User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
The Buffalo Theory and Beer. with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

The Pilcrow, Manchester Central, Manchester

Pub added by Pub SignMan
Sadlers Yard, Hanover Street
Manchester
M60 0AB

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Jon B left this review about The Pilcrow

if you have a long trip ahead from Victoria this is a good place to charge yourself on phone battery and beer. it’s a shed and may be difficult to find if it’s pitch black. once you’re inside you’ll have a choice of trendy ales and craft beers to drink. not really one for the pub fans but as a place to drink good beer next to a train station it’s at least functional. it did absolutely stink of wood where I was sat, but at least it was warm unlike the Piccadilly Tap.

On 6th January 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 554 pubs]


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Pilcrow

Appears to be an oversized wood cabin from a distance and looks a bit more like a narrow rectangular barn inside. Basic wooden furniture and not much decoration, although in the hours of darkness some the windows give a good view of multi-coloured lighting display in the adjoining Sadler's Yard (which also provides outdoor seating opportunities). The main emphasis is on the craft beers from the 14 keg taps on the bar-back, but three cask ales (two from Castle Rock - Pinball Wizard and Fruit v1 - and Soul All Nighter, £3.80, on my visit).

On 28th October 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5540 recommendations about 5540 pubs]


Steve of N21 left this review about The Pilcrow

Difficult one this. As other have said it’s not your traditional pub or bar and internally it is more akin to drinking in a glorified overblown garden shed.
But on the very positive side it’s a newbuild addition to the Manchester drinking scene and was completely built from scratch by the owners, (including all the furniture) and they should be heartily congratulated for both of these. And most importantly of all, with 14 keg taps and 3 cask pumps there’s a very decent beer range as well.
The keg taps included offerings from Kernel, Mad Hatter, Wild Beer and Cloudwater breweries but I went for the cask Ridgeside Cascadia which was very good..
An excellent location in Sadlers Yard and it does benefit from a very pleasant outside seating area, not that we could use this on our visit. If I worked in one of the nearby offices it would certainly be a regular lunch time venue , but I’m not sure I’d want to spend a whole evening here.

On 19th October 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1612 recommendations about 1562 pubs]


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Pilcrow

Quite a haven perched on the edge of Sadlers Yard, which is a public sq. The interior in my opinion was a bit of a let down as it was so poorly lit, especially the bar area which made it difficult to read the pump clips and even see the staff. Their cask beer quality was excellent and prices reasonable for the city centre. I went for the Ridgeside Cascadia, which was a good beer to start with on our PuG crawl.

On 15th October 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2781 recommendations about 2781 pubs]


moby duck left this review about The Pilcrow

A kind of large scale garden shed with beer, obviously as Bucking Fastard describes below as we were sharing the same PuG crawl. I had the Ridgeside Plato, a decent drop.It became quite busy soon after its 12.00 noon opening time,so seems to be a popular venue. Nice beer and the service was good, It wouldn't be the sort of place I'd hang out in to often though, if I lived locally.

On 15th October 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1221 recommendations about 1209 pubs]


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Pilcrow

Modern bar faced in a variety of timber,a theme carried into the interior.The Yard outside offers lots of drinking options,useful as the interior is quite modest,long and thin beyond the bar.
The focus here is on beer with 14 keg taps ,of which one will be sparkling cider (in theory).On the ale front there are 3 handpumps drawing on my visit Ridgeside Plato and Cascadia (very good) and Castle Rock Fruit v1.
Worth including on a real ale crawl,if I was more conversant with craft keg this bar may appeal even more.Very convenient for Victoria station.

On 13th October 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1950 recommendations about 1950 pubs]


Rob Hunter left this review about The Pilcrow

Paid my second visit to the Pilcrow last Saturday. 3 cask ales plus 14 keg taps, of which 2 were off and 1 was a cider. The keg options are, as seems to be the fashion now, on the back wall of the bar and there is a helpful menu above them where everything is colour coded by style, so if you are looking for a dark ale or an IPA, for example, you can narrow them down pretty quickly.

There is plenty of outdoor seating for the nicer weather, which sadly did not last too long and we felt spots of rain and made a dash inside before everyone else realised and nabbed all the tables. The security guy outside was friendly and welcoming.

There are menus on the tables for sandwiches, but no hot food is available. There are also your usual bar snacks and a bag of pork scratchings set me back £2.

Can't remember what the cask lineup was, but I went for a Vic Secret by Summer Wine Brewing Co, which was pretty decent.

It's in a bit of an odd location, but worth seeking out.

On 20th August 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 380 recommendations about 352 pubs]


ROB Camra left this review about The Pilcrow

Been in this pub many times since my original review and it's settled down nicely. The cask ale is always well kept and the prices, whilst still a bit steep, are not as crazy as they were when they first opened. It's now a regular first port of call when arriving into Victoria.

02/10/2016
A new build pub that has literally been built from scratch by the owners. It still smells very strongly of the wood that it has been built from. There's an outside terrace overlooking a small square that was being used by an annoying bunch of skateboarders during our visit. The pub itself is long and narrow with some standard tables and chairs along with some bar stools along ledges to the right of the bar. There are 3 handpumps which aren't badged. The beer is written on two blackboards which aren't that easy to see if you're actually stood at the bar. Lot's of craft keg pumps along the back wall. It's all very nicely done out and will no doubt mature into a pleasant pub. The barmaid was very friendly and offered tasters of the two cask beers that were available. Now for the bad news. A pint of Tiny Rebel Juicy was a rip off £4.40 and even worse a pint of the 3.5% Thornbridge Wild Swan was £4. Some of the craft keg options were around the £6.50 mark. Someone is going to have to pay for the building costs and it's going to be you. Probably a 7 for the pub itself, but the rip off prices knock it down a couple of points. Once all the hoo hah has died down they're going to struggle on a wet Tuesday in February with those prices.

On 17th July 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2683 recommendations about 2612 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Pilcrow

Trendy place which is one room with a bar one the left hand side with 14 craft type offerings which was a decent selection. Clientele on the twenties age which is a bit young for me. A big yard outside which was unfortunately occupied by skateboarders.

On 9th March 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1403 recommendations about 1402 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Pilcrow

No too bad a place. Its basically a long wooden hut set in a small square just behind Victoria Station. 3 handpumps on the bar all now fully clipped up so today you could have Thornbridges White Swan and Peverel plus Red Willow Seamless. Behind the bar along the wall there are 14 taps for crafty stuff. It was quite a pleasant little place though like all so called crafty beer places it is a tad expensive though it was reasonably busy on this freezing cold Thursday in January.

On 5th January 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3291 recommendations about 3210 pubs]