User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Of The Month - November 2021 with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

The Lost & Found, Birmingham

8 Bennetts Hill
Birmingham
B2 5RS
Phone: 01216439293

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

A Revere Pub (Marstons)
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Lost & Found

Can't disagree with the statement below - “lovely building, nice interior, atrocious ale.” Only 2 when I called in , 61 Deep and Pedigree. The 61 Deep was just about OK. I would expect better with the prices they charge here. It will be a while before I bother again.

On 26th December 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1231 recommendations about 1166 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Lost & Found

Could be my shortest review ever – “lovely building, nice interior, atrocious ale.” Oh a bit more, then. An opened-out banking hall interior with high squared ceiling, lovely circular wood porch and decorative cornices. Three pumps all on; Sadlers Peaky Blinder (murky and taken back NBSS 1), Marstons 61 Deep (spluttered and died) and Marstons Pedigree (vile and taken back as well, NBSS 1). Eventually ended-up with a half of the Neck Oil from the keg wall for no extra cash (they’d have got short shrift if they’d tried), via the one member of bar staff who seemed to be actually doing any real work. I strongly suspect the grot wasn’t fully taken off either. No clue about the ale but the interior is worth a nose if you stick to things they can’t bugger up. This place would have been better off as a Spoons or Nicholsons…if it wasn't for the interior I'd be giving it 2 or 3.

On 21st July 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 4200 recommendations about 4187 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about Lost & Found

A fairly magnificent former banking hall, well restored and nicely furnished, with a couple of raised levels and a small balcony area above as well as a private room at the back. The décor starts off being tasteful but with some slightly strange Edwardian imagery, though generally comfortable enough. Shame about the over-loud naff music though. Despite offering food, there were surprisingly few people eating mid-lunchtime so read into that what you will. Alewise it seems to offer a couple of Marstons plus a guest, on this occasion being Pedigree, 61 Deep and Peaky Blinders. Condition seemed good. Not bad on the whole, but room for improvement.

On 1st July 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2465 recommendations about 2410 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Lost & Found

By the time I arrived at this place I was quite used to the type of pub I was going to get from this part of Brumland. That's not to say I was disappointed. It is a nice pub and does do a half decent selection of beers.

On 23rd September 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3435 recommendations about 3346 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Lost & Found

A bank conversion that seems to be a bit Spoons meets All bar one meets Nicholson's. 3 real ales and food served.

On 28th July 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2803 recommendations about 2745 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Lost & Found

Imposing former banking hall which looks very impressive from the street but the interior was so cavernous in its previous Bennetts incarnation that it lacked much character-wise. The refurbishment has gone some way to address the issue, with a new decor scheme featuring some quirky Victoriana. Various seating areas, including a raised section in the main bar and a 'hidden' side room. Four of five handpumps working on this occasion; and, as unbranded Marstons house, the offering was Lost Gold, Hobgoblin and Cocker Hoop plus Revisionist Rye Pale Ale (£3.20). Overall, something of an improvement.

On 22nd November 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6620 recommendations about 6620 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Bennetts

Now Re-opened as 'Lost & Found'.

The former Bennetts pub has received a much needed refurbishment. The huge high space needed something to remove the cave like affect and they have tried to siften this with an internal pagola with conservatory chairs in one corner, large pictures of rows of books near the former libraryand various greenery.

Its all rather bizarre and remains cavernous but it does seem to give a much nicer space than the previous incarnation which was very 'cold'. It doesn't seem the most expensive refurb ever, but it is a difficlt space. The library is now blocked off and the boardroom available for hire.

Attentive staff and 4 real ales from Marstons, including one labelled as 'Lost & Found'. A lot of areas set out for eating and the drinks emphasis is on cocktails.

Its ok, worth a visit & a littledifferent!

On 19th December 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1287 recommendations about 1265 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Bennetts

Revisited here again after my earlier review and further reviews below.

Its certainly a grand interior. However I was hoping for improvements on the state of the fittings following subsequent reviews but its actually gone further downhill. The tatty furniture remains, admitadely not all of it, but there are threadbare sofas, and chairs with upholstery hanging off. All the woodwork, including the bar is worn,and not in an antique kind of way. The large mural has bits fallen off and cracked in places. On my visit there was also a large white sheet hanging off the wall adjoining the mural - not sure if this was being used to protect from falling masonary, but it was just hanging loose - something that could surely be easily rectified?

the beer choice has improved since my last visit - 6 beers from the Marstons owned range. But again my EPA was average at best.

Its not all doom & gloom, it is an impressive space, but I still feel it needs better management.

On 18th December 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1287 recommendations about 1265 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


General Staal left this review about Bennetts

I have reviewed this place before and defended it to the hilt. However, came in during the Euros with a group of friends. I am not a big footie fan, but the people I was with are. Firstly, the place was empty because the big screen was broken.

Then, the beer, Banks's Mild, tasted like tap water. I took it back to the bar and the barman said it looked to him like it was off, but he needed to refer to the manager before the pint could be replaced. The manager said it was fine and would not replace it. We all left the virtually deserted place and went to another pub for food and beer! We even watched the footie.

I am quite tolerant of pubs, but the service was so appalling, and the beer so bad, I will never go back here. I hate writing reviews like this, but hey, its my experience of the place!

On 2nd October 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 142 recommendations about 125 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Bennetts

You will get good exercise walking around here as it's so big. You get a lot of office workers here after work, what with their laptops, talking shop and sipping wine! A good range of ales here, asked for a couple of tasters, which they didn't mind obliging, settled on Brakspeare and Jennings Cocker Hoop - will call again.

On 8th February 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3035 recommendations about 3035 pubs]

Page: 1 2