User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Covid Rules Stuff with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

Pint Shop, Birmingham

Pub added by Delboy 20
38 Bennetts Hill
Birmingham
B3 2AA

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Will Larter left this review about Pint Shop

Next door to but completely different from the Wellington, as there is an obvious emphasis on keg beers here: over 20 lines available. The six hand pumps had a variety of styles when I was here: Timothy Taylor Landlord, Maggs Mild, Adnams Old and three modern pale ales. There were a few people here at Saturday lunchtime, some watching the football on TV, though not as many as at the Wellington. There are three separate rooms and a drinking area in front of the bar, all nicely done up with a mix of repurposed timber and bare brick walls. On the whole I prefer the Wellington for its larger range of well-kept real ales, though it has an issue with over-crowding, and the Joint Stock for its classy architecture, though the beer is over-priced. This one could grow on me, I suppose.

Date of visit: 26th October 2019

On 18th February 2020 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2641 recommendations about 2490 pubs]


Ian Mapp left this review about Pint Shop

Good Beer Guide 2020 New Entry - which is one of the easier predictions to have made.

Old Town house, with a smart interior make over. A huge blackboard details the 6ish Cask and 20 Kegs - including descriptions - so spent some time deliberating what to have.

Both pints were pefect (Shiny Brewing 4 Wood and Roosters Capability Brown).

Food is good.

Slightly expensive - with Camden Hells an eye watering £6.50.

But you knew I was going to say that.

On 7th October 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 669 recommendations about 663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Pint Shop

ORIGINAL REVIEW April 2019.

A revelation.You enter with the bar running down the left side and dominated by the 20 keg serving gantry.However just beyond are 6 handpumps offering nirvana.The pumps just have handwritten ale names but the sight of Marble Dobber 6.6% was a no brainer.The other choices were from some leading brewers.
There is a modest amount of seating around the bar,with a calm back area with some high tables and narrow tables with bench seating.On the first floor is a kitchen and dining area,which was packed.It's an old building with a fine staircase leading the the higher floors and is right next to the Welly.
I can remember when the Pint Shop in Cambridge had this kind of ale line up,but sadly that star faded.Let's hope the team here can maintain their focus on the very best real ale,if so this is an unmissable treat when searching for tip top ale in Central Birmingham.

UPDATE

Sadly as I suspected above ,the previous nirvana range of real ale was aimed at helping the operation get a foothold in the local drinking scene.A revisit found a less adventurous selection on handpump and nothing much over 4.6%.Minus one mark,but there is still some interesting gear on keg such as Buxton Axe Edge and Tiny Rebel Amplified Double Imperial Stay Puft Marshmellow Porter.Still worth including on any beer tour of Birmingham however.

On 1st September 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2068 recommendations about 2068 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Pint Shop

This place is right next door to The Wellington. Its a single room with a vast array of taps for crafty nonsense (21) and 7 handpulls for proper stuff. There is a dining area on the floor above. The toilets are at the top of The Matterhorn so it will be quicker and easier to go next door.

On 10th August 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3388 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Pint Shop

Next door to the nationally famous Welly, which is quite a statement of intent for new bar! Anyway, this is a fairly unfussy (verging on the spartan) long narrow place with a black and orange colour scheme and a couple of discrete drinking areas off right. Six pumps and all on during my visit with an eclectic selection from Adnams (x2), Ilkley, Wiper & True, Black Iris and Nene Valley. A half of the latter's Simple Pleasures was rather good (NBSS 3.5). The craft keg is king here, with 21 lines available sporting 19 beers from around the UK and 2 ciders in addition. A criticism there was that the styles didn't vary much out of the pale/lager area (no sours and only one dark?). But a pretty good all-rounder and a no-brainer to put on the crawl list.

On 21st July 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about Pint Shop

For me The Pint Shop has taken over the Craven Arms mantle as the first, and likely last, Birmingham stop.
It's been well reviewed so I'll leave that and focus on beer.
Our visit found a cask offer of: Marble Dobber, Fullers Hophead, Nene Valley Australian Pale, Howling Hops Strong Pale and Moor Browner Shade of Pale. Some reputable breweries there and the inclusion of Marble puts The Pint Shop into the Premiership for this reviewer.
In addition to that there are 21 keg taps featuring breweries such as Camden, Marble, Moor and Siren Craft.
A place to spend the day in.

On 11th June 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Pint Shop

(Mostly) craft beer bar, with several smallish ground-floor seating areas but there is also a first-floor dining room too. Modern furniture and rather sparsely furnished, so it has a slightly spartan feel. However, with 21 craft keg lines and six handpumps (all anonymous, so you need to review the chalkboard first) you certainly can't fault the beer choice. My pint of the cask Wylam Cascade was expensive (£4.50) but in tip-top condition.

On 2nd March 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6109 recommendations about 6109 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about Pint Shop

I visited the Pint Shop earlier in the week at lunchtime, and for what appears to be quite a new venue it definitely seemed to be well established to me. The scaffolding is still out the front which may deter the passer by but I had planned a visit here so was looking out for the place and had no problem identifying it from the street.

There are six cask ales and a massive 21 keg beers to choose from. Bar snacks are available - expensive yet tempting (pork and fennel egg £5 for example). I had a Soma by Pentrich on cask, at £3.80 a pint (£1.90 a half) which is pretty reasonable. As others have noted, all the pumps and taps are unlabelled so you have to go off the chalk board, but this is huge and right next to the bar so difficult to miss. Fairly busy on my weekday lunchtime visit.

There are different seating sections on the ground floor including a front room with another copy of the beer menu chalk board over the fireplace to allow you to consider your next drink before you go back to the bar. There is a dining room to the first floor and the toilets are up on the second floor - which I seem to recall is similar to the Cambridge venue. The wooden stairs are well worn / distressed and painted black.

No complaints and I'd be happy to return.

On 28th February 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 534 recommendations about 479 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Pint Shop

We wouldn't have known about this new venture, only that one of the regulars in the Post Office Vaults tipped us off. We were on our way to the Welly anyway so decided to give it a go. They had six cask ales along the bar, but surprisingly no pump clips. So a member of staff advised us to look at the blackboards first. I went for the Wild Weather Brewery, which was an unfined Mosiac Pale Ale, which was a decent pint of beer, but slightly elevated prices in here as you will pay £4.50 for cask, which is a big jump compared to the Welly next door. Another good beer was from Waen Brewery, which was another decent pale. We sat in the libray room at the front and studied the large wall mounted beer board with a choice of 21 keg beers and six cask.
The interior in here was dark painted walls and subdued lighting of an evening, which did give a Dickensian atmosphere. Interesting choice of beers, so yes I would call again.

On 16th January 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Pint Shop

Nice conversion adding to Bennetts Hill pub/restaurant scene.

opened out but with separate areas on the ground floor, there is a small library room at the front, the main bar area further back and a small outdoor yard where you can look up to the adjoining Wellington and Joint Stock outdoor areas - quite interesting.

There is an eating area on the first floor and the toilets on the second, where you can be seen doing the biz.

6 real ale pumps and 23 keg/craft pumps, with a lot of local choice on keg. Good all rounder and a bit different to the other choices in the city centre.

On 21st October 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]

Page: 1 2