User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Summer 2020 crawl - possible venues with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

The Roaring Meg, Newark Town, Newark

Barnby Gate
Newark
NG24 1QZ

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Roaring Meg

1930s corner back street local in (almost) unspoiled basic form. Two bars both with pool tables and lots of hard wooden bench seating at wooden tables in the L shaped front public . The back lounge is a bit the same but the benches are upholstered. I got the first pint out which was a bit hazy and slightly ascetic, but drinkable, my companions were grateful I'd got there first and their beer was fine. Six pulls in the Public with three beers from owners Springhead, two guests, from Spitting feathers and Great Heck on this occasion. There are two pulls in the lounge.

On 27th May 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2208 recommendations about 2053 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Roaring Meg

Looks like quite the building from outside and is owned by Springhead brewery. Features in the CAMRA listings as a historic interior and this is historic in the utterly basic manner of being so. Green tiled entrance porch with main bar off to left which is right angle shaped with quarry tiled flooring, green walls and impressive sets of wall length fixed wood benches to make your bum numb, along with some jumbo chunky wood tables. A very modern pool table did its best to detract as did the intermittent pop music and biting cold. To the rear is a plain function room. Three Springhead beers on, My Exodus was pretty so-so in taste and condition. Didn't get much out of it really, feels like it’s being run on the cheap – if you can’t afford to put the heating on in December in a pub, you might as well call it a day.

On 18th December 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Roaring Meg

Despite the name of this place, the actual beer was turned round which was annoying as I like Roaring Meg. The other two ales were weak and not worth bothering with.

On 26th November 2016 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1598 recommendations about 1596 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Roaring Meg

I first tried to visit this pub way back on 20th March 1983 but after a three hour wait on a Sunday the pub did not open.
I did visit again in 1987 when the pub was Called The Vine,it was a keg Inde Coope tied house originally and then had Batemans beers on the bar.

The to this day is still unchanged with a main bar room which is L shaped,a separate room to the right which has no bar in it and a pool room to the rear,the seating in the main bar is bench type and chairs,the lounge to the right has normal tables and chairs and is bare boarded.
There was a decent choice of real ales on the bar on my recent visit with the pub now being a Springhead tied house,i had a drink of Springhead Robin Hood which went down well,the other beers noted were Springhead Maid Marrion/Roaring Meg and guest beers Gadds No 7 and Liverpool Organic.
There was some very good background music playing.
The pub was almost empty on my Thursday afternoon visit.
I have never liked the look of this pub,probably too many windows.

Pub first visited 21/4 1987

Recent visit 2/6/2016

On 26th June 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Roaring Meg

We visited this Springhead Bewery pub as one of the last legs of a January crawl around Newark. It was pitch black outside but not yet 5pm, so the pub was fairly quiet. Being outside the town centre means that it's got more of an estate pub flavour to it, whereas those nearer the centre cater more for casual visitors and shoppers. It's been very smartly done up and there are six hand pumps on the bar, all but one of them serving Springhead beers, as might be expected. The guest was from Tring brewery, one of my favourites, so I went for that, though a longer visit would have seen me try a few of the Springheads - perhaps another time. Prices were considerably lower than we had become used to paying in the town centre - more than £1 a pint less than the Prince Rupert, for example.

On 27th January 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2560 recommendations about 2419 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Vine

I can't particularly give the Vine a rating as we visited on it's last night of trading, before closing for a three week facelift. This large corner Springhead pub consisted of an L shaped room with bar, a small back room and another small lounge acoss the hallway near a staircase. My Springhead Robin Hood was hideously on its last, so left it. It will be interesting to see what the brewery is going to do here.

On 7th April 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2947 recommendations about 2947 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The Vine

Another pub not originally on our list for a crawl round Newark but added after it was established that the Castle and Falcon shuts at 3pm on a Saturday. Large open bar with a pool table taking pride of place. Beer selection was limited to the Springhead collection but it was all in excellent shape. We played a couple of games aof pool, chatted with the friendly locals and left agreeing that the Vine was a worthwhile addition to the day.

On 19th February 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]