User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Of The Month - November 2021 with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

The Pub, Todmorden

Pub added by aleand hearty
3 Brook Street
Todmorden
OL14 5AJ

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Pub

Charming street corner micro,there is bench seating running below the window ledges and into the recesses with small round tables and stools.Probably seating for 12 at a squeeze.The bar supports 6 handpumps and has a few craft kegs.There is a well worn stone staircase to the loos with an unused room up there which could be an overflow .
The barmaid was chatty and cheeky in equal measure but knew her ale having tried most of the offerings.I really enjoyed my Hawkeshead Pale (NBSS 4),Three Kings Apache APA (NBSS 3.5) and had a big finish with Mill Valley Chocolate Orange Stout (NBSS 4.5).
The other options were from localish microbrewers.
This would now be my first port of call in Tod and quite possibly the last given the commitment to top hole real ale.

On 15th July 2021 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2202 recommendations about 2202 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Pub

A small and friendly micropub serving top quality cask ales, across six handpumps, the local pork pies were also good as well. This micro was a former butcher's shop many years ago, photo displayed behind the bar. The lady owner was friendly and chatty and recommended that we visited her friend's micropub up the road. We went for Anthology Brewery Extra Hopped Session Pale, which was excellent.

On 30th July 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3035 recommendations about 3035 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about The Pub

Paid a visit on Saturday evening as part of our Calder Valley real ale trail. We ditched the two pubs we were originally planning on doing at Todmorden in favour of The Pub a bit further out from the station, and it was probably a good decision. At the bar were six hand pumps, all of which were on. No cider or Jaipur on the pumps at the time of my visit.

This is a nice micro pub which was pleasantly busy and lively at the time of our arrival. There is a further seating area upstairs (up the previously well described Fred Flintstone steps) with a few tables and chairs but there was only one small group of people using this area. There is also a single toilet up here, full of inspirational quotes.

If I ever find myself back in Todmorden, I could probably do a lot worse than to seek this place out again.

On 30th July 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 604 recommendations about 509 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Pub

This one is a proper micropub with no music or TVs. As mentioned below it's a small room in a corner building. The stairs leading to the first floor look like they were constructed by Fred Flintstone being an uneven stone staircase rather than just steep. Nevertheless, I wouldn't like to carry a tray of drinks up it. In addition to beer and cider they also have a wide range of specialist gins, a keg cider and a couple of lagers one of which is Joules Green Monkey. They also do limited wines and soft drinks.
There are six hand pumps which had a cider, Thornbridge Jaipur, Small World Thunderbridge Stout, Adnam's Ghost Ship, Ticketybrew Golden and Great Yorkshire (shurely an oxymoron?) Yorkshire Classic. I went for the Thunderbridge Stout (£3.00) and Jaipur (£3.50). I'm no fan of gin but do like both rhubarb and ginger so couldn't resist trying a rhubarb and ginger gin from Liverpool which was excellent.
The only downside for me here was the upstairs toilet but other than that I really liked it.

On 2nd October 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Pub

A neat two storey micropub, just off the market place. A very, very steep flight of stone steps leads to the upper level. Upstairs there are 3 tables and the toilets. Downstairs are barstools. 5 handpumps with 4 changing guests plus Jaipur as a permanent fixture. The standard beers are a sensible £3 per pint and Jaipur is £3.50. There's also a real cider available. We got a friendly welcome and there was plenty of banter going on downstairs. It's a very good addition to the Tod real ale scene.

On 25th September 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2929 recommendations about 2847 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


aleand hearty left this review about The Pub

A micro-pub converted from a former cafe, which opened in May 2017. Five ales available on hand pump, with four changing guest ales and Thornbridge Jaipur as a permanent fixture. A real cider is also available.

On 31st August 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 410 recommendations about 394 pubs]