User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with Spinko on the Pub Forum

The Oil Basin Brewhouse, Worcester

Pub added by Quinno _
7 Copenhagen Street
Worcester
WR1 2HB

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Oil Basin Brewhouse

Only two minutes walk from the Plough, so a good double header. This pub had a good atmosphere and fellow drinkers were all friendly and chatty. Four ales on handpump on our visit Bewdley Baldwin IPA, Totally Brewed Four Hop Men of the Apocalypse, Fownes Brewing King Korvas Saga and Windtrip Butchers Beastly Best. Well worth a visit.

On 2nd April 2022 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3121 recommendations about 3121 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blue Scrumpy left this review about The Oil Basin Brewhouse

This was another excellent stop on our tour of Worcester's best pubs and bars yesterday. As previous reviewers have said, this was bigger than most micropubs. There is seating on the pavement at the front, whilst we retreated to the upstairs room, where the kitchen is also visible.

The regular beer Wintrip Butchers Beastly Best is brewed by the owner. Those amongst our group that tried it enjoyed it. Guests were Fownes Korvaks Isolation, Gloucester Session IPA & Salopian Lemon Dream. I had the Korvaks Isolation, which was billed as a rice pudding porter. With Heck's Farmhouse Cider also on handpull, I thought the selection was varied and eclectic enough to suit all tastes.

I'm undecided about which pub was my favourite in Worcester, but this one is certainly up there.

On 6th September 2020 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1374 recommendations about 1374 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Oil Basin Brewhouse

Perhaps more of a mini-pub than a micro one, because the front room and compact rear counter area are supplemented by further seating upstairs and some benches out front. Food (in the form of pizzas) available and background music playing. Four real ales - including Crash Ball (£3.50) and The Mermaid's Tale from Fownes - and a cider available on handpump.

On 23rd February 2020 - rating: 7
[User has posted 7108 recommendations about 7108 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Oil Basin Brewhouse

Good beer guide 2020 entry. Micropub with a good pubby feel - some wooden church style furniture, roof beams, various paraphernalia.

Regulars hog the bar - standing all around it - so this makes it tricky to see whats on offer and get to the loos (currently complete with a sign saying no pooping in the gents!). I couldn't get close enough to the pump clip to see what Vanilla Stout I was drinking but it was damn fine.

Plenty of choice in Copenhagen Street - with a bottle shop and Belgian Cafe alongside.

On 5th December 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 989 recommendations about 981 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Oil Basin Brewhouse

Called in as this was one of the 12 bars holding a pub beer festival last weekend. Very busy and a good atmosphere. Beers available on cask Salopian Lemon Dream, XT/Animal Wasp, Wintrip Lady Marmalade, Wintrip Butchers Beastly Best. We chose the 2 Wintrip beers and enjoyed them both.

On 2nd April 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1324 recommendations about 1207 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Oil Basin Brewhouse

Pretty small inside as noted however the room upstairs has recently opened making seating a little easier. Downstairs was totally rammed (Saturday night so no surprise) and there was an orderly queue for the bar. Well worth the wait, mainly keg taps but there's a couple of handpulls with excellent local ales on.

On 2nd December 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2639 recommendations about 2404 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Oil Basin Brewhouse

Nice little micropub with a good selection of beers. The Fixed Wheel Through & Off was in excellent shape. Well worth a visit.

On 1st December 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1371 recommendations about 1297 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Oil Basin Brewhouse

Cosy little micropub/craft bar, mixed seating informally spread around, the brewing equipment was all set up at the rear but unsure if up and running. Four handpumps with Electric Bear Inspector Morse, Prescott Super 6 No3, The Butchers Beastly Best and Salopian Shropshire Gold. There was a good selection of Craft keg, I tried Burning Soul Low Clarity and at only 3.0 % It was a very good drop.A nice place.

On 14th October 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1582 recommendations about 1563 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Oil Basin Brewhouse

A brand new micropub style place. Oblong front room with gold and black wallpaper and a small bar room beyond housing a huge but seemingly unused hearth. There is also meant to be a brewery here but the loud and hyperactive owner informed us all that he had run out of money opening the pub so the brewery bit is in stasis. Four pumps with three on; Bewdley Sovereign, Black Iris Endless Summer and Manchester Brew Co Parkin. No complaints with the Bewdley Sovereign and the Manc BC was fine, though not to my taste. Also 4 UK keg and 2 world keg listed on a blackboard, which also informed that the Stone was retailing at £9.50 a pint. It’s a decent addition to an already well-stocked drinking scene in Worcester. Though time your visit carefully as seating is at a premium.

On 14th December 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 4423 recommendations about 4408 pubs]