User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappearing and 'in peril' breweries with Quinno on the Pub Forum

Sanctuary, Liverpool

Pub added by Al Bundy
72 Lime St
Liverpool
L1 1JN

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Rob Hunter left this review about Sanctuary

Visited on Saturday evening. Only two cask ales available (according to my friend who did the ordering) - Red Willow Breakfast Stout and Black Lodge Dizzy New Heights. The Dizzy New Heights was very pleasant, although two cask ales is a far cry from the seven claimed on WhatPub and the bar's own Facebook page - and from reading Al Bundy's review this does not appear to have been a one-off. As he has also mentioned, it is cash only here - which could catch people out who have become used to not having to carry cash over the last 18 months! Keg beers also available, though I didn't investigate as we were just staying for one.

Split over three floors, with the ground floor (where the bar is) being naturally busiest, the upper floor empty, and the basement level seeming to be the overflow area of choice. The basement is a bit dark and dingy, rustic perhaps, and is also home to the toilets.

Not as good as on my previous visit, and loses a point off my rating accordingly.

On 27th September 2021 - rating: 7
[User has posted 602 recommendations about 507 pubs]


Al Bundy left this review about Sanctuary

Think twice before you visit now. Has gone spectacularly downhill. Usually just one poor cask on and even if you like fizzpops there is usually only about 2 or 3 on. It's been like this for a good few weeks now, sadly. Cash only too.

On 4th September 2021 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3434 recommendations about 3345 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Sanctuary

Describing itself as a Dive Bar was,I felt,rather harsh.It's in a former shop unit but has been well put together with a series of circular tables,wooden display cabinets but kept locked with some distressed plaster work to the side.A high serving bar to the right was serving Top Rope Four Horsemen,Titanic Plum Porter,Fullers( Dark Star) Hophead,Atlas Bear Town and a very decent Five Towns Pale.There are more craft keg beers to boot.
Upstairs in The Green Room,while in the basement there is a parquet floored cellar room,and the whole pub has a bohemian feel.
If you arrive at Lime Street desperate for a decent pint,you won't go far wrong popping in here.Fully deserves it's GBG listing for the decent ale range and conditioning.

On 10th July 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2197 recommendations about 2197 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Sanctuary

Opposite the Vines on Lime St, it’s a decent small bar with 7 pulls, 8 keg founts and innumerable cans and bottles. Big old fashioned counter to one side with bar stools, seating at round wooden tables with dining room chairs down the other, there’s further seating in the basement and upstairs . The beer’s decently kept and the bar is Camra Merseyside best newcomer 2018 and a GBG2019 entry. Madish decor with stuff locked away where you’d expect bottles and cans plus some artfully broken plaster, stairs down have 1930s adverts and the basement gents has very slightly more risqué pictures. Open mic nights. Rock soundtrack. Seems to be linked to the Internet cafe/ tattooist next door by more than just the connecting door.

On 12th May 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2437 recommendations about 2241 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about Sanctuary

I was pleasantly surprised by Sanctuary, from the outside it looks like it could be bordering on a nightclub but inside is just a nice bar with seven hand pulls. I have to say it was smaller than I expected, though there is more seating downstairs (with the toilets) and upstairs (not investigated).

I was particularly pleased to discover Créme Bearlee (Beartown Brewery) on the pumps as I'd been wanting to try this for a while, and it didn't let me down. A decent enough place to end the night before heading back to Lime Street station to get the train home.

On 11th April 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 602 recommendations about 507 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Sanctuary

Supposed to be open at 2 on a Sunday, but it was still shuttered at 4.

On 13th February 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2926 recommendations about 2844 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Sanctuary

To walk in here and see Salopian Kashmir on handpump, was certainly a good start. The barman was friendly and chatty and certainly knew his beers. I asked who brewed their Sanctuary house ale and lager, but seemingly this is a closely guarded secret. The interior consisted of a substantial sized bar positioned along the right hand side, which was finished in a dark stained timber with a grey formica counter.
The walls were all painted in a mustard colour and parts of the walls were hacked away to expose timber laths, to give that shabby chic look. The furniture was eclectic brown tables and chairs and several stained glass tiffany lamps also hung from the ceiling. I did venture downstairs to find a good sized room, which was very similar in décor to the ground floor.
Seven handpumps, with five in use on my visit, Salopian Kashmir, Titanic Plum Porter, Otter Otter Ale, Sanctuary House Ale named Confess and Top Rope Brewing Hoptimus. They also had a choice of 8 keg and a wide selection of bottled and canned beers.

On 24th December 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3035 recommendations about 3035 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about Sanctuary

directly opposite the Vines but this little place is in a different league right now. loads of good beer and it was a convivial place this afternoon full of noisy locals. the decor is quite traditional and really pleasant. there's a bar, basement and upstairs room which can also be used for functions etc. - this is now the best 'pub' on Lime Street by a mile.

On 4th November 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 837 recommendations about 812 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


peter ashworth left this review about Sanctuary

Must agree with Mr Bundy I also found the place ok with 6 interesting cask beers to go at plus 3 craft taps and a cider.Although quite small in the bar area there is a lot more room in the basement.

On 25th October 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2145 recommendations about 2107 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Sanctuary

Now open and surprisingly quite good. There are 6 handpumps in two banks of 3 and a decent variety of beers. Hogsback, Titanic, Big Bog, Hobgob and a couple of others made up the handpump selection. The place is on two floors with the small pub-like bar being on the ground floor and a basement bar. There are 2 caged cabinets on the ground floor bar that display a load of bottled beers you can buy. I've no idea what the basement bar looks like.

On 3rd April 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3434 recommendations about 3345 pubs]