User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 22nd May 2022) with Spinko on the Pub Forum

The Royal Children, Nottingham

Castle Gate
Nottingham
NG1 7AT

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Will Larter left this review about The Royal Children

I added this one to my list of pubs to do on a two day visit to Nottingham, after reading about the change of ownership, clientele and beer policy (below). It was gone 10pm when I arrived, following Luton Town's goalless draw at the City Ground. Some heavy metal was on the sound system, but it was otherwise quiet, with just two customers sitting at the bar and chatting with the young manager. There were four beers on the bar, all from local breweries (see photo) - Black Iris, Hollow Stone (Shipstones) and two from Totally Brewed. I tried three in quick succession: all were in very good condition, though the Black Iris Snake Eyes was not to my taste. I noted that three Dancing Duck beers were ready to go on next. The manager was happy to join in the conversation, and mentioned that this pub is now owned by the same company that has Six Barrel Drafthouse in the city centre, and its sister pub near the Victoria shopping centre.

On 29th November 2021 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2961 recommendations about 2783 pubs]


Old Boots left this review about The Royal Children

Big big changes here, no zombies! someone has cleared out the undead, put in decent beer, started giving decent service, and the place is busy with normal people. Now a pub worthy of the name.

On 12th September 2021 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2576 recommendations about 2347 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Royal Children

No frills corner pub, bench seating, wooden chairs and tables, mixed floor treatments. “Salt of the earth” type punters (or scrotes) rather than the zombies mentioned. Screens and constant music from jukebox. Bloody awful beer, they only had Bombardier on the two banks of five but obviously no one drinks it as it was not exactly vinegar but very infected with something nasty, vinegar fly I’d guess. Unsigned one way system in operation, I chose the wrong door to much mirth of staff and punters; the beer gods were obviously trying to tell me something.

On 29th September 2020 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2576 recommendations about 2347 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Royal Children

A single roomed tatty mess. The pool table is the main feature. We were just about to do our Track & Trace stuff when I noticed that all the pumpclips were turned round, so we left it. I think 3 of the "zombie-like creatures" mentioned in Alan's review below were still resident when we called in. Awful.

On 2nd September 2020 - rating: 2
[User has posted 2981 recommendations about 2898 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Royal Children

Much the same as Al's review below - the main difference being that there were no Zombies present. In fact we were the only customers. Still had Bombardier and Castle Rock Harvest Pale. The pale was fine and the service friendly. I would call again but there are bettor options nearby.

On 20th March 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1315 recommendations about 1243 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Royal Children

Oh dear. It looks like it might be a decent pub but in reality its a bit of a dive. A single square room and a pretty tatty one at that. I could only see 6 handpumps and only Bombardier and Castle Rock Harvest Pale were your rather dismal choices. There were 4 or 5 zombie-like creatures in on my afternoon visit.

On 28th April 2017 - rating: 4
[User has posted 3445 recommendations about 3353 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Conway left this review about The Royal Children

I really wanted to like this palce with its grand looking exterior and mock Tudor design it looks that it could be a very pleasant place to have a drink, unfortunately i was very much mistaken. Upon entering the pub you are taken back by how much the interior does not match the old school look of the outside, something which is credited to Scottish and Newcastle who did a very dis tasteful refurbish about fifteen years ago. There is one square room with a center left bar and loads of open spaces with very few tables or furnishings of any kind. The pub was stone dead empty on a Tuesday evening. Ten hand pumps are bar, five on each side and o sole harvest pale pump sat lonely on one side. he landlady told me "ive not served any ale today" which should have been a warning sign so i asked to sample the harvest pale which was not off but void of any care and attention. I politely declined to purchase anything and walked straight out. This is a great shame as i can imaging in days gone by this being a very good pub but through lack of investment is visibly dwindling. I wonder how this stays open in this condition but am aware that a lot of Nottingham forest hooligans/supporters frequent here on weekends and match days and it has a reputation as somewhat of a skinhead pub so maybe they make enough on a weekend to keep them ticking. I wont be returning.

On 6th July 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 455 recommendations about 455 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Royal Children

The exterior has more than a hint of Brewer's Tudor about the main façade, and there are still signs of its former Home Ales ownership. However, despite looking interesting from outside, it has been opened-out to form a basic 'L'-shaped bar and stripped of almost all character within. Disappointingly, just Castle Rock Harvest Pale (£3.10) and Courage Directors from two banks of five handpumps. Shame, because it could be a decent place in the right hands.

On 26th April 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 6956 recommendations about 6956 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about The Royal Children

Had a very good visit not like the one in the trip round the corner the girl behind the bar was very good and talked she was busy but could talk to us all who wanted to talk had 3 pints A must to call next time there

On 4th July 2014 - rating: 10
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Royal Children

A very inviting looking pub from the outside, but quite sparse on the inside. It's worth a visit as they do serve some well kept ales. I went for the Castle Rock Harvest Pale.

On 23rd June 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3073 recommendations about 3073 pubs]

Page: 1 2