User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 7th August 2022) with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

Hopwoods Tap House, Preston

Pub added by aleand hearty
149 Church Street
Preston
PR1 3BU

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Quinno _ left this review about Hopwoods Tap House

Newly-opened quasi-Brewdog bar (the exterior really does look like one, maybe they’re trying to pre-empt the Scottish plonkers’ arrival in PR1?) including the prices - £5.50 a pint or three quid a half of cask! God knows how much they were trying to flog the keg for but I’ve never paid this amount for the real stuff down south. To be fair I was well-warned in advance and only did it as a strange act of self-flagellation, a fool and their money I suppose. Décor is of the ‘seen it all before’ craft hipster variety; industrial, high stools and tables though at least seemingly well-done for the style, clean rather than grubby. Three ales, I went for the Loweswater by Cumbria brewery which was at least in good nick (NBSS 3) if not exactly a quality brew. Given the lower prices and more down-to-earthiness nearby, I can’t see myself re-appearing. 5.5

On 19th May 2022 - rating: 5
[User has posted 4422 recommendations about 4408 pubs]


Moby Duck left this review about Hopwoods Tap House

A craft bar that is best described as an experiment in pricing as mentioned below. I didn't mind the bar itself and there is definitely a market for this kind of operation, however this is Preston and not London so I wonder if the experiment will prevail.

On 15th May 2022 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1582 recommendations about 1563 pubs]


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Hopwoods Tap House

New, modern craft beer bar with an elongated interior with the bar counter in the centre on the right. Notable for three things: 28 craft keg taps, the prices (including 3.5% Hawkshead Pale at £3.00 for a half from one of the four handpumps) and the illuminated display board with no prices (and no wonder!).

On 4th May 2022 - rating: 6
[User has posted 7108 recommendations about 7108 pubs]


ROB Camra left this review about Hopwoods Tap House

Well described below by my esteemed colleagues on the crawl. I too went for the extortionately priced Loweswater Gold, although it was a decent pint, the price is stupid for around here.

On 4th May 2022 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3025 recommendations about 2940 pubs]


Steve C left this review about Hopwoods Tap House

Hopwoods Tap House is a thin modern bar with a bar counter along the mid-right wall that supports four handpumps. During an early afternoon visit on a recent Friday these were drawing Bear Town Crème Bearlee, Cumbrian Ales Loweswater Gold, Hawkeshead Pale and Lilley’s Mango Cider. The back bar is lined with many fonts for premium and craft keg, all of which are listed on a large board mounted on the wall to the right of the bar.
There are high tables and stools along the walls either side of the entrance. Up the left wall, opposite the bar, are more high tables and at the rear are some converted barrel tables that are wrapped around by high banquette seating. Televisions are located throughout for airing live sport and live music is hosted here every Friday and Saturday night.
After paying £3 for a pint of cask in a bar around the corner I was a bit shocked to be charged £5.50 for a lower abv pint in here. I was even more surprised when my of my group was charged £3 for a half, literally double the price. When I walked by later in the evening there were bouncers on the door and a young trendy crowd was in attendance. I concluded that I’m not this bar’s target demographic.

On 2nd May 2022 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3948 recommendations about 3925 pubs]


Steve of N21 left this review about Hopwoods Tap House

The new kids on the block as far as the Ale drinking scene in Preston is concerned and usually that is something that should be applauded, especially when it’s a conversion of a former shop premises into something resembling a pub.
And actually this is a good conversion providing a comfortable bar with a good range of both cask ales and craft keg options. The only issue with this one was that the pricing levels would make your eyes water in EC1, let alone PR1.
Perhaps that have been listening to the argument that cask ales should be at a higher price point and have decided to put it to the test. I suppose time will tell if they are right. One thing if for certain, they won’t be attracting anyone from the Wetherspoons across the road, but then again perhaps that is the idea.

On 28th April 2022 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1836 recommendations about 1773 pubs]


Graham Coombs left this review about Hopwoods Tap House

Modern bar with 4 handpumps and a wall of craft and overseas keg taps - as described by others (including the prices). I also went with the overpriced Loweswater Gold.

On 27th April 2022 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2659 recommendations about 2602 pubs]


Real Ale Ray left this review about Hopwoods Tap House

The price of cask ale on handpump in here was ridiculous! It's a pity really, as I thought the place was ok. I went for the Cumbrian Ales Loweswater Gold 3.5% which was £5.50 a pint or £3 a half. My beer was superb but their pricing left a bitter taste paying for it.

On 25th April 2022 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3114 recommendations about 3114 pubs]


Tris C left this review about Hopwoods Tap House

This was until recently a fried chicken outlet, before that a Subway. As mentioned, the interior is rather industrial and hipster. My half of Beartown's Créme Bearlee (the accent's wrong and should be a grave rather than acute (è), rendering the pronunciation here as Craym) came in at £3.00 but as others have - and will - mention, a 3.5% beer also came in at £3.00 a half, prompting one of our number to ask of a barman 'Does it contain flakes of gold?'. A recent and extensive crawl of Mayfair delivered up cask halves between £2.30 and £2.80; expensive, but not the rip-off this place is. There are far better and far less expensive places in Preston.

On 24th April 2022 - rating: 3
[User has posted 1532 recommendations about 1510 pubs]


Bucking Fastard left this review about Hopwoods Tap House

A new venture,shop conversion running a long way back from a modest sized entrance.It's all quite hip with an industrial grey concrete flooring,some high tables near the bar,a series of seating booths to the rear and the beer selection advertised on a cinema style board.Lots of flatscreen around,thankfully mute on a Friday lunchtime visit.
The keg selection was vast,some nationwide brands,a few continental lagers and some craft beer options.Four handpumps were operating serving a Lilley's cider,Hawkshead Pale,Cumbrian Ales Loweswater Gold and Beartown Creme Bearlee (NBSS 4).
What shocked the crawlers on this visit was the ale pricing,at £3 the half especially the Hawkeshead Pale at 3.5%.Even a local who was waiting for a bus was moaning about London style pricing.
This venture may regret it's image as an expensive place to drink,there is a lot of decent competition not far way.

On 23rd April 2022 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2383 recommendations about 2383 pubs]

Page: 1 2