User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Wetherspoon's news of the day with london calling on the Pub Forum

Flok, Manchester

Pub added by peter ashworth
5 Stevenson Square
Manchester
M1 1DN

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Steve of N21 left this review about Flok

Interesting place this one. Technically a former bank now turned into a Sherry specialist bar serving Spanish vermouth on draught and a huge range of fortified wines is the type of place I would contemplate entering for some tapas but not on an Ale crawl. But what makes the difference here is the addition of a 7 tap keg wall and four local ales on pump alongside the Vermouth.
For our visit the four ales were Burning Sky Aurora, Tiny Rebel Juicy, Seven Brothers Brewery Session and Saltaire Triple Chocaholic. I went for the Saltaire triple Choc and despite being served slightly too warm it was a gorgeous pint, being like a melted bar of Cadbury’s Fruit and Nut, without the fruit, or the nuts.
The upstairs room is quite a comfortable space with bar stools, high tables and some leather booth seating by the large windows providing a great vista across Stevenson Square. Then there is an additional seating space downstairs by the toilets and then also an interesting additional room housed in the former bank vault that can be hired out. Have to say I warmed to this one and wouldn’t hesitate to return again, especially with my good lady who would appreciate this type of bar.

On 23rd October 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1577 recommendations about 1528 pubs]


moby duck left this review about Flok

A modern style bar with five handpulls for ale and another seven craft taps, the beer range was covering most bases, I went for an old favourite in Saltaire Triple Chocoholic, which was lovely. A pleasant bar with a lively feel.

On 21st October 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1186 recommendations about 1175 pubs]


Real Ale Ray left this review about Flok

Originally a bank, which is evident from the large vaulted door in the basement, now turned Tapas bar, which had a relaxed and hip sort of vibe about the place. The bar is situated along the back wall, with the tapas counter running along the adjacent wall. Five handpumps, serving four beers and a vermouth. I went for the Tiny Rebel Juicy, which was fine, but did taste better out of a can, which I had tried previously elsewhere on another day. Two prints of the famous 1960s artist Vladimir Tretchikoff, caught my attention high up on the main entrance wall.

On 16th October 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2737 recommendations about 2737 pubs]


Rob Hunter left this review about Flok

Visited on Saturday evening. Five hand pulls at the bar, all of which were on. I don't recall the full lineup but I had the PMA (Positive Mental Attitude) by Moor Beer Company and my drinking accomplice had Juicy by Tiny Rebel. Saltaire Triple Chocoholic also featured and the El Banderra Vermut as noted by the previous reviewer. Vermouth on a hand pump would be a new one on me, and not something I chose to investigate. I can also confirm the presence of craft keg taps on the back wall behind the bar.

There are high booths round the perimeter of the room then lower tables and chairs in the centre. A mix of drinkers and diners in at the time of my early evening visit. No complaints and I'd be happy to go again.

On 15th October 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 348 recommendations about 329 pubs]


Bucking Fastard left this review about Flok

A corner bar,along one side there are very elevated seatings booths while there are places to rest your pint and more normal sized tables in this square room.The decor is arty and there was some calm muzak playing,while the tiled black and white flooring near the bar was a pleasing feature.There are 7 craft beer taps,with 5 handpumps drawing Saltaire Triple Chocoholic,7 Brothers Session,Burning Sky Aurora,Tiny Rebel Juicy (too warm) and something called El Banderia Vermut whatever that is.
A decent line up,so worth calling in on a crawl ,I just got the impression that this bar is trying to be all things to all people rather than having a clear focus.

On 14th October 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1911 recommendations about 1911 pubs]


Oggwyn Great left this review about Flok

Friendly bar with an eclectic selection of customers on my Wednesday afternoon visit , middle aged bikers supping pints to dolled up young girlies knocking back the fancy gins , friendly staff and customers , not a bad place .

On 22nd August 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 738 recommendations about 635 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Flok

One medium sized room apparently with a Catalan theme, although this is only obvious from the food offering (Pintxos). Lots of high tables and chairs along with some standard dining ones within booths in the front windows. Four handpumps on the bar which is very unusual for a Spanish style bar. There were a couple of beers from Blackjack on alongside a couple of guests. My pint was in good nick and Ms CAMRA liked her red wine. We'll no doubt be coming back here.

On 27th January 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2654 recommendations about 2585 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


peter ashworth left this review about Flok

Flok is a sherry and wine house in the heart of Stevenson Square owned by the same person who has Folk and Wine and Wallop in West Didsbury.The ground floor interior is made of recycled wood and red leather banquettes with the tables fitted with flexi lamps.There was 5 casks on when I called in around 2pm on a Tuesday,3 cask beers a Spanish vermouth on draught and a cask cider which I ordered by mistake after leaving my glasses on the bus.The cider was apparently Hallets old aged limited edition cider at 5.65% which must admit was a fair drink but at £4.80p a pint it should be.

On 22nd August 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1986 recommendations about 1952 pubs]