User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with trainman on the Pub Forum

The Walsall Arms, Walsall

17 Bank Street
Walsall
WS1 2EP

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Walsall Arms

Refurbished and open plan but bustling with cheery punters enjoying the excellent live entertainment on our Saturday evening visit.
Beers on were: Enville Ale, Holden's Golden Glow and Wye Valley HPA and Bitter. The Enville Ale was in decent shape but it's a fairly dull selection when compared to others in Walsall.

On 7th July 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Walsall Arms

There has been a significant internal refurb in a modern style which feels clean but sterile in an open plan interior that winds around an island bar.There is a large games room to the rear with a wide screen and darts boards in a somewhat austere space.I failed to spot the skittles alley.There were 5 handpumps ,but my Enville Ale despite being clear ,proved a rather dull drink.A good singer lifted the atmosphere ,but some of the punters on my Saturday night visit were well oiled and a bit lairy.There are better pubs close by.

On 6th July 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2054 recommendations about 2054 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


dennis roberts left this review about The Walsall Arms

This is a bostin' pub now, it has been pulled back from awful into a wonderful place to meet, drink, eat and have fun in the skittle alley. Six quality real ales are available, with always a local ale on. My friends are waking up to this beautifully refurbished hostelry as the place to be in Walsall town.

On 11th February 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


michael whitbrook left this review about The Walsall Arms

Has now changed hands and i must say its fantastic !!
Pub has since been bought and has been fully re-furbished .It is a freehouse with traditional ales run by the experienced publicans Jim and Gay chambers ( formerly from the successful Fountain Arms) in Lower Foster Street
Open from 12 till late with great skittle nights and a private function room for parties etc....
Ten out of ten !!
Tel 01922 649839

On 9th February 2015 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mikee Evans left this review about The Walsall Arms

This pub has been taken over by Jimmy Chambers formerly of The Fountain. It has been given a makeover and now stocks 4 or 5 real ales. The front two rooms are now knocked into one, and there is only one way in now, but it's well worth a visit.

On 30th November 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 19 recommendations about 18 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


peter bettam left this review about The Walsall Arms

went to this pub 2 years ago and was made to feel so unwelcome we left very quickly , after hearing it had new landlord and landlady in september 2011 i gave it another try, wow what a differance , the pub is now so full of life at weekends, and staff and regulars alike make a visit to this pub a complete pleasure.

On 6th June 2012 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2 recommendations about 2 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Walsall Arms

A nice little detached cottage-styled Marston's pub, down a Walsall back street, with a rear beer garden area. It is in half brick and half cream render and has a skittle alley.

The interior has two three rooms, one of which is the skittle alley, that are connected by a rear corridor that itself has bar access and a sofa and table or two. The decor is white walls and wood panel, with a brown ceiling and a red tile floor. There are a lot of old photographs of Walsall and other memorabilia on the walls and the bar and lounge have nice traditional tiled fireplaces. The lounge is a quieter room, where as the bar room has both darts and pool (though you would need to move the pool table to play darts) and a TV that wasn't on at my visit. The skittle alley has has tables and sofas and is good fun! The service was very friendly and there were no other people in really whe we visited last, on a Saturday afternoon. The music came via the radio.

Beer; usual tap stuff with Burton Bitter, and a decent Jennings Cumberland Ale and Wychwood Hobgoblin on handpull.

A nice little place that seems to have suffered a bit over the last few years with changing gaffers. Would be nice to see a better range of beers here, but always worth a visit especially if you can have a game of skittles, as it is something different.

On 22nd August 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Andy Ven left this review about The Walsall Arms

Honest pub on the edge of the town centre. Quirky layout with big skittles alley to the rear. I've always thought that this is the kind of place that we need if the country isn't going to succumb to bland brand pubs.

Only the Marston's Burton Bitter was available on cask (Pedigree and Carling were on tap). The gaffer explained that he is tied to the Martson's/Banks's/Jennings products but still no MILD.

We stayed until just after 8 o'clock on a Saturday evening and it was still very quiet when we left. I really hope that it was just a one-off or too early for the regulars.

On 9th May 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 244 recommendations about 240 pubs]