User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with london calling on the Pub Forum

The Lord Nelson, Poole

The Quay
Poole
BH15 1HJ
Phone: 01202776226

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Lord Nelson

Not a bad pub but an obvious tourist trap by means of location. Hall & Woodhouse , so nothing to get the pulse racing, Tanglefoot, Badger Best and Old Harrys Sail Pale. There was Live music on a Sunday afternoon, if that was too loud there is a small courtyard garden too the rear. The beer was served in poly carbonate glassware, not so good.

On 14th June 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1354 recommendations about 1340 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Lord Nelson

A characterful Hall & Woodhouse outlet on the quayside. The interior wraps round a central bar. Flagstone floor, duelling pistols above the bar, wood burning stove, comfy banquettes, inevitable maritime paraphernalia. Seems big on live music and there’s a pool table and darts to the rear. Plenty of seating out front for a nice prom view on a sunny day. Three Badger beers on and an interesting selection of First Call, Twilight Tawny (drank well) and Tanglefoot as well as Westons Rosie's Pig. As it’s an H&W place expect to be stung for prices. Sarcy but ostensibly friendly ROCK barman. I rather liked it in here, shame it was so quiet - seems more of an evening/weekend pub.

On 26th November 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 4042 recommendations about 4030 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Lord Nelson

A fine Georgian sea-front pub on a busy promenade location. There is a seating area at the front with a limited view of the boats in the Town Quay, from which you enter a single long, L-shaped bar. The staff were quite pleasant, even though it was busy. Apparently there is often karaoke, but we were spared that torment during this visit. The food looked a bit ordinary but was fine for a convenient snack. The majority of the customers were mature motor cyclists, the atmosphere was convivial and the beer was decent – two ales on, both Hall and Woodhouse. My First Call was a good pint, although not the best I've had. Worth including on a crawl or stopping for refreshments while visiting the Quay.

On 29th September 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2600 recommendations about 2573 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Lord Nelson

The first or last proper pub along Poole Quay depending upon your direction, this is an L-shaped room with flagged floors, a log burner in the front, the usual nautical paraphernalia and muskets and regimental badges over the bar gantry as well as old beer adverts. Over a beam is the phrase " The liver is evil and must be punished". It is a pub that differs throughout the day and possibly the week, during the day it is a good spot for a few drinks in the sun outside overlooking the quay but at night live music blares out and the clientele changes to a younger crowd.
The rear area is carpeted and is games orientated, pool, darts and bar football. There is a TV here as well as in a corner in the bar. Food served, my excellent crab sandwich on thick sliced bread was £5.95.
Hall & Woodhouse beers, Billy Stinger (nettle beer), Tanglefoot, Badger plus two Weston's ciders, Old Rosie and Rosie's Pig. Being a hot day and finding H&W beers drab I stuck with the cider and enjoyed a pleasant hour or so reading my book outside.
A nice afternoon pub, the barmaid was friendly and a bit crackers, she made me laugh, choose your time, sunny spot during the day or rockin' at night. Enjoy either way.

On 30th June 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about The Lord Nelson

One of many pubs along The Quay, this is perhaps a bit more of a traditional boozer than some of it’s neighbours but naturally makes the most of the views with plenty of outside seating.

Inside it’s an L-shape bar with a somewhat run down feel, and like many of the nearby hostelries it has a vaguely nautical theme with dark blue and cream paintwork and various parts of ships on display such as an instrument cluster and a anchor chain reel. The flooring is mostly old flagstones with some carpet around the perimeter, and there is a small stage area in the corner. It would appear that live music is on most nights, and the Sunday evening we were there it was a 60’s Rock’n’Roll band, who probably weren’t too bad but were evidently trying to play at a somewhat higher volume than their PA equipment allows, with the resultant music being rather distorted.

A free standing wood burning stove stood at the front of the pub surrounded by piles of logs and a railing. Off to one side was an old space invaders game, and a plasma was on a wall to the left. Around the corner at the rear there was a pool table, table football game and a darts board. Unusually besides the usual condom machine in the gents, there was also one dispensing vibrators – just £5 including batteries, but I didn’t try one myself.

Beers on tap were all from the Hall & Woodhouse stable with their Badger, Tanglefoot and Hopping Hare. Ciders were Stowford Press and Weston’s Traditional Scrumpy.

On 31st July 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1749 recommendations about 1684 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Lord Nelson

I was in the vicinity of the Lord Nelson on a recent sunny Friday afternoon so I decided to pop in for a quick livener. The picnic tables out the front were full of tourists, like me, but I did manage to deposit my family on the end of a table so that I could get the drinks in and have a wander around the interior. I found an L shaped bar with a stage to the left of the entrance where the many advertised bands set up for the regular live music nights. There is some more seating at the rear and an area at the back houses a pool table, dartboard, table football and a plasma screen. There is another plasma screen at the front of the pub and both of these were showing muted Olympic coverage whilst the jukebox played some low background music. There is some more outside seating in a small beer yard, but I got the feeling that this is more of a smoking area.
The bar is stocked with standard draught and two of the hand pumps were unused leaving Tanglefoot and Badger Beer as the cask ale options. Food is served from midday until 19:00 (15:00 on Sundays) and the menu seemed to consist of standard pub fayre.

This pub is in a decent location and served its purpose well, but I did find the service of both bar keeps to be sullen. Looking at the pubs website I’ve gleaned that this is a biker’s pub so maybe the staff have gone for the moody Hell’s Angels demeanour to make the pub more authentic.

If I find myself in Poole again I will search out a more welcoming hostelry.

On 2nd September 2012 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Lord Nelson

I should start by allaying the fears of the previous reviewer - the Lord Nelson is still very much in existence and was doing a fine trade on my recent summer weekend visit. It is actually the old Poole Pottery site a little further along the Quay that has been redeveloped and thankfully no pubs were affected.
The Nelson is typical of most of Poole Quay's pubs in that it seems to have to rely heavily on the tourist trade, but a healthy live music policy means that it has a few more local regulars than some of its neighbours. The pub is U-shaped with a dark wood interior, bench seating and flagstone floor at the front opposite the bar counter. There is a small stage to the left of the entrance which was being used by a loud rock band when we popped in on a Saturday evening, but solace could be found around the corner where there is additional seating. The other rear corner of the pub also houses a pool table and I think I saw table football back there as well. Most customers were making use of the ample Quayside seating out the front, but many customers will be unaware that the pub provides outdoor seating to the rear as well, for anyone who fancies a drink outside without the benefit of a nice view.
It's a Hall and Woodhouse pub, so Badger beers took up all of the hand pumps. The selection on our visit was Tanglefoot, Badger Best and the seasonal Firkin Fox. I tried a pint of the latter which was in reasonable condition although not really to my taste. The staff seemed well trained in dealing with the inevitable crowds, although they were a bit surly.
Poole Quay's pubs are all much of a muchness, but the Nelson stands out thanks to its live music and prime outdoor seating. You could certainly do a lot worse.

On 5th August 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2545 recommendations about 2545 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The Lord Nelson

Not sure if it's still there as I heard that the area on the quay was knocked down and redeveloped. Good view of the boats coming in & out.

On 8th October 2006 - rating: 6
[User has posted 753 recommendations about 716 pubs]