User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Reviewing milestone with Wittenden on the Pub Forum

Sutton Arms, Clerkenwell, EC1

16 Great Sutton Street
EC1
EC1V 0DH
Phone: 02072532462

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Quinno _ left this review about Sutton Arms

Another one overdue a revisit, popped-in during the perineum period between Xmas and New Years. No notable changes from 2015 that I could ascertain although I was half a dozen beers in. Unpretentious feel about the place. A couple of cask ales from Track on the go, my Cowboy Town had a fag-end of the cask feel to it but was fine (NBSS 3). Group decision to hit the Xmas beers hard followed as we were delighted to see St Bernadus Christmas Ale on keg and N’Ice Chouffe in the fridge. I’d recommend this one. 7.5

April 2015
Fairly straightforward corner pub, not to be confused with the other Sutton Arms on Carthusian Street. Ended up here due to the first choice of the Slaughtered Lamb being absolutely rammed so wasn’t expecting a huge amount. Fairly small and unprepossessing interior, though at least it felt a bit more homely than is the norm in these parts. Three ales on and a surprisingly decent choice, with Crate Golden and an Otley beer alongside the more bog-standard Pride. My Crate was in good form. Again, unlike nearby establishments, the food here is decently-priced pub grub (as outlined below). Solid down-to-earth boozer that makes an effort with its ale - I wouldn’t have an issue popping into here again. Rated 7

On 20th February 2024 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5239 recommendations about 5222 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Sutton Arms

One of two pubs of this name in the environs of Farringdon station - the other is near Barbican tube, less than half a mile away, and is owned by Fullers. This one is a free house with three hand pumps and a plethora of keg beers from many craft breweries, of which I identified three as being based in London when I was here last autumn. My half of Elusive brewery's Restless World was in very good condition, as indeed it should have been as it was advertised as their "beer of the week"! It was late afternoon when I was here, and neither busy nor very quiet. I quite liked it here - the background music was interesting and at a tolerable volume. For a more detailed description, I refer you to the review below.

Date of visit: 14th September 2022

On 14th April 2023 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3839 recommendations about 3562 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Sutton Arms

Within easy striking distance of Farringdon station, and yet down an inconspicuous side street that might otherwise never think to venture down, this is a cracking little boozer that has found its way into the Good Beer guide in recent years. The pub has a long, but narrow, ground floor room, carpeted throughout and with lincrusta covered walls beneath a low dado. Large windows down two sides of the building, mostly with modern etched glasswork bearing the pub’s name, allows plenty of light into one end of the room, whilst by contrast, the bar is in a dark, windowless part of the room, blocked in part by a staircase which may lead to a first floor overspill area, but appeared to be blocked off on this particular evening. The bar itself has a nice traditional counter with a matching bar back, whilst the walls have been decorated with various blackboards, including some large ones listing the beer range and food options (pies), as well as plenty of old photos and a fair number of certificates.
There were three cask ales available when I arrived - Kernel Pale Ale, Anspach & Hobday The Bitter and Burning Sky Plateau, with seven craft keg options rounding out a decent overall selection. A proper old school landlord was presiding over the bar team and he engaged in a bit of good-hearted banter when he handed over a well-kept drop of the Plateau (£4.80). There was a good sized crowd in, without the place feeling overcrowded, but they were making enough noise for twice as many people, making for a very raucous visit.
I really liked this one and was a little surprised that it doesn’t seem to get spoken of in the same terms as some of Central London’s better known backstreet ale houses. It’s definitely on my radar as a great option to dip into when I’m in the Farringdon area and I suspect I may warm to it further after repeat visits.

On 30th October 2022 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3150 recommendations about 3150 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blue Scrumpy left this review about Sutton Arms

Of all the new pubs we visited across London on Monday, this one had to be the best discovery. It's a corner pub with 2 or 3 (1 was locked) entrances located at the junction of a couple of back streets, just off the busy Clerkenwell Road.

The single room is small and basic, but the range of beers is much more impressive. 3 cask ales were listed on a blackboard, which gives plenty of details, including brewery, beer name, tasting notes, ABV and price. Whilst there was a dark beer listed that had just gone off, they still had Three Blind Mice Citra & Nelson Sauvin & Thornbridge Made North on cask. Craft beers were Verdant Neal Gets Things Done, Lost & Grounded Amplify Your Sound, Exale Krankie, Bohem Most, The Kernel Pale Ale & Siren Suspended in Mosaic. I really enjoyed my Three Blind Mice beer.

The barman was very knowledgeable and fridges contain an impressive bottle and can selection. An unsuspecting gem that could easily be combined with other local hostelries such as the Jerusalem Tavern and the Old Fountain.

On 4th February 2022 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2560 recommendations about 2559 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about Sutton Arms

Nice corner pub and very busy on a sunny Friday evening.Old style with carpets on the floor(unusual)but new style young customers.Three good beers on Pride.Darkstar -apa and Oakham-citra.If they keep beers on like this it will stay busy.

On 28th May 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1023 recommendations about 1009 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about Sutton Arms

Much as described below.

More of an old-school locals' boozer, somewhat at odds with the surrounding pubs.

Fuller's London Pride, Redemption's Pale Ale and Kent Brewery's Golden Pale Ale, £2.10 a half and pretty decent. However, there was loud football playing on two TVs which isn't my thing and I'm not a locals' pub person so doubt I'll return but I wish it well.

On 6th April 2016 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2032 recommendations about 1997 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Sutton Arms

Visited this pub a week or two before Quinno below but obviously forgot to review it. I found it to be pretty much as Quinno, even the beers were the same, I too went for the Crate beer and it was fine,nothing particularly outstanding about this pub but it does possess a slight unpretentious honest charm about it and I too would have no problem with calling in again.

On 5th May 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1919 recommendations about 1892 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Sutton Arms

This pub has all the appearances of an unpretentious backstreet pub, which is the last thing you would expect to find just a few off the busy Clerkenwell Road. The floor’s carpeted; there are a couple of tall tables/tall stools, with the majority of furnishings being standard tables and chairs. There are three TVs on the walls, with various chalkboards advertising Sky Sports HD; exhorting us to follow them on Twitter; daily food specials; function room upstairs, and so forth, plus a few old photos.

It's a Cask Marque pub, which had on Kent's Best, Timothy Taylor Landlord and London Pride. While the ales seemed to be a tad on the expensive side (a half of Landlord was £2.10) the food seemed quite reasonably priced by comparison. It's pub grub all the way here - toad in the hole (£7.50), sausage & mash (£6.50), and steak & ale pie plus veg (£7.50) are examples.

I wouldn't expect to much like the pub I've outlined above, but I did like this one for some reason. Although being at the top end of the pricing spectrum, the Timothy Taylor Landlord was in excellent condition (to be expected in a Cask Marque pub of course). There's nothing very special about this pub, but for me its simplicity is its main appeal. I reckon it's a good place to stop off for a quiet pint.

On 16th January 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2606 recommendations about 2520 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Sutton Arms

The Sutton Arms is a traditional corner pub sitting at the junction of Great Sutton Street and Berry Street which so far has missed being modernised into something bland and boring in the name of progress like a lot of other establishments in the near vicinity.
A welcoming red exterior with a hanging pub sign and hanging baskets in summer on both street faces, inside this is a proper pub, with a traditional proper pub feel.
If entering from the main front door at the road junction apex you enter into the tabled front section of the pub and the bar is tucked down the back on the right hand side with an area suitable for vertical drinking in front of the bar.
As well as the usual chrome Lagers there are three ale hand pumps on the bar and these were Adnams Bitter, TT Landlord and London pride. So perhaps not the most adventurous choice, but the Landlord was a very well kept pint well served by the friendly bar staff.
Quite busy for my early evening visit and a good mix of punters were in, seemingly having a good time. It’s a little bit off the beaten track and you get the feeling that it is off radar for a lot of the local workers and is utilised mainly by those in the know. Well, that includes me now and I’ll certainly be utilising it again the next time I find myself in this largely dead zone between Old Street and Clerkenwell.

On 27th November 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2171 recommendations about 2043 pubs]