User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 18th October 2020) with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

Bridge Inn, Bristol

16 Passage Street
Bristol
BS2 0JF
Phone: 01179290942

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Bridge Inn

Enjoyed our visit to this 2016 Good Beer Guide pub. As well as the real ales available it stocks bottled beers and malt whiskies. We enjoyed beers from Grey Trees and Box Steam here.

On 24th April 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1306 recommendations about 1196 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Bridge Inn

As others have mentioned below, this is a very small, compact bar situated, as the name suggests, next to one of the river crossings. As one of the stragglers on the Pubs Galore crawl, I arrived here to find the place already rammed with fellow crawlers and locals on their lunch break, so I headed off to the nearby Cornubia, only to return much later in the day when things had calmed down inside. The pub has a truncated L shape with the servery on the rear wall opposite the entrance and various fixed bench seating options around the perimeter, supplemented by numerous low stools. The servery is a fairly straightforward affair with tongue and groove panelled counter and basic bar back, whilst the rest of the room has been decorated in a fairly warm colour scheme with some modern wallpaper in places. The pub puts live music on occasionally and there is a distinct music theme throughout, including several record sleeves dotted around the room and a large photo montage of famous artists close to the entrance. Some shelves to the rear housed a collection of board games and some books. The need for overspill has partially been dealt with by offering limited pavement seating, although this in turn is constrained in terms of available space.
There were four operational hand pumps when we arrived, dispensing Dark Star APA and Hophead, Twisted Brewing Conscript and Salopian Darwin's Origin. I had a pint of the latter - always a favourite and in good condition here.
This is a fine little bar that perhaps suffers a bit from its own success, but nevertheless offers a warm, cosy environment in which to enjoy a good pint. It's a sociable place where you're bound to end up chatting to someone due to the compact seating set-up and, presuming you time your visit to avoid peak periods, it can be a rewarding pub experience.

On 11th December 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2508 recommendations about 2508 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Bridge Inn

This pub has been quite quiet on my previous visits and I have always been able to bag a seat and peruse the collection of album covers. I hadn’t really appreciated what a small internal space this pub is but that was fully brought home on our recent Friday lunchtime visit when vertical standing on the pavement outside was the only option available, due to the inside area and all the bench seating on the roadside pavement fully utilised.
Due to the small size you kind of have to queue towards the bar and it took a while to be served due to the couple in front ordering for a crowd. But it was worth it due to the beers available and these included two Dark Star brews and one from Twisted, but I went for the Salopian Darwin Original which was on top form.
Still think this is a good pub, so no need to change my current rating , and wouldn’t hesitate to return when next in Bristol. I will just choose better timing than a busy Friday lunchtime

On 1st December 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1704 recommendations about 1653 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Bridge Inn

A very small but seemingly very popular pub, as Ray mentions below it was heaving ,but then it was a Friday lunchtime,I had to take my beer outside to drink just to get some space. What I saw of the pub I liked but I would like to try it at a quieter time.My beer, Salopian Darwins Origin was nice enough.

On 19th November 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1344 recommendations about 1330 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Bridge Inn

This pub was mobbed when we first tried to visit around lunchtime. It was only until we arrived back much later in the evening that we saw how small the interior is. The pub had four ales on, so I went for the Salopian Darwins Origin, which was in great nick. The barmaid and locals were friendly and chatty, a pub I would most likely revisit.

On 18th November 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Bridge Inn

There seems to have been a slightly clinical internal refurb in here since last time. Four ales Beowulf, Dark Star, Osset and Bath. My Beowulf was OK if not exactly king of jungle.

June 2009
Teeny-tiny (smallest in Bristol?) basic pub which serves up two ales from Bath (SPA and Gem) plus two guests (one of which is often Arbor) at competitive prices. You can see what’s up next by peering at the clips atop the till. Novelty value in having a record player where the punters can play their own choices (within reason). Decoration is green-tinged and there's old album covers, gig tickets etc mounted on the walls. Bare boarded floor, fitted seating and small tables utilised to maximise space. Usually a good atmosphere though can get a bit squished when busy. Check out the view from the bridge, especially of the historic Cheese Lane Lead Shot Tower. Walkable from the town centre and from Bristol Temple Meads – worth taking in if you’re visiting the nearby Seven Stars. Rated 7

On 6th October 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Bridge Inn

A compact, slightly L-shaped room with a wooden floor and light coloured decor. There is a run of leather effect benches with wooden backs around the end corner, supplemented by small metal stools. Opposite the bar facing the windows are a couple of drinking shelves, no room for anything else here. There is a definite music theme to the pub with framed collages showing bands, news clippings, gig tickets etc and the pub sign is an enlarged 45RPM disc. Other decor includes framed album covers plus a series of cut out paper cats in black and white, I took this to be something to do with the forthcoming Halloween celebrations (a party was advertised).
The welcome was friendly and service cheery as others have commented, three beers on, Green Duck Duck Dastardly(a blackcurrant porter), Bath Ales Gem and Dark Star Hophead. A number of pump clips were fixed to the ceiling above the bar. CAMRA leaflets on display.
I did enjoy my brief stop here and would certainly return when I have more time.

On 1st November 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about Bridge Inn

There is little that I can add that hasn’t already been said, so I will just document the beer selection that was offered on a recent visit – Jem, Dark Star’s Hophead, Skinner’s Spriggan ale and Wyrepiddle’s Frosty Piddle. Ciders were Bounders and Blackthorn.

On 24th January 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1749 recommendations about 1684 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Bridge Inn

It may be small but it's perfectly formed and very friendly.The four handpumps were serving Bristol Beer Factory Acer,Bath Gem and Penzance Brewing Jolly Farmer and IPA,a wonderful 6%er and great value at £2.70.Apparently on Mondays all ales are £2.20 the pint.
Bare floorboards and fitted seating around one end with small tables creates a convivial interior The modest volume musak and chance to play some vinyl on the turntable is an added bonus.A must visit on any ale tour of the city centre,I particularly liked the relaxed vibe.

On 15th October 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2079 recommendations about 2079 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


I L left this review about Bridge Inn

Update
Still a very friendly little pub. They had Bath ales Gem and spa plus Triple FFF Brewery Ramble Tamble plus one other on hand pump. Very pleasant late on a Friday night.


Used to just serve three Bath Ales in the cosy little pub. More recently they have had other good ales on aswell as Bath ales. When we were in here the vinyl record player was being manned by (presumably) the Landlord.

On 6th August 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 287 recommendations about 284 pubs]

Page: 1 2