User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Those two new Tier 2 rules explained! with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

Mellards, Newcastle Under Lyme Central, Newcastle under Lyme

Pub added by Will Larter
Mellard's Warehouse, Market Lane
Newcastle under Lyme
ST5 1AA

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Mellards Bar

Modern split-level bar housed in an old warehouse building so there is quire a contrast between external appearance and what you find within. Limited decor, with just a few pictures on the exposed brickwork. Additional seating outside on the courtyard patio area. Two real ales on handpump: Moor Nor'hop and Blue Bee Cocoa Cabana.

On 1st July 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Mellards Bar

A converted warehouse that has been nicely, if sparsely, decorated. It was a bit difficult to find as the top of the lane is effectively an alleyway and was populated by the local druggies judging by the paraphernalia in the doorways. However by the time you get to the pub it's fine. Two handpumps serving Moor Nor'hop and Blue Bee Cocoa Cabana. I went for a pint of the Nor'hop which promptly went off as most of the PuG crew were drinking it. The Blue Bee was a nice pint though and Ms CAMRA liked her red wine. We'll happily call in here again.

On 26th June 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2866 recommendations about 2786 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Mellard's Bar

A modern bar housed in a former warehouse that manages to make a rather unaesthetic exterior look appealing with a bit of paint and glass. It has a patio area. The interior is on two levels, being in general in brick and grey. The upstairs has the comfy seating, the downstairs has the high chairs. A few photos are dotted about. No TV, the music was soft. Service was very good and there were just our party in. The bar is in the corner and it serves a couple of changing real ales: I had the Blue Bee Cocoa Cabana Porter, which was very nice. Happy enough with my visit and would go back.

On 25th June 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Mellard's Bar

On the plus side it’s great to see a fine piece of Victorian brick architecture that has remained derelict and unloved for 20 years transformed into a trendy town centre bar and the original building windows and exposed brickwork has been incorporated well into the renovation.
The down side for me personally was that I found it a fairly soulless space, especially the ground floor area, which isn’t helped by having the bloody big roof support pole in the middle of the room. This may well have been due to the fact that our late lunchtime visit found the place empty with the exception of one other punter and perhaps it’s a different story late evening when its full of trendy 30 somethings drinking cocktails.
I got the feeling from the 241-cocktail offer going from 12 till 6pm that again I’m probably not the target demographic for this bar, but it was good to see a focus on ales with two cask in the form of Moor Brewery NorHop and Blue Bee Cocoa Cabana (£3.80 for a 5.2%) and three craft in the form of Mikkeller Stick a Finger in the Soil, Magic rock Dark Arts and the cheerfully named Dead End Brew Machine’s Death III (£5.20 for a 6.5% beer).
Certainly was one worth including in a crawl of NuL, especially with the large outside drinking area, but not one I’d be inclined to spend an evening in.

On 25th June 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1712 recommendations about 1661 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Mellard's Bar

A former ironmongers store and steel warehouse according to the new owner. The interior was modern and bright and airy with the bar area positioned at the rear left hand corner, there was also an upstairs seating area. Two ales on handpump, one dark and one light. I immediately went for the Moor Brewery Nor'Hop, which was a good session pale, and would have passed the three pint mark, if I had had more time. The exterior courtyard out front was a bit of sun trap and an ideal place for a group photo for Pubs Galore. Well worth a visit here as the beer condition was superb.

On 23rd June 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Mellard's Bar

As noted below, this is a modern bar set in part of an old warehouse. It's a split level room with the upper part several steps up to the right of the bar area. The only low seating is either up the stairs or the large patio at the front. For me it was a trendy sort of place aiming at the crafty sector rather than old school. There was a 70s music track playing.
I turned up here before midday so wasn't surprised to be the only punter. The two cask ales available were certainly on the crafty side, Moor Nor'Hop and Blue Bee Cocoa Cabana. I went for the Nor'Hop (£3.60) which was in good nick but on the expensive side for the area. It's not really my sort of place but is worth a look as the beer choice seems to be completely away from the mainstream.

On 18th June 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Mellard's Bar

An interesting conversion from an industrial building ,there is a bar at the far end of the main room,with a higher terrace area.Just two handpumps offering Moor Nor'hop and a very decent Blue Bee Cocoa Cabana besides a few keg beer options and bottles.It's modern and may need to weather in,but this is worth a visit on any real ale crawl.My brief visit should be followed up with a longer stay next time,given what appears to be a policy of carefully choosing some brews from respected brewers and paying attention to correct conditioning.

On 17th June 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2087 recommendations about 2087 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Mellard's Bar

This conversion of a former warehouse has been tastefully done, though the surrounding area has a "please rescue me" look about it. The light from the large windows has been well used, and there's some interesting use of wood in the furnishings. The barman gave me a friendly welcome and recommended the Neepsend hazelnut stout, Connla's Well 4.9%, which I have not seen before despite the fact that it is brewed about a mile from my house. This was a very well made beer, with the flavour of hazelnuts growing and deepening with each mouthful; very good. There was one other cask ale, plus a couple of craft kegs and a keg cider; as well as these, a number of bottles are listed on the board behind the bar. Although the beer range is limited, the excellent quality and condition made this somewhere that I would happily return to.

On 19th April 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2643 recommendations about 2492 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Mellard's Bar

A fairly decent bar set within a warehouse. There are two levels to this place but I only went in the ground floor. The place isn't as industrial as I thought it was going to be and the seating was fairly comfy. There were 2 real ales available on my afternoon visit with beers from Thornbridge and Dark Star on on my visit. One of two new pubs since my last visit to Newcastle so I was happy to visit.

On 11th April 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3389 recommendations about 3303 pubs]