User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Wetherspoon's news of the day with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Brewery Tap, Peterborough

80 Westgate
Peterborough
PE1 2AA
Phone: 01733358500

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Brewery Tap

Unchanged from earlier reviews - a huge barn of a place over two levels with a modern feel. Drinking alongside the brewing vessels always adds something, and it is a handy source of good ale for the town centre and station, but otherwise it is not exceptional.

On 9th October 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2266 recommendations about 2214 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Brewery Tap

Oakham’s Brewery Tap bigger than most with a dogleg counter snaking along one side ending at a glass wall giving views of the brewery. The floor is new flags, plain walls with poster decor, furniture is a mix, mostly low chairs and tables with a collection of leather arm chairs and a sofa near the door. There is a mezzanine floor as well. Beer mainly from Oakham is dispensed from three banks of four pulls, two are doubled up Oakham products the other bank had Salopian Darwin’s Origin and a different Oakham. The beer was ok but not really the showcase quality you ought to get in a brewery tap, so I see why it’s not a GBG entry. A range of usual suspect kegs also available. Sadly my Saturday night visit coincided with some event that necessitated the services of a DJ and some flashing lights.

On 3rd April 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Brewery Tap

Nowadays home of the Oakham Brewery, and the rather tap (which, slightly oddly, looks more like a sports bar inside) is very handy for the station. With numerous handpumps on different parts of the counter, I found five of its own beers - including the Dragon in Bavaria (a new one on me, £3.70) - and Wolf Whiskers as a guest. With the cavernous feel, and a slightly surprising lack of customers on a Sunday afternoon, I left feeling a bit underwhelmed.

On 2nd March 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Brewery Tap

Already well reviewed so I'll stick with saying that it's a large brewery tap with a Thai restaurant in a large, oddly soulless building.
For me though, as a fan of Oakham beers, it's been a must visit for some time so I was pleased to slide in for a pint or two.
Beers on were mainly Oakham - Inferno, JHB, Bishops Farewell, Citra and Once to Yourself alongside Fat Cat Salopian as a guest. I was a touch disappointed to find only Once to Yourself that isn't widely available elsewhere and had hoped to see Green Devil IPA.
More disappointing though was the beer quality which, to me, was flat and lifeless. Inferior to many other venues serving Oakham beers.
I'm pleased to have visited and it doesn't alter my view of Oakham as a top brewer but I'll stick with enjoying their beers elsewhere.

On 10th August 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Brewery Tap

ORIGINAL REVIEW Jan 2017

An unexceptional building from the outside,although the copper above the entrance is a clever addition.However the interior is impressive,large and open plan with an extensive mezzanine level,giving good views of the whole scene.To one side there are large plate glass windows giving views of some of Oakhams brewing equipment.The bar itself is long and winds around one side ,it has an impressive bar back.There are three banks of 4 handpumps.On my Tuesday afternoon visit two of these ranks had Inferno,JHB,Bishops Farewell and Citra (on top form) doubled up ,while the third rank was completely unclipped.I was disappointed that as the brewery tap,so few of their outstanding ales were available,and for that reason alone I have deducted points.I may have just been unlucky.
Looking at the thai menu,it is clear that the lunchtime deals are far more interesting than at Charters,the other Oakham tied house in town and maybe food at this location is a bigger deal than their real ale.
I would return in the hope of finding a greater ale range,enjoy the laid back vibe and possibly eat some thai dishes,which are a great match for many of their ales.It's close to the station ,so makes a great start or finish for any crawl.

UPDATE

The variable ale quality here maybe due to the house Oakham beers being drawn direct from the conditioning tanks and not pulled through the handpumps that display their wares on the bar.The serving by flat southern style without aggitation through a tight sparkler does produce a far inferior ,somewhat lifeless pint so I would suggest using Charters instead if you want to drink top quality Oakham ales.A shame here and a downgrade.

On 15th July 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2087 recommendations about 2087 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Oggwyn Great left this review about The Brewery Tap

I was slightly disappointed with my visit here , pub is as described in previous reviews only with added Halloween bits and bobs , pretty busy on my Saturday lunchtime visit .
The beer choice was pretty poor from the 12 pulls with 4 Oakham beers doubled up and only 1 guest from Nene Valley available , my JHB was in decent enough nick .
A DJ was setting up ready for the nights Halloween party so conversation was a struggle with the loud club style music blasting away intermittently .
For a Brewery tap the beer choice was poor and the loud music a put off , maybe an off day but i will not rush back .

On 29th October 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 780 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Brewery Tap

Huge open plan barn of a building with mezzanine. Stone flag floor, lots of standing space, copper, wood, sofas, various award posters on the walls.

Strange one-chaired table in circular floor section right in the middle of the room.

Brewery seen behind glass screens.

Very cold when there are only a few people inside.

Beer quality could have been better.

On 11th April 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The Brewery Tap

First pint on a crawl round Peterborough and probably the best of the day. My JHB was absolutely perfect, despite being pulled just 3 minutes after the 12:30 opening on a Saturday. Nice and quiet on our visit, just a handful of locals by the time we left at around 1pm.

On 30th January 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Brewery Tap

Last pub pub of the crawl (other then the hotel next to the station) and what a pub this was. Excellent real ales (I had Oblivion), good service and a well laid out interior. Definitely worth a revisit.

On 7th January 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Brewery Tap

We called in on a Saturday afternoon, were the pub was moderately busy, with a few drinkers and diners enjoying the Thai cuisine. Five Oakham ales and one guest on our visit. I thought the Oakham Citra was top class and a refreshing way to end the days crawl. The service in here was excellent and prices were very reasonable. This pub is well worth a visit.

On 16th July 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]

Page: 1 2