User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappointment of the week with hondo on the Pub Forum

The Bull & Stirrup Hotel (JD Wetherspoon), Chester Central, Chester

8 Upper Northgate Street
Chester
CH1 4EE

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Steve C left this review about The Bull & Stirrup Hotel (JD Wetherspoon)

The Bull and Stirrup is a Wetherspoons with a bar that faces high tables in the right rear corner and multiple seating areas in the rambling left-hand side. I counted ten hand pumps in amongst the standard and premium keg products. These were drawing Ruddles, Greene King’s Abbot Ale, Sharp’s Doom Bar (x2), Westwood’s Cheshire Cat and Hafod Brewery’s Powerhaus alongside Cockeyed Brewery’s Monkey Mango cider and Weston’s Rosie’s Pig and Old Rosie ciders. The tenth handpump was unused. The usual JDW food menu is in operation.
There is no music or live sports, as per the norm for this pub co. I didn’t spot any televisions, but I’d be surprised if there wasn’t some rolling news going on somewhere. Outside is a seating area, but it was very wet during my visit so I didn’t investigate.

On 28th July 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3546 recommendations about 3525 pubs]


Rob Hunter left this review about The Bull & Stirrup Hotel (JD Wetherspoon)

Visited on Saturday evening and, like most Wetherspoon pubs, it was rather busy. Two banks of six hand pulls at the bar, one bank had the guest ales on and the other had their usual offerings plus ciders. We managed to find a free table. Beer selection was OK, I went for the Draught Burton Ale by Burton Bridge and my drinking accomplice had Quagmire by Big Bog. From memory the real ales were £2.49 a pint and in decent nick.

Worth a bit of a nosey for the interior as it is different to the usual Spoons barns.

On 21st May 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 437 recommendations about 404 pubs]


Jon B left this review about The Bull & Stirrup Hotel (JD Wetherspoon)

a meandering maze of a Wetherspoons which was full to bursting this afternoon. too unsociable to be a good pub but to be fair they have done a good job here and there is a good range of real ale. the bar area feels like a greasy spoon and was full of idiots but there are thankfully lots of cosy corners to hide away.

On 1st December 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 641 recommendations about 631 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Oggwyn Great left this review about The Bull & Stirrup Hotel (JD Wetherspoon)

We came here for breakfast on Friday morning , the font of the pub is a bit of a maze with lots of little nooks and alcoves , this leads to the main bar area with lots of high tables clustered around the centre , it feels a bit airport departure lounge in here , there is a large beer garden where the old pubs car park used to be .
Usual mix of JDW customers from students and middle aged shoppers to the Proffesional drinkers and Alkies .
Staff were all young efficent and friendly .
I had a pint of Stour Gold with my breakfast and it was pretty good .
Quite enjoyed my visit here

On 6th May 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 773 recommendations about 663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Bull & Stirrup Hotel (JD Wetherspoon)

A good and fairly new Wetherspoon's that has several drinking areas and an out side area at the rear. A very good selection of real ales with a good price to match.

On 3rd May 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2037 recommendations about 2018 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Bull & Stirrup Hotel (JD Wetherspoon)

The Bull & Stirrup was opened as a JDW by the legendary Jim Royle (aka Ricky Tomlinson) on the 28th of February 2017 and my visit was the Friday afterwards. I'd been here before some 40 years ago when it was a Higsons pub and remembered the red brick exterior of this Victorian building. It's Grade II listed so there is no external JDW signage that I could see apart from on the new pub sign which is quite similar to the older one.
Inside the old pub area which I recall being at least two rooms is carpeted and knocked into one but retaining separate areas. You have to go through all this to reach the bar area which is housed in a brand new shed like structure with the servery on the left and a completely revamped patio through some doors on the right. The kitchen is housed at the far end of this room. As usual with a new JDW the food prices were above average. Everything looked new, even the bandits which happily lacked any images of poisoned dwarf Noel Edmonds peering out at you.
The twelve hand pumps had one unused, the JDW Trio Of Doom doubled, Salopian Black Heart, Weetwood Old Dog, Hobgoblin, Phoenix Double Gold and Lancaster Black. Guest ales were all priced at the standard £2.69 apart from the Hobgoblin which at £2.99 seemed very poor value. I tried the Black Heart and Double Gold both of which were excellent.
Overall I thought this was a pretty good Spoons.

On 10th March 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2144 recommendations about 2139 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Bull & Stirrup Hotel (JD Wetherspoon)

Now a large sprawling Wethers. Multi-roomed and a bit of a maze inside. The front of the place is made up of several areas to sit and the servery is situated in a large room to the rear. 12 handpumps on the bar. This part also houses an open kitchen. There is an outside terrace at the side of the pub. Its a fairly pleasant Wethers though nothing special.

On 3rd March 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3369 recommendations about 3285 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Hurdle left this review about Bull & Stirrup Hotel

Currently being converted to a Wetherspoon Lodge.

On 20th October 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 664 recommendations about 614 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Bull & Stirrup Hotel

Closed and boarded up.

On 16th October 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3369 recommendations about 3285 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Bull & Stirrup Hotel

Multi roomed pub that has been modernised. There's a lounge to the left and a room with dining tables to the right. There's also a room to the rear with sofas and dining tables. A decent sized outdoor area is at the back of the pub. There are a couple of large TV screens which were playing a music channel at a reasonable volume. 2 handpumps on the bar serving Facers Flintshire Bitter and Black Sheep Bitter. The Facers was in decent nick as well. About 10 people in on my Thursday lunchtime visit, mainly suits from a nearby office. It's quite a pleasant place for one, but the small beer choice would prevent me from staying longer.

On 4th September 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2749 recommendations about 2677 pubs]

Page: 1 2