User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with london calling on the Pub Forum

The Punch Bowl (JD Wetherspoon), York

5-9 Blossom Street
York
YO24 1AU
Phone: 01904666740

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon
Page: 1 2 3

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Punchbowl (JD Wetherspoon)

A corner site JDW which looks like it has always been a pub however according to Whatpub it is a former pharmacy and butcher's shop. Regardless it does have proper pub character unlike many of the brand's other shop conversions. The bar area is boarded, carpeted elsewhere, there is a bit of a conservatory type area at the far end which prevents that dark and gloomy look you get in some 'spoons. I reckoned on eight festival/guest beers, a good effort, not so the service on Friday morning when one poor young girl was doing her level best on her own while plenty of punters were waiting to order breakfast. in fairness though I visited a few times during my stay in York and at other times everything was fine so probably just a blip.

On 30th March 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Punchbowl (JD Wetherspoon)

As Spoons go this one isn't to bad at all,being one of their smaller outlets works greatly in its favour in my book, it actually looks and feels like a real pub,far better than many of their soulless drinking barns. 10 handpumps and most were active with only a couple labelled coming soon,I plumped for B&T's Bedfordshire Clanger which I found to be well kept and a decent first of many beers tasted in York that day.One of a very select band of JDW's I would be happy to return to.

On 28th March 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1354 recommendations about 1340 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Punchbowl (JD Wetherspoon)

A fairly small Wetherspoon's with a fair selection of real ales but nothing to get excited about.

On 11th April 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Punchbowl (JD Wetherspoon)

Eight ales and two ciders on handpump on our visit. I went for Acorn Madness, which was fine. I noticed the regulars take over the front corner bay seated area, so you would be very lucky to get in there, as it is the best spot. Staff were friendly and pleasant.

On 8th August 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Punchbowl (JD Wetherspoon)

Not the biggest of pubs by spoons standards & very busy when the racing is on. Up to 8 real ales.

On 13th May 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2733 recommendations about 2676 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Punchbowl (JD Wetherspoon)

I reckon this is the best Wetherspoon outlet in York for prompt service, clean and tidy bar area and tables, and beer quality. Enjoyed Daleside Square Rigger IPA this visit.

On 5th March 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1308 recommendations about 1197 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Punchbowl (JD Wetherspoon)

All the things I said previously still stand. We called in for breakfast last Thursday and were served very promptly. We called back later that evening and I had a well kept pint of Moorhouses Cold Spell. Good job guys, keep it up.

15/09/2010
This is our regular stop at the beginning and end of the day in York. We often call in for breakfast when staying at the Holiday Inn on Tadcaster Road.
They want £15.95 for breakfast, a large one here cost < £5.

It's also a decent place to call in for a last one before catching the bus back. It's a relatively small L shaped room, with no really outstanding features. There is always a decent range of guest beers on the bar and they've always been well kept in my experience. The service is pretty good for a Spoons as well, especially at breakfast when they've always been excellent. One of the better pubs in the chain.

On 6th January 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2866 recommendations about 2786 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Punchbowl (JD Wetherspoon)

This pub was originaly a John Smiths tied house and Wetherspoons have done it up in their style but it is not as large as most spoons are.
There are several different drinking areas and it was packed on a Sunday morning with the usuall spoons crowd i had a drink of York Guzzler and this was a decent drink.
This pub is handy when all others around hav'nt opened.

On 10th April 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Punchbowl (JD Wetherspoon)

This is one of the better JDW's as it is putting on guests that are actually available. Also unusual for one of these houses is the display of pumpclips on a wall behind the bar area. Prompt service and clear beers made sure we enjoyed our WharfeBank Tether Blond, Daleside Summer Delights and Wold Top Against the Grain.
March 2011 update.
Called in while waiting for other pubs to open and found a range of beers apart from the usual fayre. Tetley Mad Trumpet was a little bland for a 4% beer, and the Hambleton Mighty Mare seemed past its best, so we were a little disappointed this time.

On 14th March 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1308 recommendations about 1197 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


James Joines left this review about The Punch Bowl

A Spoons House with the usual selection of Real Aes and food.

On 3rd May 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 841 recommendations about 835 pubs]

Page: 1 2 3