User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
PuG Tools with hondo on the Pub Forum

The Newshouse, Nottingham

123 Canal Street
Nottingham
NG1 7HB

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Newshouse

Although this Castle Rock pub has a fairly central location it is a bit isolated being set on a dual carriageway not very far from Nottingham station and not all that far from the Lace Market. Unsurprisingly it is entirely traditional with a public bar to the right as you enter and a carpeted lounge to the left. I opted for the public side which had a fully functional bar billiards table, a fully functioning dart board and a table skittles set that was being used as a display for CAMRA and Nottingham City pamphlets.
There were six hand pumps in the public bar which had one unused, Castle Rock Harvest Pale, Blue Monkey Infinity, two from Totally Brewed and Burton Bridge XL Bitter. It was such a hot day that I decided to go for one of the ciders (£3.50) which the friendly landlord appeared to bring up from the cellar. I wish I had noted down what it was because it was cool and delicious.
I thought his was an excellent place and will definitely return.

On 29th July 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The Newshouse

03/11/17 Still a great pub but now with a decent selection of brews from Totally Brewed. This may change soon when the new TB tap opens on Canning Circus, to be called Overdraught.

25/06/12 Popped in for a swift pint before heading to the Ice Centre for a gig. Not my first trip to the News House and won't be my last. Excellent array of brews in a "proper" pub environment. Carpeted Lounge for the posh and a stripped wood bar for the drinkers. I had a pint of Preservation to get another one-over-the 8 sticker and the Mrs had an acceptible Sauv. Nice clean toilets, both M & F and friendly staff make this pub well worth a visit when in town, despite it being off the beaten track. Good access for the disabled, no parking to speak of as it is on a very busy road in the town. The bar has the added excitement of table skittles and a bar billiard table. Lots of interesting Nottingham press cuttings on the walls, with a leaning towards Nottingham Forest.

On 17th January 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Newshouse

Basic Castle Rock pub that is a simple beer house. No pretentions, not really comfortable, but 2 extra marks from me for the presentation of real ale as well as other forms

On 27th April 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1287 recommendations about 1265 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Conway left this review about The Newshouse

he Newshouse is A castle Rock pub a five minute walk from Nottingham Station. The pub is very striking as it is covered with dark blue tiles that give it a very unique look. As you enter there are identically shaped rooms on the left and right that are both served by a central bar. The left hand room tends to be busier and is a little more comfy as it is partially carpeted with the right hand room being all wooden floor with a bar billiards table(Only one in Nottingham to my knowledge) as well as a dart board. Until recently a Castle Rock pub, the pub has now allowed the Nearby Totally brewed take over a number of pumps on the bar so drinkers can now always find a couple of each brewery’s beer alongside some guests, what a fantastic idea. There are eight real males available between the two bars but be careful as sometimes they appear on one and not the other so always check the chalk boards to see what is available. On my last visit there was Burton Bridges Bitter (£3.00) Castle Rocks Harvest Pale (£2.80) Totally Brewed Slap in the Face (£2.90) as well as Slap in the face, Castle Rock snow white and a few others I failed to note, overall an impressive selection and the Burton Bridge was very nicely kept. Although not dead I have never been in here when it is really busy which is a shame as it is another quality pub (show me a Tynemill/castle Rock pub that isn’t) that I could happily sit in and work my way down the bar. It is also very warm and inviting and the sort of place you could remain inn for a while. Overall another great offering and one to try out if around Nottingham.

On 2nd February 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 454 recommendations about 454 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Newshouse

Another of Nottingham’s Tynemill pubs, this one isn’t far from the station but is a pig to get to with a busy road to traverse en route. The much-commented on blue-tiled facade I actually found rather endearing though perching outside next to the thundering traffic isn’t exactly a tourism experience. The building dates from the 1950’s and the interior retains a fair deal of touches from that period; it’s still split into a traditional quiet, carpeted lounge and a public bar (which is far more basic but has bar billiards, darts and a TV for the football). The central servery spans both rooms and the ale choice is split between the two, so check both sides when you come in. Six were on during my visit, three Castle Rock and three guests (including, impressively, Fullers Bengal Lancer). Quality was very good and if you get bored of the ale there’s a wide range of Continental and Belgian beers too, plus a cider or two. Cobs, gala pie and newspapers are all available. All-in-all an enjoyable place.

On 18th November 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 4111 recommendations about 4099 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Newshouse

Have to agree with Gill, this is a proper traditional pub and well worth a visit. Thanks to the PG map as I now know where we finished our crawl. Will call again.

On 17th November 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3006 recommendations about 3006 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Newshouse

Another Castle Rock house, but this pub feels like a true pub. Friendly staff and feels comfy to be in mixing with the locals. Deserves its 2011 Good Beer Guide entry. Two rooms serving up to 8 real ales. They also have bottled beers. Traditional pub games and a fun quiz played here. Some brewery names etched into tiling.

The above was written on 18.11.10 and we revisited on Friday. Chose the excellent Castle Rock Redstart from the beers available, and it was as good as ever. Still a great pub to visit when in Nottingham.

On 14th November 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1323 recommendations about 1207 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Newshouse

A rather 50s looking end terraced Castle Rock pub, with a small patio area at the front. The facade is mostly taken up with blue tiling, with the top section in undressed brick. There are some nice etched glass windows.

The interior has a couple of rooms. The bar room is to the left. The room is in cream, with some tiling, with a wood floor. There is a large screen TV, which had footy on at my visit. There was a bar billiard table. The lounge is to the left. It has cream walls with a brown ceiling on which there are playing cards. The walls are adorned with old photograohs, a large Castle Rock mirror and newspaper pages, especially dealing with Forest's exploits. The service was fine and the clientele consisted of two other people. There was no music.

Beer; usual tap stuff with Castle Rock Harvest Pale Ale and Preservation on handpull, with Derby Triple Hop, Saltaire Trio Pale, Rudgate Battle Axe and a nice Bateman's Dark MILD.

Another quality pub - the review was written a few months back, but i returned the other day. Really worth a visit, a little gem

On 12th November 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3067 recommendations about 3062 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Newshouse

Despite an unpromising location on the sort of busy road you are unlikely to find yourself strolling along, this is a very nice, traditional two room Castle Rock pub. The right hand side of the pub houses the public bar - a typically stripped down, basic room with bare floorboards and some pretty simple décor. A large screen on the rear wall was showing Sky Sports News to a handful of locals who had arranged themselves along the L-shaped banquette seating. A bar billiards table was tucked away in one corner of the room and I'm fairly sure there was a dartboard as well.
I spent most of my time in the lounge bar which had some very nicely upholstered banquette seating with tables and low stools. A huge Castle Rock mirror took up most of the wall space, but the back corner has a number of framed front and back pages from the local newspaper on display, including a few detailing Nottingham Forest's various successes over the years. A few bits of brewerania including an old beer bottle collection completed the look. Background music was playing, but this was disturbed by the noise from the road outside which would certainly put me off sitting in the small patio area at the front of the pub.
Only two Castle Rock beers were available on my visit - Harvest Pale and Preservation Ale (£2.70), but these were complimented by a fine guest selection including Brain's Dark, Hook Norton Old Hooky, Robinson's Dark Matters, Burton Bridge XL Bitter and Butcombe Gold. Weston 1st Quality Cider was also on offer and the taps included Vedett Belgian lager. The beers are split between the two bars and although the public bar had a blackboard listing them all, I didn't spot one on the lounge side, so it may pay to check both rooms to make sure you don't miss out on anything. Food wise, there were rolls available at £2.30 each or two slices of Gala Pie for £1.50.
I liked this pub and can imagine it would be a great place for a session if there was a decent crowd in. Well worth looking out for and a solid start for my recent Nottingham crawl.

On 29th April 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2597 recommendations about 2597 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Newshouse

Rather unpromising location, and from a distince this looks like the sort of edge-of-industrial-estate lager'n'footie pub that casual visitors are probably best advised to avoid. It does indeed have a large screen in one of the two bars showing live sport, but this is obviously a proper beer-drinkers pub with six real ales on handpump - several from Castle Rock (e.g. Preservation at £2.60) and some interesting guests. Also offers several ciders. Best of all, you can get a cheese and onion roll for £2.20 to go with your pint. Excellent.

On 24th January 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6461 recommendations about 6461 pubs]

Page: 1 2