User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Floods with rpadam on the Pub Forum

BeerHeadZ, Nottingham Central, Nottingham

Pub added by Old Boots
Cabman’s Shelter, 1A Queen’s Road
Nottingham
NG2 3AS

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Old Boots left this review about BeerHeadZ

Didn’t quite get a full pint but it was a great beer (North Rding Hazelnut Mild) and well kept. A little old wooden building once used as a cabman's shelter, perhaps in the mould of Carry on Cabby if slightly bigger. The L shaped counter takes a quarter of the floor space, a few benches and stools with some polished scaf' boards on polished scaffolding tubes serving as furniture, along side a few tall stools. You’ve got five pulls of nice local stuff plus a selection of those keg beers too. There was a pin of Three Hills Stout sitting on the end of the counter but sadly not on. If you arrive by train there is a sign directing you to British Transport Police and Micropub over the Queen Street exit.

On 13th February 2020 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2208 recommendations about 2053 pubs]


Alex Conway left this review about BeerHeadZ

Really great new micro in the old cabbie depot of Nottingham Railway station. Not the sort of place to.sit and stay as I don't find it that comfortable with all the bare wood and hard suroundings, definitley more of a passing pub especially as most customers are doing the same so there isn't a local atmosphrre. With that said the highest praise must go to the beer, you heard it here first but I believe they consistently keep the best beer in the city center! I have not had aless than stellar pint here yet and the price is fairly reasonable hovering around 3.40/50 depending on strength and they include mico beers from all over the country with a North Riding pale enjoyed most recently. Overall is a must do for beer lovers but not the sort of place to stay all night.

On 4th August 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 446 recommendations about 446 pubs]


Delboy 20 left this review about BeerHeadZ

Very convenient micropub for the station - you know what to expect. Small with excellent beer! I tried an IPA from Abbeydale which was in great shape. Will call again.

On 18th March 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1037 recommendations about 998 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about BeerHeadZ

Next to the station on the lower side. One room with the bar to the middle. Outside seating. Four real ales and four craft options. Fridge with cans behind the bar. Decent place which will no doubt be revisited when waiting for a train.

On 11th August 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1608 recommendations about 1606 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about BeerHeadZ

This one is part of a chain of micropubs which is an anachronism in itself. It's a conversion of one of those old green wooden huts as used by cabbies. I certainly remember seeing them in Central London long ago.
Despite being part of a chain it is a proper micropub with no distractions other than the barman playing a Hendrix CD which I wasn't going to complain about. The bar and furnishings seem to have been constructed from scaffolding and chunky wood. On a hot sunny Saturday afternoon I was happy to see the limited outdoor areas packed so easily found a seat inside.
The bar had four beers on North Riding Pecan Pie Porter, Lincoln Green Marian, Animal Raccoon and the latest version of Abbeydale Voyager IPA.
I opted for a couple of ciders both of which were very refreshing.
I liked this one and given the location I'm sure it will do well.

On 29th July 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2147 recommendations about 2142 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about BeerHeadZ

A really attractive and, as Ray says, very handy micropub on the doorstep of Nottingham station. It was very busy when I was here, both before and after the last game of the season at Meadow Lane. Before the match there was only one person serving, but he was doing a grand job, multi-tasking with good humour and a smile. I hope whoever was exploiting him felt moved to reward his efforts. Later, there was another person to help, which was just as well as it was not just busy but hot, with the sun beating against the windows, only partially shielded by roller blinds on the lower panes. I had the Ashover Victorian Ruby Mild, a delightful 7% beer in excellent condition, my excuse being that a half of this was equivalent to a pint of something less strong; this felt a little bit more feeble when I returned for a second half. There was a very friendly atmosphere, with home and away fans mixing in relaxed mode after a long season: it would be a shame if County don't get promoted - Luton real ale fans would have to find a different reason for coming here.

On 6th May 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2562 recommendations about 2421 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about BeerHeadZ

A very handy micro pub, with a good choice of ales across four handpumps. We called in here a couple of times and found some decent ales on both visits such as North Riding US Session, Star Wing Brewery Four Acre Arcadia and Steel City Scraping the Barrel. There was also a cooler at the rear of the bar offering some interesting cans and bottles of beer from small independent brewers.

On 11th April 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2952 recommendations about 2952 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about BeerHeadZ

The latest micro in Nottingham has pride of place nestled in a corner of Nottingham Midland Station. Spared by the recent massive fire at the station, I was pleased to find the place buzzing on my recent Friday evening visit.

The pub is really small. it was originally the waiting room for the cabbies that plied their trade at the station and ironically was opened to stop them migrating to the pub between fares. Feeling a bit like a garden shed, the place is a single room with a bar down one side. There were three ales on during my visit, a best bitter, IPA and porter. there were also a couple of keg brews and lagers. The pub has a decent selection of wine and a few ciders. I seem to remember when the place was in planning that a spirit licence was not granted and I can't remember seeing any bottles.

The place is painted white and pale blue, with tables and stools made from exterior timber with a pale green colour. All the tables have a 13A power socket, complete with a pair of USB charging points. There is a TV over the bar, but it only advertises the brews on the bar and the train times. There is a single unisex toilet at the rear of the shed, which was very clean on my visit.

An absolute perfect place to wait for a train or to just pop in for a sneaky brew.

On 19th February 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]