User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 15th September 2019) with oldboots on the Pub Forum

The Church, Birmingham

22 Great Hampton Street
Hockley
Postal town: Birmingham
B18 6AQ
Phone: 01214483866

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Church Inn

Best described as an old pub rebooted. Retains glasswork and some fittings, but augmented by a strange mix of French café and American diner furniture. Three Everards beers and a guest seemed in good condition though - Cask Marque listed.

On 22nd October 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1912 recommendations about 1869 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Church Inn

A half decent 2 roomed pub. 4 handpumps serving 3 Everard's plus a guest which was a Burton Bridge Halfway to Heaven beer. It does, however, have hideous blue booth like seating in one room.

On 25th February 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3347 recommendations about 3263 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Church Inn

Victorian corner pub with old leaded windows. 4 real ales and food served.

On 1st August 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2580 recommendations about 2524 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Church Inn

Think they have done a decent job of combining a trendy louisiana soul food restaurant with a traditional pub. Yes, they do cocktails. Yes, the hipsters pay by card - but they certainly haven't done this at the neglect of the ale. My Everards Tiger was perfect.

Food was pretty good as well.

Some photos at http://mappiman.blogspot.co.uk/2015/05/020515-jewellery-quarter-pub-crawl.html

On 4th May 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 558 recommendations about 553 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Church Inn

Four Everards ales on handpump on our visit. I went for the Everards Xingu, a Brazilian gold beer, obviously a special for the World Cup. There were three bar staff behind the bar and the waiting to be served was painfully slow. The pub was steady, but not mad busy. The problem here was the majority of the trendy mid-twenties, who all ordered bourbon cocktails, which cost an arm and a leg and then putting the drinks on a tab or pulling out plastic for one drink. My patience was holding out ok, but still to see the barmen winding orange rind around a straw and then balancing it on the edge of the glass, could test a thirsty beer drinker.

On 17th June 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2844 recommendations about 2844 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Church Inn

UPDATE: This is a Victorian pub, with a roof terrace, and since my last review, a function room has replaced the patio area. It is now operated by the Everards Brewery. The pub is mainly in white brick, with a blue lower frontage. Quite plain, it retains its corner entrance and has large leaded windows. The interior retains its two wooden-floored rooms, yet open-plan interior. The far side now has Parisian and bistro art, bottles and mirrors, along with a small tiled fireplace, little candles and the old bell-pushes. The colour scheme is difficult, as it was so gloomy, but appeared to be white, red and wood panel. The main room has the serving bar, but now has incongruous blue boothy seating on one side. They do food, but we didn't eat. There is no TV and the music was a bit charty, but at a decent level. The service was fine and a small clientele. Beer; usual tap stuff with Titanic Stout. On handpull there were Everards Tiger, Sunchaser, Regimental (to the regiment - I wish I was there) and an enjoyable Original. A pub returning to form after struggling for a long while. Not quite my decor, but hey-ho, beer first.
*****************************************************************************************
(2009) A detached corner pub, in white render and black paintwork, with rear beer patio.

The interior is open plan, though this falls into two 'rooms'. The main room has the bar itself, of wood, with a red and white, with wood panel decor and nice large windows. The other 'room' has a nice fireplace and DJ equipment. The floor is of wood. The service is fine and the food always functional. The clientele was small on my last visit and, being honest, seems to be going down on each visit. Maybe the pub suffers from the Clifden being so close, i can't say, but it has slowly declined over the past few years. The music on my last visit was modern and just a tad loud.

Beer; tap stuff, with now an 'ok' Timothy Taylor Best - though my friend had, i think, HPA Wye Valley (i failed to note this).

This should be my kind of place, but does seem to have gone a little downhill, i do hope it picks up.

On 14th November 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Church Inn

Pretty much as described below I'd call the seating in the left hand side, old railway carriage in style but American diner is close as well. Either way a bit out of keeping with the rest of the pub. The right hand room is more traditional with Britannia tables and bent wood chairs plus a slightly decrepit cast iron fireplace with grotty tiles, there are murals either side of it. Well kept Everards beers on the four pulls, and some better continentals. The roof terrace is the roof of a function room at the back of the yard. Not a bad place on the Jewellery Quarter crawl.

On 16th September 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2070 recommendations about 1926 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Church Inn

The Church is a corner pub that is on the busy great hampton street.
Once inside the pub had an L shaped room,that had two distinctive sides,the left side had the bar in it,there were some gawdy looking aamerican diner type seating down the left wall,with bench seating to the front,the right side looked a a bit more traditional with bench seating around the edge of the room,there were two more rooms to the rear but both were not in use on my visit.
The pub is now an Everards tied house but not signed as so,there were four real ales on the bar all from Everards brewery,i had a drink of Sunchaser which was a nice refreshing beer,the other beers were Tiger bitter,Original and Whakatu.
The pub was very busy with a mixed bunch in on my Saturday afternoon visit.
My only small gripe was the concept music that was playing,i dont like this type of music.

Pub visited 17/8/2013

On 17th August 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Church Inn

Revisit 21/06/2013

Now refurbished by Everards as new owners, the two bar areas are tidier but still has a traditional enough feel. The big change is the roof terrace, which is basically the flat roof of the pub which overlooks Great Hampton Street. It makes for a nice area with various seating choices and marks an improvement to the previous pub.

The beer is a choice of Everards, which was fine on my visit & guess a nice alternative for the city.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
17/08/2010 Bare board 2 opened up roomed local. Its small, traditional and still has an old-world feel despite the Sky Sports and the background music.

It needs a bit of work to tidy it up and despite its traditional feel there is something not quite right.

2 real ales - Taylors Golden & Wye Valley HPA. My HPA was just turning.

On 2nd July 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1225 recommendations about 1202 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


General Staal left this review about The Church Inn

Three roomed Victorian pub with nice period features inside. Two 'rooms' which wrap around the bar are actually one room, however, it still retains four seater areas for a snug and intimate evening with friends or partners. It seems that the courtyard has been roofed over making a third, separate room. This has more of a modern, bare brick industrial feel.

The Church was a little run down, but this new regeneration by Everards is successful. The pub, when I visited it on Friday 28 June, was very busy. It served as ales, Everards Tiger, Original, Sunchaser and Elixir, which were all in good condition, as was the Titanic Stout on Smooth.

I also ate. The food has a Cajun feel and the starters are around £5.00 and the mains around £10.00. I was in a group of 10 and we all ate and enjoyed the food.

A big thumbs up! Oh, apparently they sell cocktails here, but we didn't have any.

On 30th June 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 142 recommendations about 125 pubs]

Page: 1 2