User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Of The Month - July 2020 with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

The Star Inn, Nottingham

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
22 Middle Street
Beeston
Postal town: Nottingham
NG9 1FX
Phone: 01158545320

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The Star Inn

Nottingham CAMRA pub of the year 2017 and well deserved.

Still a great selection of rotating beers on the bar, now has an extensive food menu and a great outdoor seating area.

A definite highlight of a drinking trip to Beeston, complimenting the Victoria, Crown and the new micro bars that the town has to offer.

On 13th August 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Star Inn

The Star Inn is a former Shipstones tied house that i have been in loads of times,the Shipstones Bitter and Mild were always on top form here.
The Star has had a refit like most of Beeston's seems to have and is now opposite the new Beeston bus and tram interchange.
Once inside the pub still has separate rooms,i had a drink in the room to the front right which is a decent size and oblong shaped,all seating in this room is tall tables and chairs which is a bit annoying,there was a nice real fire on the go to the right,it looked like all of the hand pumps were on show in this room,there is a room to the front left which has just low seating in the form of leather chairs and low tables,the room to the rear right looks the most comfortable which is carpeted and has normal tables and chairs,there is a larger room to the rear left which was being used by diners,i can not remember this room being here before.
There was a very good choice of real ales on the bar,i had to have a drink of Shipstones Bitter,which was a very nice drink,the other beers noted were Everards Sunchaser,Caledonian Golden XPA,Caledonian Edinburgh Castle,Nottingham Star Bitter,Lincoln Green Marrionand Hartshorns Apocolypse.
A very nice pub and handy for me when getting a bus,just a shame about the seating being uncomfortable in the two front rooms.

Pub first visited 1980

Recent visit 21/1/2017

On 12th March 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Star Inn

I had noticed in advance that this place was owned by Heineken UK (via Shipstone's, Greenall's and Scottish Courage) so my expectations were low.
As you enter I noticed a snug styled room on the left then the small room where the bar is on the right. Further on to the left is a large dining area with doors leading to the large garden. This has a covered area with an assortment of tables and chairs, an enclosed kiddies area to the right with swings and an extensive lawn with picnic tables and chairs. I saw no marquee. The bar area started filling as I arrived and there seemed to be lots of people eating so I took my beer to the covered area in the garden.
The bar area is small and basic with a wooden floor and tall tables and chairs. The bank of ten hand pumps had one unused and only three I associate with Heineken UK namely Theakston's Best and Caledonian Edingburgh Castle & Golden XPA. The rest were Totally Brewed Four Hop Men Of The Apocalypse, Nottingham Rock Mild & Star Inn house beer, Falstaff Fistful Of Hops, Dancing Duck Donald *uck and Blue Monkey Guerilla. I went for the Donald *uck (£3.00) and forgot about the CAMRA discount. This was slightly hazy but tasted fine.
This place seems to cater for all and greatly exceeded my expectations.

On 6th February 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Conway left this review about The Star Inn

The Star Inn is located opposite The Beeston tram terminus and directly next to the White Lion making it very handy for commuters from town to reach. It is former Shipstons tied house that has two halves; to the right as you enter there is the main bar with another room behind it with tables and chairs for drinker. On the left is one large room that has been furnished in a classier, diner’s style but drinkers are just as welcome here. There is also a further room beyond this separated with a door that has a pool table. The main bar is all wood throughout that find a bit bare and uncomfortable but ok with the diners room a bit too open for my liking and lacking it atmosphere especially when not full. The beer is the reason people are attracted to this place with ten hand pulls along the bar. This is a Star/Heineken pub and thus some Caledonian and Theakston’s products will always feature such as Theakston’s bitter and Caledonian 80 shilling (Edinburgh Castle) and Golden XPA . On There is also a house beer by Murhouse at a very reasonable £2.60 but I believe this has now been replaced by a house beer by the Nottingham Brewery with the rest being guests from local brewery’s. Beers are usually around £3.30-3.40 with my 80 Shillings being £3.30 and kept in a very good way. The beer is always top notch here but I have never felt that comfortable here and it does not appeal to me to ever stay for a long session. I also believe this to be under control of the award winning Horse and Jockey at Stapelford which is superior in my opinion. With this said it is definitely worth a visit if around Beeston’s as it is one of its top ale destinations, just not got the vibe I really but I will return for beers here.

On 19th January 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 452 recommendations about 452 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The Star Inn

Popped in for food and beer on Saturday, nothing changes, still excellent. Food was superb pub grub. The Star is fast becoming a destination pub.

Review 01/03/16.

The Star gets better and better! With the tram now running, the Star is in a prime location, just across from the Beeston terminus. It still has an impressive array of ales and other drinks, but now boasts a good food menu, semi outdoors seating in the marquee, sports bar segregated from the main bar and an impressive beer garden. The pub also has six rooms to let, if you fancy a long weekend in Beeston. Proximity to the Victoria, Star, Hop Pole, Malt Shovel and Last Post are beginning to make Beeston a beer destination.

On 31st October 2016 - rating: 10
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Star Inn

A very fine pub with an extensive ale range and spread over a number of distinct rooms.
The reviews below describing The Star since it's refurbishment give plenty of accurate detail. I won't repeat that but will add that the welcome from behind the bar was friendly and the locals were happy to chime in with their suggestions on ale choice.
Beers on were: Muirhouse Star Inn Bitter, Hopcraft Who's Been Sleeping in my Brain - great name and an excellent beer, Theakston's Lightfoot, Caledonian Flying Scotsman, Oldershaw Grantham Stout, Caledonian Golden XPA, Cheshire Brewhouse Engine Vein, Nottingham Standin Jockey, Calder Red Bandit and Serne Blackstone Stout. A fair selection over across strengths and styles and all the beers are listed on an informative board by the bar giving strengths and colours.
As has been noted, along with The Crown and The Victoria, The Star makes Beeston a very good town to visit for decent beer and I look forward to a return visit.

On 27th October 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Star Inn

Another destination pub in Beeston with a fine selection of real ale.The exterior is quite large,and the interior layout has not been altered although both the decor and furniture are modern .The three sided bar serves a public bar section to the front with traditional Shipstones etched glass ,a wood burner with a large french clock above.High tables and chairs ,but a traditional ambiance with good humoured banter from the regulars.Lots of original features around the bar have been retained.The corridor is also a popular place to sup,while the back room has a more formal feel,with ranks of tables.To the front off the corridor is a front lounge with library book wall paper while to the rear is a permanent tented section leading to a hermetically sealed games room with a pool table and two flats screes for Sky Sports and terrestrial TV,both screening Champions League matches on my Wednesday evening visit.This arrangement worked well,a noisy lads area did not impact the rest of the pub.
The star turn is the real ale selection,across a variety of styles and strengths from many and varied micro brewers,plus a house beer.My Hop Craft Who's Been Sleeping in My Brain was in top nick.
Although the interior doesn't have the charm of the nearby Crown,this is still a must visit pub when in Beeston and together with The Victoria by the station ,these tree comprises a holy trinity of pubs in this fine town.Make sure you get here,when the tram line is finished that can only help ease of access.

On 24th October 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2057 recommendations about 2057 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Star Inn

An excellent pub this one and well worth the short bus journey from town. The pub features a quarry tiled entrance with original staircase, leading up to their eight en-suite rooms. There was a small front room on the left, with a bookcase wallpapered feature wall.
The bar is on the right of entrance, which has 10 handpumps, 8 in use on our visit. The bar area consisted of a stove with a large wall clock over this. Seating was three high tables, plus seating and a collection of bar stools. There was a small room behind the bar with another feature wall scene of wooden barrels.
The large permanent marque with plenty of tables and chairs, is also used to host live music. The enclosed pool table area, with TV scenes was an added novelty for me. The large garden and decked area enlarged the pub greatly. The Blue Monkey Sanctuary and Muirhouse Star Inn Bitter were both excellent and prices were ok, the service was also good and welcoming.

On 17th July 2014 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The Star Inn

Well it's happened. The Star has been re-fitted by the people who run the Horse and Jockey in Stapleford (Finalist in the Camra POTY 2014).

The refurbishment is sympathetic to the old Shipstones pub style, keeping the basic layout and many of the original architectural features. There has been a total re-decoration in all three major rooms and a new central bar serving all of the rooms. Out the back is a huge new deck covered with a tent, a deck outside for smokers and a basically un-changed beer garden save for the removal of a couple of rotten trees that cast huge shadows. A new addition to the pub is a sports bar area with a pool table and large TV. This takes all of the non beer drinking activity away from the main bar area and allows it to be used for it's primary purpose, drinking real ale.

This is the best bit. there are now 10 handpulls on the bar. there is a house Star Bitter and a huge range of brews from light straw to porter. In keeping with tradition, the Star still has a decent mild on the bar from Nottingham Brewery. There are also several lager pumps and a good selection of bottled brews. A decent wine list and coffee machine makes the Star every bit as good as the nearby Crown and Victoria, save for the fact that as yet, they do not do full scale food, just bar snacks.

Future plans include a refurbishment of the upstairs function room and several B&B rooms, making the Star the perfect place to base yourself for a Nottingham crawl once the tram into town is complete.

Best of luck to the Crown and it's manager Jimmy, the Star is now a destination pub.

On 21st March 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The Star Inn

25/06/13 News flash. The Star looks like it has had a makeover and is about to be kitted out with the capacity for some decent beer. Stay tuned.....

A mediocre pub with little to make it stand out, especially with the Crown and Victoria being so close. However, this little watering hole has a claim to fame having been used by Central TV to film the pub shots for Auf Wiedersehen, Pet series 2 in lieu of a pub in Wolverhampton. This pub was a Shipstones tied pub for many years and was famous in Beeston for its quality mild. Beers now blow hot and cold, but somthing drinkable is always available. I recently called in and Theakstnes mild was on special offer at £1 a pint. The dart board and pool table are always in tip top condition as the pub has a long heritage of involving itself in bar sports. Worth a punt during a crawl round Beeston, but not really a destination pub.

On 25th June 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]