User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 26th June 2022) with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

BeerHeadZ, Nottingham

Pub added by Old Boots
Cabman’s Shelter, 1A Queen’s Road
Nottingham
NG2 3AS

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about BeerHeadZ

Been meaning to visit this micro-pub - set in the station's former cab office, located just outside the covered main entrance but signed from within - for ages. Just three, very basic, small tables with beer-barrel seats plus some high stools by the ledge along the front windows. However, there are also a couple of compact sun-trap seating outside for the fine weather. I found the Nine Lives Porter (£4.00) and other real ales from Baker's Dozen, Abbeydale and Siren on four of the five handpumps, plus a few crafty beers on the keg taps.

On 6th April 2022 - rating: 7
[User has posted 7001 recommendations about 7001 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about BeerHeadZ

On the less fashionable side of the station ,this former cabman's shelter is iconic ,very basic but fun.There is a small police station next door,while outside tables are dotted about in the forecourt.The sparse interior has a couple of bench seats by the entrance,a small bar made out of scaffolding poles and planks with some small tables with beer kegs as stools.Modern lighting hangs down ,while plants grow in suspended craft beer cans.There is a long drinking shelf opposite the bar but little in the way of decoration,the windows give a good view of the street scene.
There are 5 handpumps,the range on my visit was Ashover Forest Porter,Abbeydale Daily Bread & Family Heirlooms (£3.90,NBSS 3.5).There are 5 craft keg options and the fridge had some interesting bottles including Blue Monkey Ape Ale.More Locales were on the up next list.
A proper micro pub,friendly service,chatty regulars,no music,tv or machines.Has to be the default option if waiting for a train or gaging for a pint after arriving,note the usual 4pm opening times and early closing during the week.
A must visit on any ale tour of the city,part of a small chain of micros in this region.I will be back,rightly in the 2021 GBG.

On 3rd June 2021 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2338 recommendations about 2338 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about BeerHeadZ

Originally a Cabman's shelter, this is a fine addition to the Nottingham drinking scene. Very small and with very limited seating at the moment due to social distancing. Apparently has space for 32 in normal times, but I suspect it's closer to 18 or 20 currently. Lots of interesting bits and pieces around the place with friendly staff and customers, we got talking to them almost immediately. Only 2 beers available on the 6 handpumps and I tried the Three Hills Woodford Bitter that was in good nick, but not to my taste and MS CAMRA hated it. We'll be coming back here next time we're in Nottingham though.

On 1st September 2020 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3000 recommendations about 2917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about BeerHeadZ

Didn’t quite get a full pint but it was a great beer (North Rding Hazelnut Mild) and well kept. A little old wooden building once used as a cabman's shelter, perhaps in the mould of Carry on Cabby if slightly bigger. The L shaped counter takes a quarter of the floor space, a few benches and stools with some polished scaf' boards on polished scaffolding tubes serving as furniture, along side a few tall stools. You’ve got five pulls of nice local stuff plus a selection of those keg beers too. There was a pin of Three Hills Stout sitting on the end of the counter but sadly not on. If you arrive by train there is a sign directing you to British Transport Police and Micropub over the Queen Street exit.

On 13th February 2020 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2592 recommendations about 2360 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Conway left this review about BeerHeadZ

Really great new micro in the old cabbie depot of Nottingham Railway station. Not the sort of place to.sit and stay as I don't find it that comfortable with all the bare wood and hard suroundings, definitley more of a passing pub especially as most customers are doing the same so there isn't a local atmosphrre. With that said the highest praise must go to the beer, you heard it here first but I believe they consistently keep the best beer in the city center! I have not had aless than stellar pint here yet and the price is fairly reasonable hovering around 3.40/50 depending on strength and they include mico beers from all over the country with a North Riding pale enjoyed most recently. Overall is a must do for beer lovers but not the sort of place to stay all night.

On 4th August 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 455 recommendations about 455 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about BeerHeadZ

Very convenient micropub for the station - you know what to expect. Small with excellent beer! I tried an IPA from Abbeydale which was in great shape. Will call again.

On 18th March 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1350 recommendations about 1277 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about BeerHeadZ

Next to the station on the lower side. One room with the bar to the middle. Outside seating. Four real ales and four craft options. Fridge with cans behind the bar. Decent place which will no doubt be revisited when waiting for a train.

On 11th August 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1693 recommendations about 1691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about BeerHeadZ

This one is part of a chain of micropubs which is an anachronism in itself. It's a conversion of one of those old green wooden huts as used by cabbies. I certainly remember seeing them in Central London long ago.
Despite being part of a chain it is a proper micropub with no distractions other than the barman playing a Hendrix CD which I wasn't going to complain about. The bar and furnishings seem to have been constructed from scaffolding and chunky wood. On a hot sunny Saturday afternoon I was happy to see the limited outdoor areas packed so easily found a seat inside.
The bar had four beers on North Riding Pecan Pie Porter, Lincoln Green Marian, Animal Raccoon and the latest version of Abbeydale Voyager IPA.
I opted for a couple of ciders both of which were very refreshing.
I liked this one and given the location I'm sure it will do well.

On 29th July 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about BeerHeadZ

A really attractive and, as Ray says, very handy micropub on the doorstep of Nottingham station. It was very busy when I was here, both before and after the last game of the season at Meadow Lane. Before the match there was only one person serving, but he was doing a grand job, multi-tasking with good humour and a smile. I hope whoever was exploiting him felt moved to reward his efforts. Later, there was another person to help, which was just as well as it was not just busy but hot, with the sun beating against the windows, only partially shielded by roller blinds on the lower panes. I had the Ashover Victorian Ruby Mild, a delightful 7% beer in excellent condition, my excuse being that a half of this was equivalent to a pint of something less strong; this felt a little bit more feeble when I returned for a second half. There was a very friendly atmosphere, with home and away fans mixing in relaxed mode after a long season: it would be a shame if County don't get promoted - Luton real ale fans would have to find a different reason for coming here.

On 6th May 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3044 recommendations about 2864 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about BeerHeadZ

A very handy micro pub, with a good choice of ales across four handpumps. We called in here a couple of times and found some decent ales on both visits such as North Riding US Session, Star Wing Brewery Four Acre Arcadia and Steel City Scraping the Barrel. There was also a cooler at the rear of the bar offering some interesting cans and bottles of beer from small independent brewers.

On 11th April 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3092 recommendations about 3092 pubs]

Page: 1 2