User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 26th June 2022) with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

Idle Valley Tap, Retford

Carolgate
Retford
DN22 6EF

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Ian Mapp left this review about Idle Valley Tap

When is a tap no a tap? The brewery is no longer brewing!

Traditional pub with some benches outside. Nice staff - who in a first, actually ask you to check the machine to make sure the value is correct before doing contactless.

On 12th July 2021 - rating: 7
[User has posted 965 recommendations about 957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Idle Valley Tap

Traditional pub on the way into town from the station (unless you know one of the non-obvious shortcuts over the canal). Unremarkable interior, doing reasonable early evening business shortly after indoor reopening as the coronavirus restrictions ease. Not longer a genuine tap, but six different real ales were available from the two banks of four handpumps, including two from Welbeck Abbey: Idle Valley Pale (£2.85) and Cavendish.

On 3rd June 2021 - rating: 7
[User has posted 7021 recommendations about 7021 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Idle Valley Tap

The former brewer at Idle Valley is, I have been informed, now involved with the Brew Shed across the way. Idle Valley beers are now brewed by Shiny Brewery and at the time of my recent visit there was only one of their beers among the eight hand pumps. I expect they'll get around to changing the name of the pub before long...

All beers are priced at £3, and there's a sameness about the beer styles as well, with three described as American Pale Ales, four others being in the pale and golden end of the spectrum and just one dark beer, the Idle Valley Indolent Philosopher. I'm glad to say that the back door which was left open on my previous visit was tightly shut this time, and there's a solid fuel stove as well.

Date of visit: 24th November 2017

On 29th November 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3054 recommendations about 2874 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Lester Ford left this review about Idle Valley Tap

The Idle Valley brewery tap at the start of the high street and was my first stop on a Saturday night of ticking the 4 pubs that appear in the 2017 GBG.

Just after 6pm and the pub is packed and I mean really packed. There was a large group of women playing pool and enjoying their selves, many couples and a few groups meaning there was no spare seats.

On the bar there was 8 ales on with 6 from Idle Valley my pint of their Mild Revolution @ 3.6% was as you would expect very decent.

I understand the pub has recently been renovated and the style is very minimal but works. There's an open fire with burning logs.

I only stopped for 1 beer, writing this after visiting the other 3 this is by far the best pub from the guide in the town. If I ever return to Retford this will be the one pub I head for.

On 12th April 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 80 recommendations about 78 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Idle Valley Tap

Best pub of the day for me. Eight beers on hand pumps and Jaipur on keg. Two beers that caught my eye were both Idle Valley offerings - Unpretentious Declaration @ 5.6% and Indolent Philosopher @ 5.3%. I had the first which was a good beer. Just the one room with a pool table at the rear. Definitely would return to this one.

On 12th February 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1693 recommendations about 1691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Idle Valley Tap

Although Springhead Brewery had plans to reopen the Anchor as the Ginger Pig, these fell through and it has now in fact reopened as Idle Valley Tap. There are eight hand pumps, of the modern stainless steel variety, plus a handful of craft keg taps. All but one of the beers were Idle Valley, with weird names like Torpid Expression and Vacant Gesture. Imagination is to the fore in some of the beer styles, too. The landlord gave me a taste of the coconut flavoured Coconut Shy PA and the equally undrinkable Vacant Gesture, a blonde beer that uncannily recreates the taste of a 1970s lager and lime, and which I was assured sold six barrels a week. Torpid Expression is described as an eccentric bitter, but this seemed fairly ordinary to me. The mild, illustrated with a picture of Che Guevara on the pump clip and called Mild Revolution, was the best of those that I tried.

With stone flags on the floor and the back door to the toilets and car park left open, this was a cold pub at this time of year. It has been done up very smartly and it's good to see a pub that had fallen into disuse revived so enthusiastically.

On 24th March 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3054 recommendations about 2874 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Anchor Inn

The Anchor Inn is a plain looking town pub that is on the corner of a busy road junction.
When i went in this pub it had a few different rooms,we had a drink in a fairly nice lounge which was carpeted and had comfy seating.
There was one real ale on the bar this was Home Ales bitter and this was a nice drink.
I dont know what beers this pub has on now.

Pub visited 15/8/1982

On 15th August 1982 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]