User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 23rd January 2022) with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

The Three John Scotts (JD Wetherspoon), Hull

Alfred Gelder Street
Hull
HU1 1XW
Phone: 01482381910

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Blue Scrumpy left this review about The Three John Scotts (JD Wetherspoon)

The Three John Scotts is a branch of the Wetherspoon's chain in a rather impressive old building. However, whilst the building is impressive and it makes a change to have some different internal features in a 'spoon's, service from the disinterested staff was poor and so was the beer selection.

Last orders here is at 1am, but it was fairly quiet. Staff were going about their business and getting ready for closing without paying any attention to customers walking in, despite it being almost an hour until last orders.

The usual Greene King Abbot & Ruddles Best were available. Guest beers were Milestone New World, Moorhouse's Blond Witch, Morland Old Speckled Hen & Bradfield Farmer's Blonde. There was no real cider. My New World was a decent drop, but overall our visit here was disappointing.

On 10th January 2022 - rating: 5
[User has posted 995 recommendations about 995 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Three John Scotts (JD Wetherspoon)

Fairly typical 'banking hall' type Spoons, albeit a bit ruined by the huge industrial vents running the length of the pub. Surely a more sympathetic form of air con could have been found? That apart, pleasant enough, with a fair range of beers.

On 11th September 2020 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2478 recommendations about 2423 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Three John Scotts (JD Wetherspoon)

A good Wetherspoons, lovely exterior, bit cave like inside but there are views of the adjoining church and its well furnished. Good staff and very well kept beer. One of the better ones

On 7th June 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1287 recommendations about 1265 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Three John Scotts (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a large Wetherspoons venue in the Old Town area, set inside what used to be the city’s General Post Office building. It’s quite a grand edifice, now opened out into one single, huge room. The servery runs along the rear wall with the usual high table and stool seating arranged opposite where a row of pillars under some large ugly ventilation pipes separate the bar from the front section of the room. Here you will find comfy banquettes formed into booths under large arch-shaped front windows. To the left is a large open area with a single partitioning screen through the middle, where ample standard tables and chairs have been positioned in a carpeted area with a fireplace on the end wall and a patio garden can be viewed through folding doors to the rear. Meanwhile, the right hand side of the room has similar seating options with various screens acting as dividers for an area that feels a little less opened out than the rest of the pub. Various bits of contemporary art can be seen around the room and I’m also fairly sure I spotted a dartboard, but the place can’t quite shake off the fact that it is a rather impersonal space. It was pretty busy when I visited on a Saturday evening, with an unfortunate echoey effect making it very noisy, but not so crowded that I couldn’t grab a table and order some food.
The crowds at the bar made it tricky to see what was available, but I think I counted five guest ales, three ‘Spoons regulars, one cider and a Coming Soon clip. I sampled a beer from the Wold Top Brewery, the name of which I forgot to note, and it was pretty good without being quite on top form. The staff were doing a pretty good job of managing the crowds at the bar and the food arrived promptly as per usual and was good stomach-lining stodge to set me up for the remainder of my evening’s crawl.
I thought this ‘Spoons was going to be a real winner thanks to the fine building it has inherited, but it was a bit of a let down, feeling more like a 90’s drinking barn than a characterful conversion. Having said that, the beer was okay and I much preferred it to the Admiral of the Humber at the other end of town. Not a bad one to include on an Old Town pub crawl but far from the highlight in an area blessed with some fine pubs.

On 20th February 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2690 recommendations about 2690 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Three John Scotts (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a huge rectangular room in an old building. As noted below the interior is somewhat marred by aircon ducts but presumably the alternative would be a false ceiling which might have needed planning permission.
The bar has two sets of five hand pumps which had one unused, the JDW Trio Of Doom, Old Peculier, Black Horse HBB 1874, Old Speckled Hen, Oakham JHB, Dorset Yachtsman and Wold Top Angler's Retreat. I went for the Yachtsman (£2.15) which was in good nick. I thought this was the best of a poor bunch of three Hull Spoons. The William Wilberforce is a Lloyds and the Admiral of the Humber saw fit to blast out a meaningless football match across the entire pub despite only a handful watching and people still eating there.

On 2nd August 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Three John Scotts (JD Wetherspoon)

A ‘grand building’ JDW conversion (this one an old Post Office), the interior has not been done well as noted below. Smaller than expected, modern in decor, not much original interior but some cornices remain. The aircon ducting pipes are visible which is rarely a good look and so it is here. Two bonuses were the nice decorative bar front, plus a general air of clean and tidy. Ale-wise, two banks of five, seven guests all seemingly on before midday, a Spoons record? My Salopian Darwin’s Origin was fair. Amusement value came via the barmaid trying (and failing) to wake up a customer who was comatose (before midday as well). I doubt I’d feel the need to do this one again, it’s just too dull.

On 12th April 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 4219 recommendations about 4206 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Three John Scotts (JD Wetherspoon)

The coffered ceilings and six arched windows where the only main features here. If you like heavy industrial air vent ducting, there was certainly plenty of that. The art work around the walls was very drab and quite depressing looking and had no connection to the former Post Office.
The bar counter was black granite and the bar front was art glass with sections of timber panels with steel hoops attached. Ten ales on pump, I went for the Everards Yakima.

On 22nd March 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3036 recommendations about 3036 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Three John Scotts (JD Wetherspoon)

A former building owned by The Post Office,it looks grand on the outside but this is a poor interior conversion by spoons with vast ducting pipes around the ceiling distracting and dominant.Artwork adorns the walls but seems of little artistic merit and the furniture is standard and boring.Little has been made of the internal space although the serving bar does have some metal and glass decoration of note.There are two banks of five handpumps with guests on the five to the left offering a range of their festival ales on my trip.I had a Brouwerij'tij Amsterdam Blonde brewed at Banks's which was fine .Not sure that I would include this on a pub crawl list next time in Hull,it's functional but dull.

On 20th March 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2230 recommendations about 2230 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Three John Scotts (JD Wetherspoon)

Large 'spoons housed in an imposing building, with the ER cypher above the doorway suggesting that this might once have been the main post office. Large bar with various seating areas and a high ceiling. Patio area out back. Total of 10 handpumps, with a reasonable selection including Wold Top Mallard at £2.05 (less a 20p Camra discount).

On 5th May 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6687 recommendations about 6687 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Three John Scotts (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a large Wetherspoons and it is only a short distance from another spoons.
Once inside there was one large room with lots of different drinking areas and this was decorated in the usuall style for this chain.
There were about six real ales on the bar i had a drink of Wooden Top Pirates Gold and this was a decent enough drink i car'nt remember what the other beers were.

On 8th May 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]

Page: 1 2