User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How much? with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Holy Tavern, EC1

55 Britton Street
EC1
EC1M 5UQ

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2 3

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Jerusalem Tavern

A consistently pleasing pub with a range of beers available you can't find anywhere around this neck of the woods,The St Peters ales cover most angles and make for an interesting drink.I settled for the St Peters Organic Ale on our brief visit, and it didn't disappoint ,Always worth a visit but beware,not open weekends like many of the fine pubs in this area.

On 16th August 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1559 recommendations about 1540 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Jerusalem Tavern

One of my favourites in this part of Town and had to pop in again when in the area the other evening, although the busy after work period is not the best time to visit this small pub.
Well described by other reviewers so won’t repeat what’s gone before. Also the St Peters brewery is not one of my favourites and I’ve had a few not so good pints come out of the casks in the wall behind the bar over the years. But the excellent Dark Mild is usually reliably good , as it was again on this occasion.
But, even forgetting the beer, this is a pub you should visit if you haven’t before.

On 27th November 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1816 recommendations about 1754 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


BobOs . left this review about The Jerusalem Tavern

The Jerusalem Tavern is like stepping back in time. We visited yesterday lunchtime and it was an oasis of tranquility in an otherwise hectic London. The small interior is split into various drinking rooms and at different levels; it is atmospherically dingy and maintains a feeling of antiquity in its wooden furniture that many would have condemned to the skip years ago. The Jerusalem is tied to the St Peter's Brewery of Bungay, Suffolk and has seven ales on stillage and a sixteen in bottles - alas, on our crawl we only had time for one pint and the porter was fantastic and very well priced. The welcome was warm, the ale well-kept and very reasonably priced. All in all a fantastic experience of a pub and well worth seeking out. 2009 Town Pub of the Year.

On 5th August 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 370 recommendations about 355 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Chris 87 left this review about The Jerusalem Tavern

An intriguing and very enjoyable pub tucked away amongst the quiet Clerkenwell terraces. As mentioned, it is the only tied pub in London (possibly anywhere?) to the St Peters brewery in Suffolk. Its also pretty tiny and unashamedly old fashioned in its interior. I can understand why it is so popular - because the beer is excellent - my pint of Ruby Red was exceptional and I also treated myself to some 'real' Black Country Pork Scratchings which were also delicious. I'd arrived just after lunchtime where clearly a few people had been eating the more substantial meals on offer as well. A GBG regular and no surprise - an essential one to seek out if on a crawl in the area, or indeed any other time between Monday and Friday.

On 5th April 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 179 recommendations about 179 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Jerusalem Tavern

St Peters owned ale house in central london. Very small and old, and has excellent character. There is more space at the back, though its all limited, dark green walls & has a nice feel of a back street boozer.

Full St Peters range, served from taps on 'casks' at the back of the bar.

Good beer, lovely pub

On 26th September 2010 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1347 recommendations about 1324 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Jerusalem Tavern

The exterior of this pub boasts the year 1720, but in fact this particular Jerusalem Tavern has only been a pub since 1996. But the name has been around this part of the world for hundreds of years. There was a Jerusalem Tavern near the Knights Hospitaliers priory gates, the remains of which are just around the corner, as far back as the 14th Century, and later versions were around until the 19th Century.
Anyway, the current pub is a pretty basic and cramped affair. Seating is at a premium, although there are a handful of tables, chairs and benches scattered around the place. And standing room isn’t much better; three people propping up the bar would make it tricky for anyone else to get served. The walls are painted a dark charcoal colour, and there is little in the way of decor, although for some reason there is a stuffed animal (the genus of which eluded me) in a glass case on one of the walls at the back. I don’t normally like these sort of visually dull and minimalist places, but this one is sufficiently different in an intimate sort of way, and possibly unique, from the run of the mill to warrant a visit. The availability of St Peter’s Brewery ales is a definite plus of course.

On 26th August 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2599 recommendations about 2513 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Jerusalem Tavern

A nice, if somewhat small, old fashioned pub, tucked away in the back streets of the city, but well worth seeking out for the excellent range of beers from the St Peters Brewery, including at least five on draught behind the bar with the rest of the range available in bottles. I tried the Extra Gold (£3.10) which was very good and went down well in the hot sun as I sat out on one of the two benches fixed to the front of the building.
Space is at a bit of a premium inside, with tables set in any little nook available. It was pretty dark and gloomy inside when I visited and I suspect that the pub isn't best appreciated on one of the warmest days of the year, but I could see that it had a lot of character and appeal.
This isn't the easiest pub to just stumble across given its obscure location, which means that it tends to be frequented mostly by those that have made the effort to seek it out. I'm glad I made the effort myself.

On 14th June 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2795 recommendations about 2795 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Clive Thompson left this review about The Jerusalem Tavern

A little difficult to find but well worth the effort. Definitely a pub for standing outside, mainly because there is only really enough room inside for those waiting at the bar. Wonderful old building, a bit like walking into someone's front parlour. Friendly service and of course they serve the full range of St Peters beers both bottled and on draught.

On 19th February 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 776 recommendations about 697 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Jerusalem Tavern

It's only problem is size, which is a large part of its charm. If you don't want the atmosphere of a Victorian beer house, go somewhere posh. If you want to enjoy some fantastic beers in an authentic setting (and don't mind a bit of a squeeze!), this is the place to go.

On 21st November 2008 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2605 recommendations about 2549 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Horton left this review about The Jerusalem Tavern

My companion and I were really disappointed with this place. The beer was appalling. Yes, it's like stepping back a hundred years, unfortunately I think that was the age of the beer too. The furnishing was old, dirty and ricketty - probably supplied by Fagin. The surroundings drab and the staff & customers miserable. If I could give the place a minus score I would. This was without a doubt the worst pub we visited on our long weekend in the capital. The only person I would recommend this place to would be a person I didn't like!

On 11th July 2008 - rating: 2
[User has posted 148 recommendations about 148 pubs]

Page: 1 2 3