User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Halifax Crawl - 21 June 2024 with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

Brew Tavern, Nottingham

Pub added by Old Boots
Cabman’s Shelter, 1A Queen’s Road
Nottingham
NG2 3AS

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Graham Coombs left this review about BeerHeadZ

An atmospheric little bar at the side of the station with 3 or 4 ales and a couple of ciders on. There are a couple of reserved seating areas outside if the bar is full. Excellent for a pint going to or from the train.

On 1st October 2023 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3353 recommendations about 3290 pubs]


Strongers . left this review about BeerHeadZ

Beerheadz is a basic craft bar in a small shed next to the entrance of Nottingham Railway Station. The counter supports five hand pumps, four of which were in use drawing Mallinsons Brewing’s Simcoe Columbus, Deeply Vale Brewery’s Amarok’s Fury, Magpie Brewery’s Up We Go and 4T’s Brewery’s Elvis Peachley, the latter being decent, but I couldn’t drink more than a pint. The service was polite, but the very low background music and two other customers didn’t generate much atmosphere. Then again, my visit was on a wet Wednesday evening. This is one for beer fans rather than pub fans.

On 7th August 2023 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5329 recommendations about 5297 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blue Scrumpy left this review about BeerHeadZ

Paid a return visit to this former cabmen's shelter directly outside Nottingham railway station. The last time we visited was during the summer of 2018 and we were the only people in when we arrived. This time, it was packed.

There is one single room with the bar slightly offset to the right. There are 4 or 5 handpulls on the bar, with a fridge containing boxed ciders and plenty of bottles and cans of craft beer to the right-hand side. A TV screen above the bar lists the real ales, real ciders and craft beers. The cider list was also on a printed sheet next to the fridge.

With little room to move inside, it was difficult to move around without spilling drinks and getting hold of seating was also a challenge, which we eventually had success with. There is also just a solitary toilet. Although, the station toilets are only just around the corner, when the queues get too excessive.

Real ales on were Welbeck Abbey Georgiana, Tomos & Lilford Evergreen, Glamorgan Best Bitter & Sandstone Wynter's Night. By the time we left, 3 of the 4 ales had gone, with staff only having time to pour one new one through - Ashover Eureka. Real ciders were Ty Gwyn Medium Perry, Newton Court Farmhouse Scrumpy, Ciderniks To Be Frank, Charnwood Battle Royale & Blue Barrel Smokin' Barrels.

Despite being really busy, I enjoyed my return visit here and it was good to experience a bustling atmosphere. Although, I think I prefer the peace and quiet of our last visit!

On 6th March 2023 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2560 recommendations about 2559 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about BeerHeadZ

Been meaning to visit this micro-pub - set in the station's former cab office, located just outside the covered main entrance but signed from within - for ages. Just three, very basic, small tables with beer-barrel seats plus some high stools by the ledge along the front windows. However, there are also a couple of compact sun-trap seating outside for the fine weather. I found the Nine Lives Porter (£4.00) and other real ales from Baker's Dozen, Abbeydale and Siren on four of the five handpumps, plus a few crafty beers on the keg taps.

On 6th April 2022 - rating: 7
[User has posted 8164 recommendations about 8164 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about BeerHeadZ

On the less fashionable side of the station ,this former cabman's shelter is iconic ,very basic but fun.There is a small police station next door,while outside tables are dotted about in the forecourt.The sparse interior has a couple of bench seats by the entrance,a small bar made out of scaffolding poles and planks with some small tables with beer kegs as stools.Modern lighting hangs down ,while plants grow in suspended craft beer cans.There is a long drinking shelf opposite the bar but little in the way of decoration,the windows give a good view of the street scene.
There are 5 handpumps,the range on my visit was Ashover Forest Porter,Abbeydale Daily Bread & Family Heirlooms (£3.90,NBSS 3.5).There are 5 craft keg options and the fridge had some interesting bottles including Blue Monkey Ape Ale.More Locales were on the up next list.
A proper micro pub,friendly service,chatty regulars,no music,tv or machines.Has to be the default option if waiting for a train or gaging for a pint after arriving,note the usual 4pm opening times and early closing during the week.
A must visit on any ale tour of the city,part of a small chain of micros in this region.I will be back,rightly in the 2021 GBG.

On 3rd June 2021 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2775 recommendations about 2775 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about BeerHeadZ

Originally a Cabman's shelter, this is a fine addition to the Nottingham drinking scene. Very small and with very limited seating at the moment due to social distancing. Apparently has space for 32 in normal times, but I suspect it's closer to 18 or 20 currently. Lots of interesting bits and pieces around the place with friendly staff and customers, we got talking to them almost immediately. Only 2 beers available on the 6 handpumps and I tried the Three Hills Woodford Bitter that was in good nick, but not to my taste and MS CAMRA hated it. We'll be coming back here next time we're in Nottingham though.

On 1st September 2020 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3232 recommendations about 3143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about BeerHeadZ

Didn’t quite get a full pint but it was a great beer (North Rding Hazelnut Mild) and well kept. A little old wooden building once used as a cabman's shelter, perhaps in the mould of Carry on Cabby if slightly bigger. The L shaped counter takes a quarter of the floor space, a few benches and stools with some polished scaf' boards on polished scaffolding tubes serving as furniture, along side a few tall stools. You’ve got five pulls of nice local stuff plus a selection of those keg beers too. There was a pin of Three Hills Stout sitting on the end of the counter but sadly not on. If you arrive by train there is a sign directing you to British Transport Police and Micropub over the Queen Street exit.

On 13th February 2020 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3320 recommendations about 3021 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Conway left this review about BeerHeadZ

Really great new micro in the old cabbie depot of Nottingham Railway station. Not the sort of place to.sit and stay as I don't find it that comfortable with all the bare wood and hard suroundings, definitley more of a passing pub especially as most customers are doing the same so there isn't a local atmosphrre. With that said the highest praise must go to the beer, you heard it here first but I believe they consistently keep the best beer in the city center! I have not had aless than stellar pint here yet and the price is fairly reasonable hovering around 3.40/50 depending on strength and they include mico beers from all over the country with a North Riding pale enjoyed most recently. Overall is a must do for beer lovers but not the sort of place to stay all night.

On 4th August 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 457 recommendations about 457 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about BeerHeadZ

Very convenient micropub for the station - you know what to expect. Small with excellent beer! I tried an IPA from Abbeydale which was in great shape. Will call again.

On 18th March 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1684 recommendations about 1579 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about BeerHeadZ

Next to the station on the lower side. One room with the bar to the middle. Outside seating. Four real ales and four craft options. Fridge with cans behind the bar. Decent place which will no doubt be revisited when waiting for a train.

On 11th August 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1693 recommendations about 1691 pubs]

Page: 1 2