User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 17th November 2019) with Wittenden on the Pub Forum

The Fox & Crown, Newark Town, Newark

4-6 Appleton Gate
Newark
NG24 1JY

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Fox & Crown

Loved this Castle Rock pub which features in the 2018 Good Beer Guide for it's great selection of real ales. We enjoyed our Pentrich Killed by the Boom and Abstract Jungle Pride. Large open plan room with smaller ones off plus a beer garden. A great place to have as your local.

On 8th August 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1296 recommendations about 1186 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Fox & Crown

Doesn't look like much from the outside but inside is a great ale pub run by Castle Rock. The character is driven by a number of interconnecting semi-rooms which provide a nice set of discrete places to enjoy your pint, as well as a clientele base of affable drinkers. There’s a room at the rear with a tuned acoustic guitar (presumably for playing if you feel the urge?) and board games. Noted that there is a free cheese board available on Mondays. 10 pumps at the bar with a good set of Castle Rock brews along with some guests including Tiny Rebel, as well as 70+ bottles and cans in the fridge. My Castle Rock Mocha Stout was in very good shape. I really liked this place and would be more than happy to take it in over a longer session. 8.5

On 18th December 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3921 recommendations about 3909 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Fox & Crown

The Fox & Crown is a standard looking town pub that is set in a terrace.
Once inside the main room to the left is a decent size which has a part tiled and bare boarded floor,the seating is bench type and small stools,there are two smaller rooms to the right and another are to the rear which has normal tables and chairs.
This is a Castle Rock tied house,so there was a good choice of real ales on the bar,we had a drink of Harvest Pale which went down very well,the other beers noted were Elsie Mo,Screeching Owl,Preservation all from Castle Rock,there were some guest beers but i could not note all because of people stood at the bar,i did note Abbeydale Hop Smash and one from Oakham.
We thought this was a very pleasant pub to have a drink in.

Pub visited 6/8/2016

On 15th October 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Fox & Crown

This is a Castle Rock pub so I wasn't in the least surprised to find it to be an excellent old school traditional pub.
it's not very large but as you enter the bar is on the left serving three sides and it extends back to various small seating areas on the right and left.
I didn't get to note all the beers on as there was a large group of people hogging the bar area. I did manage to note Everard's Tiger and at least five Castle Rock beers on the ten hand pumps. Traditional ciders were also available.
I'm not a massive fan of Castle Rock Beers but found their Black Gold Mild really enjoyable. It was also reasonably priced at £2.80 knocked down to £2.60 with the CAMRA discount. I would happily return here.

On 17th September 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2144 recommendations about 2139 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about Fox & Crown

A very good Castle Rock pub selling a range of the brewery beers. Very comfortable and the staff are very friendly.

On 20th April 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2037 recommendations about 2018 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Fox & Crown

A pleasant and friendly enough Castle Rock pub offering ten ales. The pub consisted of a central bar and also served food. A good pub and well worth a visit. We went for Everards Tiger.

On 7th April 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2903 recommendations about 2903 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about Fox & Crown

Excellent Castle Rock boozer with the usual ales on the bar. I managed to cash in 4 completed one over the eight vouchers to claim my 4 free pints. You can't really grumble at that can you? Nice big interior, loads of seating and friendly staff. Possibly the best boozer in Newark?

On 19th February 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Fox & Crown

Looking at the Georgian frontage,you would expect to find a small pub interior with some original features but clearly Castle Rock have gutted the interior to create a large functional premises.The interior design hints at originality with several seperate rooms all divided from the central area by doorways wide enough meet DDA guidelines and high enough to avoid stooping by anyone under six foot nine. However no real fireplaces exist and electric wall mounted heaters provide warming.The ale range is extensive and the one over the 8 Castle Rock promotion is operated here. This is probably the best real ale pub in Newark ,which isnt a glowing recommendation given the other options in the town centre.The live music does bring in a younger crowd and some totty but this can be accompanied by a net loss of customers as some older drinkers slope off.

On 5th May 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2015 recommendations about 2015 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about Fox & Crown

A large Castle Rock boozer which is split into a number of rooms, all of which are a reasonable size and it does lend itself as a live music venue which seems to happen regularly. A wide selection of 10 real ales over a variety of strengths and styles. Regulars are Batemans XXXB, Everards Tiger and Pale Harvest, Hemlock and Sheriffs Tipple all from Castle Rock with 5 changing guests in addition to the regulars. We sampled the Tiger, Pale Harvest, Bateman's Salem Porter and Spring Ale from Ryedale. All of these were fine, although the Salem Porter was slightly suspect but there didn't seem to be anything to tempt our, reasonable size, group into a session despite the variety on offer. We may have been unlucky and this is certainly a pub to visit if you're after real ale in Newark.

On 4th May 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nigel Sheppard left this review about Fox & Crown

A castle Rock owned pub with a wide range of changing beers and is the only pub in town where you can consistently expect to be served a range of well kept beers. Great food too!

On 15th June 2008 - rating: 10
[User has posted 192 recommendations about 192 pubs]