User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Colmore, Birmingham

Pub added by Delboy 20
114-116 Colmore Row
Birmingham
B3 3BD

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Brainy Pool left this review about The Colmore

grand bank conversion into a gin palace pub, friendly enough staff but at first I thought it was a little formal. Eventually I did warm to it. Thankfully it did seem to be free of any rowdy groups, only limited food is served and there was a good range of comfortable seating. A bit too plush and detached to ever be considered ‘a favourite’ but I think I would return as the beer and ambience were good. Six Thornbridge beers plus the ever magnificent Titanic Plum Porter.

On 6th February 2022 - rating: 7
[User has posted 895 recommendations about 868 pubs]


Steve of N21 left this review about The Colmore

I do like conversions of former bank premises into pubs and the Colemore can be added to the list of particularly good ones. Well described below It was reassuringly busy and lively for our late Friday afternoon visit and I fully intended on entering to have a pint of the Thornbridge Jaipur until I noticed that there was Titanic Plum Porter on as a guest. Well I guess Thornbridge can make do without my four quid, although I did buy some crisps to compensate.

On 23rd November 2021 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1807 recommendations about 1745 pubs]


Tris C left this review about The Colmore

I can't add much to that below.
I had a half of the Thornbridge Made North, as mentioned, perhaps a bit cold, as I suspect others will mention.

On 19th October 2021 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1502 recommendations about 1481 pubs]


Graham Coombs left this review about The Colmore

As described previously, an upmarket conversion of an old bank with lots of polished wood and leather. The glass-partitioned back room ought to make a pleasant escape from the bustling main area but on this visit was sadly dominated by loud music from the pool room in the basement below. As noted a good selection of beers from Thornbridge with a couple of guests, perhaps a little cold but still very tempting.

On 17th October 2021 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2570 recommendations about 2515 pubs]


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Colmore

Thornbridge have converted this former bank into a very fine ale house.The interior is larger than it seems possible from the outside,with the bar to the immediated right and then modern wood panelling down both sides,including a side room with a large glazed partition before a square rear lounge with a bench seat runnimg it's full width.The modern vibe brings in a lot of drinkers, many young ,and it can feel noisy and hectic at busy times.
The star of the show is the ale line up from the 8 handpumps with on my trip Thornbridge Crackendale (NBSS 4),Jaipur IPA (NBSS 3.5),Brother RabbitAshford,Lord Marples and Made North with guests Tapped Mojo and Titanic Plum Porter.Great line up ,and for me a must visit when in the city centre.Next trip will be a real session rather than this crawl dash.

On 16th October 2021 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2309 recommendations about 2309 pubs]


Ian Mapp left this review about The Colmore

New pub that somehow, Thornbridge have managed to make feel quite authentic - like a posh hotel bar.

The beers, are of course, amazing. If you are going to have Jaipur - it might as well be here.

Friendly staff. Laid back, yet opulent feel to the place.

On 15th August 2021 - rating: 8
[User has posted 934 recommendations about 926 pubs]


Blue Scrumpy left this review about The Colmore

The Colmore is another fairly recent addition to the Birmingham city centre drinking scene. It is located in a former bank and as previously stated is slightly more upmarket than some other local establishments and similar to the Old Joint Stock around the corner. A bouncer was on the door.

Being run by Thornbridge, it mainly features their beers from both cask and keg. Real ales were Thornbridge Jaipur, Lord Marples, Astryd, Bother Rabbit & Crackendale & Bristol Beer Factory Milk Stout. Amongst the keg beers was an extremely drinkable coffee stout called Fika. This was easily my favourite beer of the day.

Staff seemed friendly and were clearly knowledgeable on their beers. Another great addition to Birmingham city centre.

On 24th May 2021 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1258 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about The Colmore

Visited earlier this week. 8 hand pulls at the bar with several Thornbridge beers available plus some guests. I went for a half of Strickland which was a Thornbridge collaboration with Adnams, a nice stout but a bit on the expensive side at £2.50 for a half.

It's a fancy upmarket looking place, nice décor, modern, but as I say a bit on the expensive side. There is banquette seating, marble topped tables, chandeliers, and different sections split by wood with glass panels.

Toilets are downstairs, as is a small room with a pool table.

It would have been an 8/10 for me if it hadn't been for the pricing, so I'm giving this place a solid 7/10.

On 21st March 2020 - rating: 7
[User has posted 676 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Colmore

A very good addition to Birmingham. A pleasant interior and an excellent variety of real ales. The 8 handpulls had mostly Thornbridge beers though 2 were guests (Brew York and Arbor on this visit). 5 or 6 taps on the back wall for crafty fizzlepops too. A good pub.

On 8th February 2020 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3445 recommendations about 3353 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Colmore

I had been looking forward to my first visit and the Colmore lived up to my expectations. An excellent bank conversion well described below. A great selection of Thornbridge beers plus a couple of guests from Titanic and Tiny Rebel. The Jaipur and Brother Rabbit were excellent. I will be calling in again. A great addition to the city centre.

On 30th January 2020 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1315 recommendations about 1243 pubs]

Page: 1 2