User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Halifax Crawl - 21 June 2024 with Real Ale Ray on the Pub Forum

The Petersgate Tap, Stockport

Pub added by Old Boots
19a Saint Petersgate
Stockport
SK1 1EB

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Will Larter left this review about The Petersgate Tap

One of two Stockport pubs converted from betting shops (the other being the Wellington opposite the railway station) and recently changed to opening at 12 noon six days a week (closed Monday). This one has been open for a few years now and has won a number of Camra awards, including three in 2023 - branch pub of year, plus cider pub of the year and a special mild magic award. There was a mild on today, but at 5.8% I didn't fancy it for my first beer of the day just after noon. My pint of RedWillow Headless Olicana 3.8% was very good (NBSS 4). There are six hand pumps, with four out of six beers being 5% abv or higher, which limits my options if on a crawl; if living locally I would consider it a plus, but a £17:15 day return on the train doesn't make me a local, unfortunately.

On 15th May 2024 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3840 recommendations about 3562 pubs]


Graham Coombs left this review about The Petersgate Tap

A worthy shop conversion with a mix of cask and KeyKeg, plus some ciders on offer - quite a fair selection and reasonably priced. It did not seem as friendly as some of the other bars in the area, but perhaps this was because it already had more customers than most. A shame it is an afternoon opener but well worth dropping in if it is open.

On 20th July 2023 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3353 recommendations about 3290 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Strongers . left this review about The Petersgate Tap

During a recent Tuesday afternoon visit the six handpumps on the bar at Petersgate Tap were drawing Thornbridge Carlota, Abbeydale Hopback, Lancaster Centennial, Tom’s Tap Dark Mild, Wily Fox Karma Citra and Small World Long Moor. The bar also supports four keg fonts which were pouring three craft beers and Budvar. I went for half a Long Moor Pale which was £1.75 for a half. Large chalkboards either side of the bar counter in the left rear corner list the aforementioned draught along with a range of gins from the back bar and ciders from the fridge. The bar faces tables that run up the right hand wall and there are another couple of tables next to the entrance, where there is a flight of stairs that lead up to an advertised bottle shop. There is some beery paraphernalia up on the walls and behind the bar are many framed certificates for POTY awards.
I found the service to be very friendly and it was nice sitting there listening to some Stockport County chat as I’ve witnessed some very poor football between them and Brentford down at the old Griffin Park over the years. I liked this bar and will definitely pop back in next time I’m in Stockport.

On 8th June 2022 - rating: 8
[User has posted 5329 recommendations about 5297 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about The Petersgate Tap

As good as ever. Plenty of choice on the bar in terms of cask and keg options. Unfortunately someone just got to the last table before us while we were deciding what to order, but we ended up propping up the end of the bar with our drinks, which was fine. A mix of booth seating inside, with some separate tables and chairs, and stools at the bar. We could have stayed for a few in here but as we finished our first drink we suddenly realised we were pushing it for the last train home so had to make a fairly sharp exit.

A reliable gem in the centre of Stockport and always worth a visit.

On 18th October 2021 - rating: 9
[User has posted 761 recommendations about 606 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Petersgate Tap

Enjoyed our visit to this 2019 Good Beer Guide entry yesterday and found a very busy pub which was a big draw for those who liked their beers on the strong side as there were 3 Torrside beers on Destination Unknown 9.8% King Bugbear 9% and Dogs of War 10% and we were pleased to be able to buy 3 thirds to sample them. Really good let me tell you, including the Barley Wine one! Very friendly pub with a great atmosphere.

On 20th January 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1339 recommendations about 1222 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Petersgate Tap

Much better than average micro - american style booths, large wooden tables, longish (for a micro) bar. An upstairs unexplored. Posters advertising future entertainment such as poetry reading.

Friendly owner and punters. Hawkshead Windermere Pale in great condition.

On 20th November 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1368 recommendations about 1353 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Petersgate Tap

For me this was a proper micropub despite their playing music at a reasonable level which was probably as much for the bar staff as anyone. I thought it was a Motorhead record but I'm sure Lemmy would have approved of these places.
It's a modern long rectangular room with the small bar counter at the rear left. I didn't venture upstairs.
There were six hand pumps but I only noted four of the beers, Oakham Black Hole Porter, Bristol Beer Factory Milk Stout, Thornbridge Brother Rabbit and Hawkshead Windermere Pale. I went for the Black Hole Porter (£3.50) and Milk Stout (£3.40) both of which were in good nick.
I thought this was a decent micropub.

On 22nd October 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about The Petersgate Tap

The Petersgate Tap is somewhere that I walk right past without noticing if approaching from one side, yet it is blindingly obvious if you approach it from the opposite side. Visited on a recent Saturday afternoon and it was fairly busy downstairs, though didn't check upstairs. A chalk board on the back wall lists all the cask and keg options, and there is certainly plenty to go at. I had the Tyto (a stout by Squawk), Pica (oatmeal pale, also by Squawk), Red Velvet Barley Wine (Thirst Class) and Mangata (stout by Salopian). All were excellent and clearly quality is important here. My drinking partner had the Windermere Pale (Hawkshead) which slipped down nicely too. Didn't notice any food being served here other than bar snacks though I have heard that sometimes pies are available. Another place in Stockport town centre where I could spend a lot of time and end up particularly worse for wear as a result!

On 16th March 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 761 recommendations about 606 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Petersgate Tap

Opened in the autumn of 2016, this is Stockport’s first micropub which, rather unusually for most town centres, has taken the place of a former betting shop. The pub has quite a modern feel, reminding me more of a continental bar rather than a run-of-the-mill micropub. The walls have mostly been painted in a deep shade of red and there are sturdy new floorboards throughout. The servery is positioned to the rear along the left hand wall and has a somewhat characterless modern counter and bar back. Standard tables and chairs with a few low benches run down the right hand wall, with a few more seating options under the large front windows. The walls have been decorated with a lot of breweriana including some nice retro posters for various brands and there is already a sizeable pump clip collection behind the bar. Stairs lead up to a first floor room which has plenty of additional seating which was no doubt much appreciated by the locals when the large Pubs Galore contingent descended on the pub en masse. Food is limited to some high quality pork pies and scotch eggs sourced from an award-winning local butcher.
A large blackboard on the rear wall lists the full selection of beers available, with cask options on this visit comprising Northern Monkey Sheephouse and Underdog, Hawkshead Windermere Pale, Rat Hai Karate, Thirst Class Hopfordian and Ticketybrew BBQ Red Ale. My half of the Hopfordian was in pretty good shape and the barman was a very nice bloke who stopped to chat for a bit despite running the place on his own that afternoon.
This is essentially a micro pub that’s not particularly micro and bends the ‘rules’ a little to accommodate live music, occasional hot food and a few keg beers, none of which detract from what is a great little place to enjoy quality beer. A great little pub all round and a good contrast to the plethora of excellent traditional boozers around town.

On 5th January 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3154 recommendations about 3154 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Petersgate Tap

A modern bar (2016) in a nasty 60's building that has got a name for itself outside of the immediate environs. A younger persons vibe inside; red and blue walls, breweriana and, as mentioned below, has a bit of a continental bar feel. Six ales on and I plumped for the Hawkshead which was fine though probably heading towards the barrel end. There were also a good selection of keykegs (more Hawkshead!) and bottles, as to be expected. I also had a rather lovely pork pie for £2.20, made locally. I’m not normally a fan of modern bars but this one had a fairly comfy feel to it and I’d happily return. 7.5

On 1st December 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 5239 recommendations about 5222 pubs]

Page: 1 2