User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Wetherspoon's news of the day with hondo on the Pub Forum

Ye Olde Mitre, EC1

1 Ely Court
EC1
EC1N 6SJ
Phone: 02074054751

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2 3

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 9 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Jon B left this review about Ye Olde Mitre

a very cosy little pub hidden away... well as hidden as it is possible to be in central London. the Fullers corporate touch is all over it though and the Americans within quickly started to grate on me. The waitress got irritated when I had to reorder as my half was brought out as a pint... i’m being economical because of your prices, don’t forget that!

On 16th May 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 521 recommendations about 519 pubs]


hondo . left this review about Ye Olde Mitre

Fullers pub tucked away down a narrow alleyway. A characterful old interior with some guest beers served.

On 19th October 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2558 recommendations about 2503 pubs]


moby duck left this review about Ye Olde Mitre

Update, best visit I've had here, no service issues, room to sit and a very good Thornbridge Jaipur, now up couple of notches to 8/10

April 2013
An iconic London pub, but a pub I have always struggled to take to.Nowdays a Fullers pub, which doesn't help my particular cause beer wise ,although guests are available.A great looking pub in a great location, but I always seem to have had service issues on the four times I have made a visit. not enough staff on (usually one)when the bar's two or three deep. Maybe I've been unlucky and will try again,but it hasn't done it for me to date.

On 4th August 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1186 recommendations about 1175 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about Ye Olde Mitre

A historic pub with a history going back to 1546, rebuilt in 1772 and extended in 1782. Naturally as with all pubs of this ilk, the 'Ye Olde' prefix is a relatively modern affectation; the pub was originally called The Mitre.

Well described below, naturally this is the kind of pub where little if anything changes. Staff were friendly, doing their best from the cramped bar. This is a Fuller's house and there were 5 ales on offer though 3 were double clipped, so what was on offer is unknown. My half of Oliver's Island (£2.03) was a decent price considering the area and was on good form.

This is a great little pub - by far the best in Hatton Garden - but be warned that it gets pretty rammed in the evening - especially Fridays - which means that service can be rather slow. A better choice of ales would garner a higher mark.

Closed Saturdays and Sundays.

On 7th April 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 874 recommendations about 860 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about Ye Olde Mitre

This is a small pub tucked away down an equally small alleyway, and certainly not somewhere you’re going to stumble across by accident. In fact we were actively looking for it and still had a bit of trouble tracking it down. It’s certainly worth making the effort though. The landlord was a friendly chap and welcomed us to his pub as soon as we got to the bar.

It’s an attractive looking pub from the outside with leaded windows and an unusual wood panelled exterior. The front bar is quite tiny, something of a snug perhaps, and was a cosy space with dark wood panelling all around and a few black beams on the ceiling, from which were hanging a good selection of old jugs. A small fire-place was off to one side and there were a few old black and white photographs on the wall. Bench seating was around much of the perimeter, and the floor was carpeted whereas I might have expected flagstones in an establishment such of this. On sign on the wall said that it had been built by some bishop or other back in the 1600’s, if I recall correctly. There was a further bar at the rear which from a quick glance looked as though it may have been a little more elegant. A chalk board on the wall advertised a selection of snacks such as sausage rolls, scotch eggs, pork pies, etc.

There was a good choice of beers on tap with Sambrook’s Session, London Pride, Windsor & Eton Red Eye and Windsor Knot, Seafarer’s Ale, Adnams Broadside and Oliver’s Island. Ciders meanwhile were Cornish Orchards and Friels which I’ve only ever previously come across in bottles. All in all, a cracking little pub and well worth taking the trouble to seek out.

On 7th April 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1663 recommendations about 1602 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Ye Olde Mitre

A long-overdue visit found (thankfully) almost no change to this iconic London pub. Despite being packed service was swift and friendly. Sampled the upstairs room for the first time, which was enjoyable and had a pseudo Gentleman’s Club feel. Couple of the Fullers range sampled, though I fail to recall which but I do remember they were both quite drinkable…

October 2010
A pub that anyone visiting London should try. It’s a little gem, hidden down an alley linking Hatton Garden (look for the Bishop's Mitre) with Ely Place. This is a small, multi-roomed pub that can trace its origins back to 1546 (look out for the Queen Elizabeth I cherry tree which can be found in the front bar – she apparently used this as a maypole when a child). The two main downstairs rooms have dark wood, low ceilings, are heated by fires and are separated by the bar. There’s also a room upstairs and the alleyways outside have some upturned large barrels acting as standing tables. The ale selection is good (Fuller’s acquired the place a couple of years back so expect to see Pride and Seafarers but have kept up the guest range of 2-3 ales as well as the two old 'house beers' of Adnams Broadside and Deuchars IPA). The quality is usually quite solid and prices are reasonable given the location. There used to be a bit of an issue with short measures but that appears to have been addressed. Food is available – usually toasted sandwiches, pickled and scotch eggs. The wine selection is also fairly extensive given the pubs size and reputation for beer. Being located in the heart of the City area, expect it to get rammed post-5pm with office workers. Note that the pub is closed on weekends and bank holidays, so it’s best taken on a quiet weekday afternoon. Highly recommended. Rated 9

On 18th November 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3794 recommendations about 3782 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Conway left this review about Ye Olde Mitre

Historic pub connected to Queen Victoria located down an alleyway between two streets. This is an oldy worldly pub with lots of original features. there are five hand pulls on the front main bar and a further three on the back bar that are sometimes duplicates of what is on the front. This is one of the few Fullers pubs that is allowed to stock outside guests but these oddly always seem to be the same thing with Deuchars IPA and Broadside being very regular fixtures, you would think having such a privilege with Fullers would make them push the boat out a little. there were also the Fullers offerings of Pride, Seafarers and olives island. Due to this being a historic drinkers pub a few exceptions are made for it, one being the already mentioned guest beer allowance and the other is the ability to keep the prices on the reasonable side. The pride was £4 Seafeares £3.65 and broadside £4.05 and anyone will tell you that this will be the cheapest Fullers prices in the city, a pricing privilege that i think only the Harp in Covent garden also has which i presume is again based on its heritage as a drinkers/free house for many years and even Fullers dont want to exploit that for outrageous profit ....(For now)

My seafearers was probably the best kept pint of the day and i know that this place has a reputation for the quality of the beer they sell so you are always going to get a nice beer in here. This pub is highly recomended if around Holborn and high up on the list of best Fullers pubs a must visit (If you can find it).

On 28th September 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 422 recommendations about 422 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Merry Makers left this review about Ye Olde Mitre

A lovely little pub when you eventually find it. Extremely helpful staff and lots of them, maybe the landlord read the previous reports on this site. The landlord sat with us and went to great lengths to explain the history of his pub and the nearby church crypt (also worth a visit). CAMRA pub with good selection of real ales and cider on draught, I had a Seafarers (or 3) which I obviously enjoyed. There are many good reports on this pub but no-one seems to have mentioned that it is CLOSED at weekends, as apparently being in the City footfall is lacking, so be warned. Do take the trouble to find it though as it is a gem.

On 6th March 2015 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2 recommendations about 2 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Ye Olde Mitre

The initial quest to this pub is looking for the narrow alley way off Hatton Garden. Once into Ely Court, the pub is right there in front of you. From the exterior alone you can see this is going to be a gem. We got here mid afternoon, which gave a good chance to look round and get served easily. We sat in the front bar, which was comfortable and observed all the old jugs hanging from the ceiling. There was also some stained glass over the servery with the date 1546. The Dark Star Partridge was very quaffable. If you're trying to find the gents loo, it's outside and the ladies loo is upstairs.

On 11th January 2014 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2737 recommendations about 2737 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


BobOs . left this review about Ye Olde Mitre

A justifiably popular small, quirky Fuller's pub located in a small alleyway (easiest to find by entering between numbers 8 and 9 Hatton Garden - marked by a sign in the shape of a Bishop's mitre). The pub dates back to 1546 but the present fabric dates to 1772 and is, apparently, technically still part of the County of Cambridgeshire. There are two entrances, that to the left leads to 'The Closet', a semi-private partially-enclosed 'snug' while the entrance to the right gives access to the main bar areas - containing the remains of a cherry tree that Queen Elizabeth the First danced around.

As a Fuller's house you will always find a good pint of London Pride and Seafarers alongside Deuchars IPA and Adnam's Broadside. Also on offer yesterday were Fuller's Discovery, Rudgate Brewery's Ruby Mild and Copper Dragon's Black Gold. Prices are good considering the location and the pub's 'olde worlde' appeal and light snacks are available.

On 5th August 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 370 recommendations about 355 pubs]

Page: 1 2 3