User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with rpadam on the Pub Forum

Brewhouse & Kitchen, Chester Central, Chester

Pub added by BEN UNSWORTH
Love Street
Chester
CH1 1QY

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Rob Hunter left this review about Brewhouse & Kitchen

Just a word of caution - both WhatPub and the pub's own web site list this pub as opening at 11am, but the door was still locked at 11:55am this morning. It may have been a one off or may signal a change in opening hours.

On 7th January 2020 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 478 recommendations about 436 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Brewhouse & Kitchen

Sadly has now reduced its handpulls to just 4 and all are their own beers.

11/10/16:
Has been refurbished and is much better than before. It brews its own beers on site, which you can see via a window on street level. 8 handpumps on the bar with 6 beers on, 1 'coming soon' and 1 'brewing now'. All beers are their own Brewhouse beers. Various crafty beers are also available on keg. The layout inside is much the same as the old Wethers with a cellar bar.

7/6/16
No longer run by Wethers and the early signs aren't good. The layout and furnishings are the same but more importantly the beer selection isn't. Only 5 handpumps on the bar with 1 unused, 2 dispensing Bishops Finger and the other 2 having a thing that's their own called Lubbekke German Pilsner (or something like that) and another one I've forgotten. Not good. (4)

On 28th June 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3378 recommendations about 3295 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about Brewhouse & Kitchen

Have been once before on a Saturday evening about a year ago, and was looking forward to paying another visit when a trip to Chester came up. Like the Pied Bull, part of the attraction here for me is that they brew their own ales and so you get something different here that you would not see anywhere else.

The chap serving behind the bar, who through chatting to later discovered was called Jack, was very knowledgeable and friendly and took time to welcome customers as they came in. He likes stouts so was keen to recommend an alternative when my first choice, a smoked stout by Brewhouse & Kitchen, was not available. I then stayed for an IPA and a can of peanut butter milk stout from the fridge. Before I left I was given a leaflet on brewery masterclasses, experience days and meet the brewer sessions, which I thought was a nice touch.

One to visit and would definitely go back (again).

On 28th February 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 478 recommendations about 436 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Brewhouse & Kitchen

This is a conversion of a superb Georgian building which to me has been rescued from JDW by the Brewhouse and Kitchen chain. There are multiple interconnected areas, mostly with magnificent high ornate ceilings and cornices and with a huge high domed area above the centre of the bar. Side areas have curved arched open stone and brick ceilings. Lots of quality ancient exposed brickwork, parquet flooring with a tiled area around the bar. The building is a delight.
Ceiling fans whirr away, there is designer lighting above the bar with bulbs in glass bottles, pewter tankards on hooks, antelope heads are displayed and a large fishtank is full of hops.
As you enter, the in-house brewery is to your left, with free to view the copper vessels, a malt store is within. Inside are detailed illustrations of the brewing process with explanations. Friday one's on were, B&K Forest House, Golden Boy, Deva Viltrix, Arthur's 9th Sunset Curfew, Castrum Judge plus a cider from Orchard Pig, Ginger and Chilli....interesting possibly. Lots of also potentially interesting bottles in the fridge. You can do a brewery experience day here for £85 includes brewing your own sample brew and a 5 litre keg of it to take home.
Very busy on a Friday lunchtime and justifiably so, the chain is new to me and I will explore further as I enjoyed my short stay here.

On 26th November 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Forest House (Lloyds No 1)

Warm Hearth Ltd, trading as Brewhouse and Kitchen, has bought The Forest House, Love Street, which was put on the market last November.

On 6th May 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2659 recommendations about 2602 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Forest House (Lloyds No 1)

Directly behind the other Wethers and the better one. The main part, and where the servery is, is up a few steps, though there is a lift for wheelchair users. A slightly below street level area is to your left on entering. The main room has areas to sit to the left and right side of the bar plus some raised areas. Not as much choice real ale wise as the other Wethers though. I don't mind this place but its not an immediate destination when in Chester.

On 25th April 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3378 recommendations about 3295 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Forest House (Lloyds No 1)

This is one of the JDWs announced as being up for sale last November. I could see no evidence of the sale on my visit. I assume the reason for it is because the company have plans to open the old Higson's place the Bull and Stirrup as one of their hotels. This is a shame as it's a good JDW especially considering it's a Lloyds No 1.
I opted for the upstairs bar rather than the cellar. This has a wooden floor and the largest lampshade I've ever seen at the entrance. The lighting rig to the right gives a clue of the hell that gets unleashed later on Friday and Saturday nights.
There is a bank of four hand pumps in this bar with two to the right almost hidden selling the two GK beers. There were four decent ales on Purple Moose Dark Side Of The Moose, Adnam's Redpoint Tai Pale Ale, Stockport Stock Porter and Kelham Island Get Your Kicks. I went for the Kelham Island beer (£2.59) which I liked so much I stayed for more as I only had a limited time in Chester. This place is miles better than their outlet round the corner but obviously not when the DJ turns up.

On 24th April 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2146 recommendations about 2141 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Forest House (Lloyds No 1)

Situated in the splendid looking Georgian House, which was built in 1759. The pub consists of a cellar bar and raised ground floor mezzanine. After a short flight up an internal staircase and through a large set of double doors you enter the main bar area facing you. Six ales on handpump, so opted for the Phoenix Wobbly Bob. I particularly liked the two rooms on the left from the bar, with their original features.

On 5th January 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2934 recommendations about 2934 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Oggwyn Great left this review about Forest House (Lloyds No 1)

Still a decent enough JDW , very busy on Saturday afternoon , but service was quick , tried a couple of festival ales Ramsey Village Elder and Henrys Young Henry both decent beers .
There are now 8 handpulls on the bar with the four at the front for the festival ales and the usual Abbott and Ruddles on a second set of four at the other end of the bar .

On 19th October 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 774 recommendations about 663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Forest House (Lloyds No 1)

Visited again for a couple of beers and a quick snack. Discovered the downstairs bar this time in an old cellar vault. We knew there was a downstairs room, but didn't realise there was another quiet bar. Easy to get served and efficient food service. There were 3 of the festival beers on the bar as well and the Adnams Belgian Style Abbey Ale was in excellent nick. This is a good JDW.

01/02/2012
By far the better of the two JDWs in Chester. This one has been nicely refurbished into a multi-roomed pub on three levels. Interesting decoration around the walls and a much higher class of customer than the Square Bottle and indeed many other JDW's. It was Sunday night though, so it probably gets rammed on Friday & Saturday. Four beers on the bar including a couple of guest ales which isn't bad for a Lloyds. We quite liked it in here and will certainly visit again next time we're in Chester, which we are regularly.

On 19th April 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2779 recommendations about 2703 pubs]

Page: 1 2