User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Last Post (JD Wetherspoon), Nottingham

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
Chilwell Road
Beeston
Postal town: Nottingham
NG9 1AA
Phone: 01159683100

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The Last Post (JD Wetherspoon)

04/01/12 Usual Spoons establishment. Good selection of brews on the bar and usually kept very well. I agree with Alan that the place seems a little un-welcoming, mainly due to the fact that it has become the haunt of Beestons less than fussy alcohol drinkers, who congregate in the seats near to the main corner door swilling discount lager and john Smiths. Don't let this put you off too much, I have never had any problems and the beer is well worth the short walk through the fog of BO and stale beer.

03/03/14 Visited for a pint and some food before moving on to Beestons Comedy Club. Nothing much has changed but it is wearing well. Good selection of beer and great food served quickly, which is why we went. Clientell were mostly middle aged blokes who all seemed to be having a great time. Upgraded from a 5 to a 7, it's better than I remember.

01/03/16 Still a good beer pub in the Spoons tradition.

16/09/17 Shockingly bad. Everything was off except John Smiths. Walked out in disgust.

On 9th January 2018 - rating: 4
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Conway left this review about The Last Post (JD Wetherspoon)

Last Post just away from Beestons main high street as the name might suggest was one the local Post Office. Now under the ownership of Wetherspoons this is their only outlet in the area where there are many good real ale pubs. But even with a choice as good as Beestons I suppose price elasticity is still a key pull factor as this was very busy on my Saturday evening visit. As you enter the pub is one long oblong shaped room with the bar running half was down the left hand side of the room . The décor is one of the worst I have seen as a spoon, even though there are lots of high windows that make the pub very light and airy the entire room and celling is completely whitewashed with a huge fan pipe in the centre of the celling. I thought this was frankly Hideous. The pub is all hard wood that is the comfiest in a spoons but a small room at the back does have some carpets. There were at my count 13 hand pulls on the bar but five were the regular Greene King/Doombar crap and three were real ciders leaving just five guests consisting of Hamberton Ales Amber stallion, Everards Sunchaser (£2.35) Maxim brewery’s Maximus (£2.65) Wild Weather Go Man Go (£2.49) plus another I failed to note. I wanted the Hamberton but was told it was coming soon so opted for a Guinness as it was a red hot day and sat and had some spoons food which was how you would expect. To say the beer prices are more than regular Nottingham spoons and the stiff competition I was expecting more from this place. At least the guest beer was slightly more interesting than usual Nott’s spoons offerings but overall pretty average. It’s a run of the mill spoons for anyone wanting a cheap beer but I would always go elsewhere when in Beeston as there are so many better options around

On 2nd June 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 454 recommendations about 454 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Last Post (JD Wetherspoon)

There are quite a lot of old Post Office conversions across the JDW empire and being functional undecorative buildings they tend to make rather dull outlets. This one is no exception and I caught it on a bad day as on arrival some of the staff were having to cope with the water from a flooded Gents upstairs coming through the ceiling. This had the effect of throwing the bar service into complete disarray as the staff seemed to be struggling.
Inside it's a wide shed-like rectangular room with typical fixtures and fittings. The upstairs area was closed off due to the water problems. The windows look like they are the original ones for the building.
The bar has three sets of five hand pumps with one devoted to cider and one of those available soon. The rest had three available soon, the two GK beers, Well's Bombardier, Nottingham house beer Last Post & Sooty Stout, Coach House Post Horn and Cairngorm Wild Cat. I went for the Sooty Stout (£2.35) and had time for a Post Horn (£2.50) both of which were in good nick.
The range and quality of the beer and cider largely made up for the dull building and flooding problems.

On 6th February 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Last Post (JD Wetherspoon)

Mostly in quite a barn-like structure, once the Royal Mail sorting office, but plenty of windows and an unusually light colour scheme help. However, the seating area in the two-storey former Post Office section at the front has a rather different feel. Surprisingly limited choice from just nine of 15 handpumps in operation, with the likes of Ruddles, Doom Bar, Abbot and Broadside supplemented by three Nottingham beers (e.g. Legend, £2.20), Milestone Green Man and A Fist Full of Hops from Falstaff.

On 26th April 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Last Post (JD Wetherspoon)

The interior to this Spoons was bright and airy, which was a nice surprise. The entrance area was carpeted and had large casement windows, allowing plenty of light in. The large main lounge and bar had a high vaulted ceiling with timber trusses and exposed air ducting. The main room also had the original oak parquet flooring. There were 8 ales on, so we went for the Notts Brewery Last Post.

On 18th July 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Last Post (JD Wetherspoon)

A former Post Office sorting office, built in the 1930s, part of the building is still Post Office-owned. It feels like a barn with its high, light roof. Staff are good humoured and professional. There is free wifi, and there is a tiny smoking area to rear. Eleven ales on, which made it hard to choose, but in the end I had a Milestone which initially tasted a bit plasticky but was rather good once it had settled down. Light, lively and welcoming, this is quite good as JDWs go and I would be happy to be delivered here again.

On 26th September 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2602 recommendations about 2573 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Last Post (JD Wetherspoon)

The Last Post is a Wetherspoons pub converted from the old post ofice sorting offices,there are about 10 handpumps on the bar and most of these are usually working and the beer quality seems ok the pub is one large L shaped room with the main dining and childrens area round the corner at the back of the pub,this pub is ok for a quick pint but i never feel that comfortable in here.

On 13th July 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]