User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pubs Old & New with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Company Inn (Lloyds No. 1), Nottingham

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
Castle Wharf, Canal Street
Nottingham
NG1 7EH

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Lloyds No. 1 (J D Wetherspoon)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Company Inn (Lloyds No. 1)

Large Spoon's close to the station. Decent choice of ales including a few from Nottingham brewery - Legend, Rock bitter and Sooty Stout along with titanic White star and Longhorn IPA. The 3 we tried were in good shape and the prices were cheap at £1.99 a pint. It has been over 10 years since I last visited - hope to make my next trip a bit sooner!

On 19th March 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1049 recommendations about 1010 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Company Inn (Lloyds No. 1)

A large Wethers. A rather hideous one to be honest. Its on two floors but I only went in the ground floor part. A rather dull large open plan room with a raised area to the right. The wide bar has 12 handpumps on with the bank of six to the left housing the Wetherspoons dullards plus an "available soon". The other six had different breweries so was more interesting. Its not great but its acceptable on this Thursday afternoon.

On 27th April 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3381 recommendations about 3299 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Conway left this review about The Company Inn (Lloyds No. 1)

The company Inn is a Lloyds No 1 in an old warehouse in the canal quarter of the city with a lot of other pubs and bars scattered around it. The pub like most spoons is one very large open plan room with a large upstairs seating area. There is also a gigantic bar that stretches across the whole back wall of the pub. Being a Lloyds there is a lot more standing room than most spoons and the area as you walk inn is usually full of vertical drinkers which turns into more of a dancefloor later on. The drinks selection was fairly extensive with a good half a dozen hand pulls on the bar with the more interesting stuff on the far left pumps where no none was really standing or serving. Unfortunately a good few including UBU and scarlet McCaw from Oakham were off so aside from the spoons regulars I had a pint of Elland brewery’s Beyond the pale for 2.29 which was quite nice but on the cold side as I find in a lot of spoons. Being the cheapest pub in the canal quarter and being located so close to the rough meadows estate means a lot of undesirable characters are attracted here and on my Friday evening visit the ambiance was on the prickly side, especially as there is no door policy or dress code at this time so lots were wearing tracksuits and baseball caps. This is also a hang out of the local football fans who come in shouting and fighting on a Saturday. Overall not really impressed with his place as it is in no comparison to some of the other better bars around. Then again as long as it keeps the undesirables contained while the rest of us can enjoy a nice pint in the other pubs in peace I don’t mind it. Should you ever find yourself here it’s not the end of the world just keep an eye over your shoulder as I have heard of some nasty goings on in and around late at night . Ok for a pint but definitely not my first choice when around the area.

On 21st February 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 452 recommendations about 452 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Company Inn (Lloyds No. 1)

In the Canal Quarter, quite an interesting part of the city with plenty of competition from other pubs, bars and restaurants. The modern interior is at some variance to the historic building that houses it, but the conversion has been reasonably well done. The upstairs seating area also offers somewhere a bit calmer when it gets busy downstairs. As a Lloyds No. 1 bar it does have some music, but at a reasonable volume unless you visit mid / late evening. Reasonable selection from ten handpumps on this occasion, including two from Magpie Brewery (JPA and Raven Stout, £1.99), one from Nottingham, several others from smaller brewers and a cider.

On 26th July 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Company Inn (Lloyds No. 1)

I arrived here about 19:00 on a Saturday evening. It had very loud music blasting out and flashing lights. I managed to find the bar and spotted Sadler's Hop Bomb. I ordered this (£1.99) and it was served in a flimsy wide plastic container that looked like it might collapse. In case it did I downed it and left. It tasted OK but was cloudy. I won't be back.

On 9th July 2015 - rating: 2
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Company Inn (Lloyds No. 1)

Quite busy on our lunchtime visit and the service at the bar was good. Eight ales on offer, I went for the Nottingham brewery Extra Pale Ale.

On 2nd December 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Company Inn (Lloyds No. 1)

Situated in the renovated Canal Quarter in a converted warehouse, this Lloyds No.1 variant has a more contemporary interior and piped music (at a happily reasonable volume during my morning visit) than the usual JDW. It’s a large, open-plan place situated over two levels furnished with what looks like IKEA fittings and chocolate brown sofas with a few modern takes on booths to the rear. A few ales were on with a decent range; my Titanic Stout was good but served far too cold. Breakfast came out fairly well. All relatively unremarkable but you could do worse as a warm-up venue for a day’s crawling.

On 12th November 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Company Inn (Lloyds No. 1)

This Wetherspoons was converted from old canal warehouses when this area was done up in the 90s.
It has a very modern feel to it with very high ceilings and lots of pipes and metal which i think makes the place look cold.
There is a good choice of beers and service is good but i would only have one drink here then go somewhere better.

On 28th October 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Company Inn (Lloyds No. 1)

The Company Inn is one of the better Lloyds No 1's I've been in. Has a better choice of the real stuff than most. It's still quite smartly done out as well. Had a pint of the Nottingham bitter which was pretty good. I tend to be in Nottigham in midweek and this place is always reasonably busy. I have always got served pretty easily as well, which is a new experience for a Wetherspoons.

On 23rd April 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2847 recommendations about 2768 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Andrea Hughes left this review about The Company Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

Lively bar on the waterfront beside the Nottingham canal, usual Wetherspoons rates and beer range.

On 20th May 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 21 recommendations about 21 pubs]