User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pubs Galore Autumn 2022 Midlands Pub Crawl. with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

The Holy Tavern, EC1

55 Britton Street
EC1
EC1M 5UQ

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2 3

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Tris C left this review about The Holy Tavern

Ditto.

On 5th July 2022 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1532 recommendations about 1510 pubs]


Moby Duck left this review about The Holy Tavern

Externally and Internally the pub remains very much as it was, down to three St Peters beers but more craft keg options.

On 3rd April 2022 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1586 recommendations about 1567 pubs]


Quinno _ left this review about The Jerusalem Tavern

And now it has gone. St Peter's have walked and apparently it's going to become sort of gin and cocktail bar. BRILLIANT.

April 2015
Numerous revisits always find five St Peters on stillage (or is it top pressure…?), that often include a seasonal or special. Quality always good. Last visit, some Chilli and Garlic pitta chips plus my half came in at £2.80, not bad for EC1. Good service from the bar and there’s now free WiFi. Upped my mark to 9 as I always enjoy it here. Rated 9

November 2011
Such a fantastic range (both bottled and stillaged) of St Peters ales that it's difficult to know where to start or end. Darks, Milds, Bitters, Fruit...it's all here. The charming but cramped dark green painted wood and tiled interior isn't as ‘olde worlde’ as it's made out to be – apparently it was erected during Britpop and it’s showing its age a bit, some basic maintenance is needed in places where paint has been scraped off the walls and tables are creaking. Service is usually friendly and efficient and prices are sensible. Food is available - there were quail scotch eggs for £1.30 a go during my last visit. It gets ludicrously packed on Thursday and Friday evenings just after work and most drinkers spill out into the street. I've yet to have any beer that doesn't pass muster in my half-a-dozen or so visits. Well-worth a stop for some unusual beer on a weekday afternoon (it doesn't open on weekends). An excellent choice, even if the cramped interior leaves a bit to be desired. Rated 8

On 23rd February 2022 - rating: 9
[User has posted 4423 recommendations about 4408 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blue Scrumpy left this review about The Jerusalem Tavern

This was another pub that I hadn't visit in a long time (12 years). But I found myself back here yesterday. It was another City pub that takes on a different atmosphere during quieter afternoon periods, as opposed to busier evenings.

The friendly landlord was able to pass the time of day with us and discuss the beers he had on offer. It also enabled us to grab a table inside and to sit back and appreciate the basic, but cosy surroundings.

3 St Peter's beers were available on cask - Best Bitter, Gold Dust & Citrus Beer. I had the latter, which has a really nice grapefruit taste. It was my favourite drink of the day until this point. Darker options were available amongst a larger keg selection.

A nice pub in a quiet backstreet that I shouldn't leave another 12 years before re-visiting.

On 29th June 2021 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1376 recommendations about 1376 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Jerusalem Tavern

Nice authentic looking ale house that's a modern interpretation, even if the building itself is ancient.

Good beer Guide 2020 entry and here's the rub - easily the worst pint of a 6 pub crawl.

Its the only London outlet for St Peter's brewery. I'm assuming this was a one off, but I won't be rushing back.

On 1st March 2020 - rating: 3
[User has posted 989 recommendations about 981 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Jerusalem Tavern

Tucked away on a side street. Quite a small dark basic interior serving 6 real ales and food. Art on the walls for sale.

On 26th October 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2834 recommendations about 2775 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Jerusalem Tavern

ORIGINAL REVIEW August 2015
A very clever recreation of an ale house,the interior is small but has discrete areas ,with seats in both bay windows,a small rear room and a one table garret up some creaking steps opposite the bar.It gets very busy after work on a Friday but in good weather punters spill out onto the pavement and by 7pm with the throng dying down it is usually possible to nab a table inside.The service is always very friendly and efficient and copes well at busy times although if you are drinking outside you will receive a plastic mug.
There are six wall mounted taps using air pressure to dispense St Peters real ale which on my visit meant Honey Porter,Cream Stout,Fruit (grapefruit),Red Ruby ,Organic Bitter and Organic Best Bitter.If an ale runs out ,it will be replaced by something different from their range while there is always a huge choice of their bottled beers and some very decent single malts.All ales are served southern style,and everything the crew sampled was fresh and interesting.
In the evening there is a short menu of bar snacks at £6 each , the perfect accompanyment to an ale session.Ale pricing around £3.60 also seemed good value for the area.
This place has a real pubby atmosphere,it's aimed at quaffers and I always have a good time here.It deserves it's 2016 GBG listing and really should not be missed when in the area,but beware of the weekend closure.

UPDATE
A revisit was a major disappointment in terms of ale quality.The selection was from the low ABV brews with nothing above 4.5 % .The condition of my Orange Blaze and Golden was suspect and both were cloudy.In desperation we turned to the bottled versions of beers that were once regularly on tap ,but the Grapefruit (normally a solid session beer) tasted of very little with only faint grapefruit at the finish.This was the Friday evening session before a bank holiday weekend closure but the pub was suspiciously quiet and maybe the word of poor beer has got around.However pleasing an interior,it's off the list for a revisit on this form.

On 28th August 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2384 recommendations about 2384 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Jerusalem Tavern

This is indeed a very clever conceit: an early 18th century building converted into a pub in 1996! I came here once about 7 years ago so we decided it was time for another visit and I don't think that anything has changed. Absolutely packed on our midweek visit, so much so that the crowd was not just spilling out onto the pavement, but also the pavement opposite.

We decided that due to the throng we would opt for halves and not stay long. I was the only person at the bar yet despite this, the barman had more interest in chatting to some women. Eventually he realised that there was life outside his bubble and offered me a moment of his precious time. He placed the glass on the bar in front of me and looked at me blankly for about 20 seconds. I finally asked him if he could actually tell me how much it cost so that I could pay and he informed me that it was £1.75 a half, which is very good value for the area indeed. However, the gormless idiot couldn't be bothered to give me my change so my two £1 coins disappeared into the till: I couldn't be bothered to complain.

This is a nice pub and the beer was excellent, but it's best visited early in the week or during the day and ideally once Forest Gump has moved on. Closed at weekends.

On 15th April 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1532 recommendations about 1510 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Jerusalem Tavern

Quite impressive olde worlde tavern until you realise it is only 20 years old then it just a dull themed pub selling St peters beers.lovely pint of Christmas ale 7.0

On 16th January 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 965 recommendations about 951 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Jerusalem Tavern

We went for the St Peters Best and Golden ales and I have to say, the quality was just as good as visiting their brewery near Bungay in Suffolk. The pub was moderately busy on our visit, which was good as this is a small pub. The interior was a tad knocked about, which adds an old English Inn feel to the place. Nice to to see a group of Italians downing the ale on our visit. Defo a must for any crawl, recommend early doors though.

On 9th January 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3126 recommendations about 3126 pubs]

Page: 1 2 3