User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Of The Month - July 2020 with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

The Punch Bowl (JD Wetherspoon), York

5-9 Blossom Street
York
YO24 1AU
Phone: 01904666740

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon
Page: 1 2 3

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Gill Smith left this review about The Punch Bowl (JD Wetherspoon)

Called in last month for refreshment before setting off round the wall for a walk, and enjoyed Ilkley Lotus and Leeds Midnight Bell. One of the better JDW outlets with toilets on the ground floor.

On 12th August 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1306 recommendations about 1196 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Conway left this review about The Punch Bowl (JD Wetherspoon)

One of two Wetherspoons in York and the better of the two in my opinion. Always a good selection of ales available but always kept slightly sub par. My pint of saltaire cascade pale ale was an ok drink at £2.20. this pub gets very busy on weekends as it is at the start of the popular mickelagte crawl but if you can scoop a seat near the open raoring fire it can be worth settling in. As far as spoons go I have visited a lot worse, ok to pop into if ever around the area.

On 23rd May 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 452 recommendations about 452 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about The Punch Bowl (JD Wetherspoon)

pleasant enough circuit Spoons with a slight rough edge to it on a weekend. Full of people you wouldn’t want to drink with but did have a good enough beer selection including the nice Saltaire No 5 Stout.

On 19th April 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 746 recommendations about 727 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Punch Bowl (JD Wetherspoon)

Ended off the night in here which is the better of the two Spoons in York. I've always liked this place and the beer selection wasn't too bad. Not a bad Spoons in all.

On 15th December 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Punch Bowl (JD Wetherspoon)

Although not originally a pub it does look like one from the outside. Inside it's a single room that wraps itself around the bar with a small conservatory at the back. It was fairly busy on my Thursday afternoon visit.
There was a mini Hop Studio festival on at the time with five of their beers, Eau Du Soleil, Dubbel, Raja, Pale & Blush. The rest of the 10 hand pumps had the JDW Trio Of Doom and 2 ciders. I went for the Dubbel & Eau Du Soleil (£2.55 each). The Dubbel was fine but the Eau Du Soleil was cloudy, tasting pretty poor and I can't imagine it is supposed to be like that.
It's a shame about the dodgy pint as this seems to be a good Spoons. I'll give it the benefit of the doubt with a 7.

On 2nd August 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Punch Bowl (JD Wetherspoon)

Dating back to 1770, this place has served as both a shop and a pub in the past, but in the last 13 years it has been operated by the ubiquitous Wetherspoons chain. The location, close to Micklegate Bar and the train station, make this an extremely popular venue, evidenced by the fact that it was completely packed out when we visited for Saturday morning breakfast. The interior sees a centrally positioned servery with the counter running down the left hand side of the room from front to back. Plenty of typical 'Spoons seating is available throughout, including standard tables and chairs, high tables and stools and a few padded banquettes. There are lots of pillars and partitioning screens, some of which have pleasant stained glass inserts, which hint at former separate rooms and help break the space up a fair bit and add some much needed character. To the rear is a conservatory style space with a quarry stone floor and plenty of daylight, acting as an antidote to the otherwise gloomy rear half of the room.
I think I counted ten hand pumps, although I may well have missed some through the crowds along the long bar counter. There seemed to be a pretty good ratio of guest ales to 'Spoons regulars, although I opted for a mug of tea to accompany my breakfast, having endured a long session the day before and facing a similar sized mission later that day. The barman serving me was very friendly and said that Sunday mornings were normally even busier, which is saying something.
The fact that this place was originally a pub is a real benefit, as it hasn't got that instantly recognisable corporate feel that a great many Wetherspoons pubs suffer from. Having said that, there isn't much here that you won't have seen countless times before and were it not for the cheap breakfasts, you would have to wonder why anyone would bother with such a place in a city rich in excellent pubs.

On 28th May 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2472 recommendations about 2472 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Punch Bowl (JD Wetherspoon)

The Punchbowl is an L shaped Wetherspoons that was packed at 10:30 on Saturday morning with punters looking for breakfast. I was one of these people who opted for a £2.99 breakfast that was as good as any greasy spoon to be honest. My egg did look like it had been in a fight with the floor, but a swift swig of premix coke left me unworried. Being a Spoons the usual drink and meal deals are all available.

The interior is L shaped and there is a conservatory at the rear that backs onto a small outside seating area. It was too early to be counting hand pumps, but a standard draught range was available. I had an enjoyable breakfast and would return for another.

On 19th April 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Punch Bowl (JD Wetherspoon)

Compact for a 'spoons, so getting a table can be difficult (even at breakfast time). Partly opened-out as part of the conversion process, with a number of fairly small seating areas in and around the bar. More traditional in appearance than many too. Excellent selection of real ales from ten handpumps, including a fine pint of Vale SPS (£2.10).

On 12th April 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6076 recommendations about 6076 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Punch Bowl (JD Wetherspoon)

Managed three visits here during my stay over as it was so close to the Blossom St Premier Inn and the train station - though traversing the junction outside can be a life or death experience. Little change to the description below, a more pubby atmosphere than many of Tims other offerings. Generally the ale was of a decent standard though I had one that was rancid (I'd be more inclined to blame the beer rather than the pub). Like Maldenman, I also found the place was often understaffed. Useful for fuel and the two meals I had were decent.

Feb 2009
In terms of Wetherspoons interiors, this isn't a bad one and quite unlike most of the others in its comparatively small size - the YO1 building straitjacket. The interior is fairly dark away from the curved front windows but if you head to the rear there’s a very nice little conservatory area with glass ceiling. The beer range was decent and my couple of halves were most acceptable. However, one area in which this place is also unlike Wetherspoons are the toilets - they were a rather rancid and an old-time affair. All in all, not bad...but in York, that's being damned with faint praise. In another town, this Spoons would merit more serious attention. Rated 7

On 5th April 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about The Punchbowl (JD Wetherspoon)

A Wetherspoon’s pub located on a street corner at the end of the Micklegate strip and not far from the station, it is not your usual JDW offering, being somewhat smaller and having a little moiré traditional pub character than many of the company’s outlets.

It a U-shape pub with a wood strip floor, and dark wood panelling covered much of the walls with maroon and cream paintwork elsewhere. Curved windows at the front gave good views of the road outside and there were a number of exposed brick pillars as well as a brick fire-place and wood-burning stove, although this was not in use on our visit. A few TV’s were dotted around showing the sport, but the volume was off so this was not too intrusive. A further room to the left had a small sloping section of glass roof giving a light and airy feel and this had views out on to the courtyard at the side.

The menu offered the usual extensive selection, and the food appeared remarkably quickly once we had ordered. My Pulled Pork Burger with a Barbeque sauce was part of some meal deal with a drink which got rather complicated as had already ordered something else, and the helpful barmaid promised onion rings as an alternative but unfortunately these did not materialise. The burger itself was ok, but rather bereft of any texture and not really much in the way of taste either, other than the barbeque sauce.

There was a good choice of beers on tap with Vale SPS, Ruddles Best, Moorhouse Old Boss, Wadworth’s Ye Olde Admiral, Banks & Taylor’s Bedfordshire Clanger, Lancaster Brewery Albion Connection and Barley Brown’s ESA whilst the Doom Bar appeared to have run out. Ciders were Strongbow and Gwynt Y Ddraig Black Dragon. Overall, one of the companies better outlets, but then there are some very good pubs in York so it needs to be.

On 2nd April 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1748 recommendations about 1683 pubs]

Page: 1 2 3