User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 5th April 2020) with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

Raglan Road, Nottingham

Pub added by Jim Newell
69-73 Derby Road
Nottingham
NG1 5BA
Phone: 01159583359

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about Raglan Road

Irish themed and a little rough around the edges. As it was in the middle of the six nations there was the obligatory inflatable Guinness rugby goalposts to contend with. We had a game of pool on possibly the most stained table I have ever seen. That was fine as I won - "you need to adapt to the conditions" was my winning speech! On the beer front we had Outlawed from Springhead brewery which was OK. I liked it here and would call again.

On 25th March 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1049 recommendations about 1010 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Conway left this review about Raglan Road

Very lively Irish bar in the former Hawskley pub. Nothing much has changed interior wise except a bit of Irish themed posters etc. The real ales remain with six pumps repeating the same three beers Landlord, London Pride and Harvest pale, the landlord was very nice but at a pricey £3.45. Can get very boisterous at weekends and music is played very loud at night. Sadly can attract a lot of riff raff. Not really my sort of place but is an ok edition to the canning circus crawl and the ale is nicely kept so worth a visit but don't go out of your way.,

On 1st February 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 447 recommendations about 447 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about The Hawksley

Soup Dragon as said it all not our sort of place but the Timothy Taylors was bob on

On 4th July 2014 - rating: 4
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Hawksley

This is a former shop, and boy it looks like it from the outside. The frontage is in green and glass, and the rather dull brick upper storeys don't even have the decency to have their full compliment of sash windows, with a couple being unceremoniously blocked-up with equally dull brick - even the lintels are brick. There is a patio area. The interior has a couple of floors, with the upper storey having a lounge and terrace area - along with a TV (sports). The lower level is an open-plan room in purple with a feature wall of textured wallpaper. There is a wood floor and a white ceiling. There is a pool table and several TVs showing sport - indeed, the pictures on the walls are sport orientated. The red seating and tables and chairs remind one of a 70s transport cafe, the pouffes of course do not. They do food, which was fine and the service was fine too. The clientele was pretty mixed considering it is sport orientated. Beer; usual stuff with Peroni and continental lagers. London Pride, Castle Rock HPA and a decent Tim Taylor Landlord were on handpull. A sport bar with real ale. It is worth a visit, but unless you are after watching match, move on.

On 30th April 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


A B left this review about The Hawksley

Very cool little caves at the back that you can sit in. I had a nice pint of Harvest Pale here. Definitely worth a stop off on the way down the hill if you've never been in Nottingham's caves before.

On 8th January 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 27 recommendations about 26 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Hawksley

I popped in on a Sat afternoon and there was a good number of people in watching the footie. On the left of the bar there was a group of musicians from the 6o's/70's sort of era strumming on their guitars. They had finished and were making a move, so a mixed clientele here. Staff where friendly and beer good. The Caythorne Dover Beck was excellent. Will call again.

On 6th December 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2975 recommendations about 2975 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Hawksley

Decided to pop in here en-route from the Hand and Heart to the Organ Grinder, further up hill, primarily because it’s next door to the Hand in Heart and you just have to expend enough energy to climb four steps from the pub next door.
As Alan mentions below it is a modern pub build in a former lighting shop. Very modern feel and sports theme which gives it more a feeling of a sports bar than a traditional pub, which is cemented by several plazma screens dotted around the place including a fairly large one on the central pillar.
Apparently, the pub is named after Thomas Hawksley, who was an English civil engineer of the 19th century, particularly associated with water engineering projects, and also apparently there is a lounge upstairs and a small beer garden, which we did not explore.
Ale wise, although there is four hand pumps on the bar, the beers on offer were standard offerings of Fullers London Pride, Black Sheep and Castle Rock Harvest Pale, with the fourth reverse clipped.But the Harvest Pale was well kept.
I would imagine this is a comfortable enough place to watch a game, but with much better Real Ale pubs available in the Canning Circus area I would give the Hawksley a miss in favour of these if its Ale you are after.

On 21st November 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1699 recommendations about 1648 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Hawksley

This pub was only opened a couple of years ago and it is next door to the Hand and Heart,once inside it looks a bit like a library with lots of leather settees dotted about the place,we sat in a window seat which was ideal to watch the world go by there were 4 handpumps on the bar the Harvest Pale was very drinkable there was also Black Sheep Bitter on i could,nt remember the other two beers.This is a decent pub and a good addition to the canning circus pub scene, well worth a visit.

On 15th July 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]