthony Hughes left this review about Robin Hood & Little John

After an 18 month period of closure, the Robin Hood (AND) Little John relaunched on 21 August 2014 under the Project William partnership between Hucknall based microbrewery Lincoln Green and Leicestershire brewer Everards. The pub showcases up to 15 different real ales, with at least four always coming from the Lincoln Green stable and Everards Tiger. Real ciders are also promoted behind the bar on the 'Cider Wall', which has eight taps serving cider held at cellar temperature. The pub is dog friendly in the Home Brewery bar, which features an array of memorabilia from the now defunct Daybrook brewery. The Heritage Lounge is traditional in feel with comfortable seating, carpeting and piano, which is played every Wednesday evening. Outside, there is a courtyard with seating and a skittle alley, which can be used for small meetings. The pub plans to refurbish the skittle alley in 2015 and relaunch a skittle team, offering the space to small functions at other times. A loyalty card scheme is available offering discounts to regular customers.

On 2nd November 2014 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Robin Hood & Little John

This pub is on a corner of a busy crossroads and is just off the main shopping street.
This pub used to be an Home Ales tied house,but it does'nt have any real ale on now.

On 22nd August 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]