User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with Rex_Rattus on the Pub Forum

The Express Tavern, Brentford

56 Kew Bridge Road
Brentford
TW8 0EW
Phone: 02085608484

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about Express Ale & Cider House

Now re-opened. The outside has been painted cream and green and helps it stand out as before it was a bit dull.The interior though nicely decorated has not changed structurally.Ten cask pumps 10 craft keg and 5 ciders.I tried two cask beers inc new London brewer Bigsmoke brewery and they were in good condition.Seating to the rear and now they have put tables and chairs on the upper lawn probably for the first time in a hundred years.Still scores an 8 but the previous score included a few points for nostalgic reasons this 8 is purely because its a good pub.Can Brentford support a 10 handpump pub is my only worry.Now open all day.

On 4th October 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 965 recommendations about 951 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Express Ale & Cider House

Reported as reopened on 25/09/2014 by JB and by Richmond & Hounslow CAMRA on Whatpub.

On 30th September 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2999 recommendations about 2916 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about Express Ale and Cider House

Update - September 2014

As already reported, this pub is currently closed.

Gordon and Liz have retired - the pub has been taken over by the people who have The Sussex Arms in Twickenham and The Antelope in Surbiton.

Let's hope they can retain the traditional unspoilt feel of this pub.



Update – July 2011

Still a fine pub, well worth visiting.

In addition to the regular beers – Youngs Ordinary and Bass – beers on during my recent early evening visit were Robinsons Old Crusoe and Old Mill Full Bloom, both in good form.

There’s little else to add to my earlier review below except to report that the eco-warriors over the road have now vanished as the building of the executive apartments on the site is now well under way. Oh, and the pub still closes for the afternoon each day, apart from Sunday.

July 2009 review

Splendidly traditional family owned free house situated just over the river at the north end of Kew Bridge and close to Kew Bridge Station. This is a pub that I visit every 3 months or so.

It dates back to 1794 and has been in the Aldington family since 1882.

There's 2 bars either side of the central entrance - a public bar on the right as you go in and a larger comfortable traditional saloon bar on the left. The saloon bar has a rather baronial looking room attached, in which are some dark beams and an interesting framed print detailing the pub's history, which is worth looking out for. There's a pleasant garden at the back for summer drinking.

My early evening entrance in to the pub a week or so ago initially seemed to slightly disconcert the young barman - perhaps he thought I was one of the eco - warriors who have recently taken up residence on the barren plot of land over the road ( which is due for development by St Georges incidentally ).

The Youngs Bitter and the Bass are always in excellent condition here. They are usually supplemented by either one or two guests - these being Brains and Harviestoun Blonde on my recent visit.

The pub is a CAMRA Good Beer Guide regular.

This is a fine traditional pub, still retaining a slightly old fashioned and austere feel

It's well worth seeking out, but note that it closes in the afternoon during the week

On 5th September 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about Express Tavern

What a fine pub this is. When I first used it 35 years ago it was a quiet old fashioned pub and today its still the same. Well described by other reviewers. Still 2 regular beers on plus Kite -bluestone bitter and Portobello -gold both decent. Its a pub for the older generation but in a few weeks new landlords take over so it will change.

On 29th July 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 965 recommendations about 951 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Express Tavern

Made another visit to this fine CAMRA listed pub last Saturday just arriving after its 6.30PM opening time, so basically therefore had the place to myself. Been a while since I last visited so very pleased to find it hadn’t changed a bit, still fully deserving of its CAMRA London Regional Inventory with the fine Victorian bar-back and stained glass windows still in place.
The usual Bass and Youngs Ales were complemented by Nethergate Essex Border and McEwan's 80/-.
Tucked myself away on one of the velvet benches by the marbled fireplace in the lounge bar and tried the ‘heavy’ and the Essex border and both were in good form.
This pub really doesn’t look that inviting from the outside , especially due to its position on a busy junction. But it really is worth a look in if you are in the Kew Bridge area.

On 19th June 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1810 recommendations about 1748 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Express Tavern

A bold-looking pub located at the north end of Kew Bridge (and close to the station of that name), with a fine traditional two-room interior with another small seating area behind the lounge bar. Four real ales on handpump - a decent pint of Bass ("what we are famous for", at £3.15), Youngs Ordinary and a couple of guests. Tidily furnished inside, with a decent little patio beer garden (with grassed area beyond) at the back - a fine spot for a pint in the unusually warm October sunshine. Recommended.

On 8th October 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 7001 recommendations about 7001 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Express Tavern

Frustratingly closes all afternoon on Saturdays, not open until 6:30. Brentford not at home either today so must be the normal arrangement. It seems the old hours of 11:30 to 3 and 5:30 to 11 are standard through the week.

On 1st May 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1694 recommendations about 1668 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Express Tavern

I managed to get up early enough to get to this pub before it closed for the afternoon. And it was worth the effort. When I was in the other day they had the regular ales of Bass and Young’s Bitter on, plus Brain’s SA. I had the Brain’s which was on excellent form, and at a relatively wallet friendly price of £2.85 a pint. This is a clean, comfortable pub that has probably not changed much in the past 50 years. It’s rightly on the CAMRA inventory of historic pub interiors, because of the numerous original features still in place. I’m not going to describe them in detail – go and have a look for yourself.
The menu features some pretty standard pub grub at pretty standard prices (e.g steak & ale pie at £6.95). I didn’t eat there so can’t comment on the quality. There are only normal tables and chairs in evidence I’m glad to say. The walls are adorned with all manner of artefacts – duelling pistols, hunting horns, bison’s horns(!), various prints as well what looks like an original Royal Warrant for something or other. The service was friendly enough and they even had London Drinker available (a very good sign in my book). This is an excellent pub that is definitely worth seeking out (it’s not hard to find!) if you’re ever in this neck of the woods.

On 19th October 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2599 recommendations about 2513 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Express Tavern

This is a traditional pub that still retains two separate bar areas and there is also some more seating in a room towards the rear that leads to a half paved/half grassed beer garden that has a few large picnic tables. If memory serves me correctly there are usually four ales on and the Scottish governor seems to like bringing in Caledonian and Welsh ales which makes a change from the Fullers beers found in most surrounding pubs. Service can be a little slow at times and the pub opens for lunch and then closes for the afternoon, so be warned!

Well worth missing a train for a couple of well kept pints.

On 23rd April 2007 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3928 recommendations about 3904 pubs]

Page: 1 2