User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Bottled Beer Bargain Alert with aleandhearty on the Pub Forum

The Head of Steam, Birmingham

Pub added by Delboy 20
36 Temple Street
Birmingham
B2 5DP

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Ian Mapp left this review about The Head of Steam

Like going on holiday, without the hassle of travel.

Fine collection of Belgian Beers (including the large 75cl Chimay Blue bottles for just shy of £20) - far too many handpulls to record - not that I could get to them, due to the bar hangers. Both Chouffe and Deliriums on tap. No end of craft.

The Good Beer Guide describes it as "Cyperpunk" - so if you won't like it if you don't like exposed ducting. Or afternoon bouncers.

However, a world of experimentation awaits, so well worth throwing caution to the wing and see where a beer topped with a pink elephant will take you.

On 27th October 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 641 recommendations about 635 pubs]


Al Bundy left this review about The Head of Steam

Another excellent Head Of Steam pub. Up a few steps and you get to the main part. Open plan with an island bar. 10 handpulls greet you as you enter plus several taps for crafty fizzpops on either side of the bar. Well worth a visit.

On 10th August 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3381 recommendations about 3299 pubs]


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Head of Steam

Excellent modern bar covering a number of bases well - real ale (local suppliers included), a lot of craft keg, cocktails, sports TV on low, music (can be a bit OTT), food, comfortable, sociable or not. Covers them all with credit and an excellent place all round

On 5th August 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Quinno _ left this review about The Head of Steam

A new and impressive mega pub from this excellent chain. Enter to a fairly large downstairs lobby area with nicely aged (if modern) plank panelling with a blue WMR (West Midlands Railway I guess) logo painted upon, a massive frieze of the wheels of a stream engine and huge wooden cogs on the ceiling. Up a few stairs to the main area featuring an island bar and ten pumps (9 ales and a cider) direct in view on entering. A similar decor ethos up here with a more industrial bent, as well as a ‘Brum by night’ jumbo frieze at the far end. An interesting mix of stuff on the pumps; 4x Northern Monk alongside some micros and larger quasi-regionals. My Northern Monk Coffee Porter was a tad on the warm side but managed to sneak in at an NBSS 3. Also a fair range of ‘crafty fizzpops’ too. Unfortunately my arrival coincided with a quiz which was being compered by an awful wannabe local radio DJ, far too loud and with the occasional high pitched squawk added as if he was having an unexpected rectal spasm. Otherwise it was a decent place and worth putting on the central Birmingham ‘should do’ list but I suspect it’s one to do earlier rather than later in the day. 7.5 - would hgave been a straight 8 without the din.

On 21st July 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Thuck Phat left this review about The Head of Steam

Modern, busy, trendy, industrial decor and lots of flats screens this is not necessarily one for the pub purist.
The place was hopping on our Saturday evening visit with the young and beautiful of Brum making merry, as well as us old boys. Nonetheless, the atmosphere was good with a friendly if efficient welcome and none of the bumping and banging that might be expected in a busy spot on Saturday evening.
A fine range of beers included: Craddock American Pale, Squawk Crex, Fallen Brewing Chew Chew, Fixed Wheel The Sheriff and Wheelie Pale, Hobsons Snuffly Hedge Grog, Cameron's Sanctuary and Twisted Barrel Litany Against Fear. A very decent showcase of local breweries across strength and style.
There was also a cider, various keg taps and a good bottled range.
Well worth a visit.

On 11th June 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Head of Steam

Busy and hectic on a Saturday night but the young crowd inside were enjoying themselves.You enter on the ground floor into a seating area but climb the stairs to reach the large island bar.Thankfully for the real ale fan the handpumps are directly infront at this stage and a walk around the bar will only yield information on keg lagers and beers.The 10 handpumps were serving an eclectic mix of ales from the likes of Fixed Wheel,Craddocks,and other Locales while my Squark Crex Session IPA was very tasty.
There is seating on high benches near the bar,there is a higher level lounge in front of a flatscreen but this was reserved for a private party.Elsewhere BT Sports was playing ,and the music was loud. I noticed a DJ setting up ,so the volume may get cranked later on.
This was a crawl visit,next time I may come at a calmer time and inspect both the ales and keg options.There is a very impressive bottle menu.This should also be included on any real ale crawl list,I liked it.

On 8th April 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2054 recommendations about 2054 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Head of Steam

This one wasn’t here the last time I was in town so whilst the good lady was stuck in Debenhams and John Lewis I thought I’d look the place up and I was impressed as well.
As others have mentioned you have to go through this strange half in half out lobby seating area before climbing up steps and through doors into the main bar area. And for my Sunday afternoon this space had no customers but was patrolled by a couple of doorman, which I found a bit strange but was completely forgetting that the fun loving supporters of Aston Villa and Birmingham had recently finished exchanging pleasantries at the not that far away St Andrews.
Once inside the pub it’s a large space with plenty of seating areas on two levels around the central serving Island and the usual shiny Industrial décor you would expect from a newly opened Steam outlet.
There is an impressive range of some 20 Craft options on the taps down the sides of the serving area but full marks for putting the 10 ale pumps on the front section so that they are the first thing you see when you approach.
One was dispensing Hogans Wild Elder Cider and for my visit the nine ales available were Backyard Brewhouse Coaltown Stout and Gold Rush, Arbour Shangri-la, Camerons Sanctuary and Ahopalypse Now, Kirkstall Brewery Ryeteous, Northern Monk Eternal IPA, Fixed Wheel Wheelie Hazy IPA and Twisted Barrel Citra and the Coaltown Stout went down very well.
I bagged a table in the upper section with its view of Temple Street outside, but also with a large flat screen tele which was showing the Ireland v France six nations match and armed with my pint of Stout and decent sized bag of Pork Scratchings, all was well with the world on this strange weather Sunday afternoon.

On 12th March 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1699 recommendations about 1648 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about The Head of Steam

Visited earlier in the week at lunchtime. 10 cask pumps with 9 of these on at the time of my visit. I went for the Ginger Joe (stout, 5.6%) by Ridgeside Brewing which set me back £2.30 for a half. This was a very decent beer and the ginger kick was noticeable without being overpowering - it worked well.

At ground level you enter into a strange nomansland that's half outdoors but enclosed (and full of tables for seating) before making your way up the steps and through the doors into the main bar. In front of you is the island bar with a mix of seating around it, tables and chairs behind and booths to the back wall.

I generally like the Head of Steam pubs and this one is no exception.

On 28th February 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 514 recommendations about 469 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Head of Steam

Very impressed with this pub. Nicely done inside and a great selection of beers. This is one I will use again when I am in town.

On 12th August 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1049 recommendations about 1010 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Head of Steam

Significant new addition to the Central Birmingham pub scene, featuring a sizeable split-level layout with a seating / dining area as you enter, an island bar up a half-flight of stairs and a further seating / dining area up the second half-flight overlooking the interior and street. Well lit, with a mix of traditional, modern and industrial elements. Ten handpumps on the counter, inevitably including Cameron's Strongarm, but showcasing four real ales from Twisted Barrel - such as the Inspired oatmeal pale (£4.00) - two from Fixed Wheel plus others from Wild Beer and Tiny Rebel along with a cider. Plenty of choice from craft keg taps too, and a plethora of bottled and canned beers too.

On 1st July 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]

Page: 1 2