User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Summer 2020 crawl - possible venues with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

The Corner, Huddersfield Central, Huddersfield

Pub added by ROB Camra
5 Market Walk
Huddersfield
HD1 2QA

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Rob Hunter left this review about The Corner

Brewery tap for Mallinsons but also has guest ales available, these being from the likes of Neepsend, Brewsmith and Nightjar at the time of my visit a couple of weeks ago. The bar is upstairs but not too tricky to find. A total of seven hand pulls were available plus 10 keg options that didn't appear to be the usual mainstream stuff. Fairly busy on Saturday evening but we managed to get a table. The furniture is more café style table and chairs than your normal bar setup, but it worked well for the size of the place.

On 20th August 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 495 recommendations about 452 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Corner

Well reviewed and described already.
The Corner is the Mallinson's brewery tap and the amiable staff take their beers very seriously in that their knowledge is deep and they are more than happy to share it along with tasters if required.
An interesting range of global tapas is listed on the menu although we didn't try any.
Beers on were: Mallinsons Nelson Sauvin, Wappy Nick and Outstanding Pale, Ashover Font, Framework Citra IPA, Squawk Mosaic IPA and Great Heck Voodoo Mild in additon to a further ten interesting keg choices. A wide range with Mallinson's less well represented than I'd expected. Everything tried was in good shape and went down very well.
Huddersfield has an amazing number of quality hostelries so, if being selective about the very best, this is on the must visit list.

On 4th August 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Corner

Very good 1st floor bar with 6 cask and 10 keg ales. I had a Vocation Divide & Conquer @ 6.5% ABV which was in fine form. Definitely one to visit and revisit.

On 16th December 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1598 recommendations about 1596 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Corner

Described at length by the reviewers below and I have nothing to add to those. I very neat little bar that still smells new. A great range of beer on the bar and my pint was in very good nick, served by a friendly barmaid. My thanks to Tara & Elaine for taking the time to drop in and meet the crew on the PuG crawl. I'll be back here again soon.

On 12th December 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2802 recommendations about 2726 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Corner

After a slightly underwhelming visit to the Wood Street Craft Beer House it was good to come here next and be able to compare and contrast against this recently opened Mallinsons Brewery Tap bar. And of the two, this is how you do a new Craft and Cask Ale bar.
Yes its a bit hard to find but once you have located the front door in Market Walk and transcended the stairs you enter into a bright and airy bar room with very clean lines , light wooden flooring and pastel coloured walls and ceiling and plenty of assorted wooden tables and padded wooden seating. Then there’s an additional room of equivalent size with additional seating upstairs.
The bar itself , with its clean wooden top and banks of shiny silver beer dispensers has a pleasant white and blue decor which goes well with the chosen art deco bar logo, and there’s a bit of exposed brick behind to keep the hipsters happy.
There are two banks of 5 keg taps separated by 7 Ale handpumps and Malinson’s own beers were featured as well as other local offerings on our visit. The Cask Ales were as described by Mr Fastard below and for the record the Keg offerings were, Simcoe and harpi from Mallinsons, Hopcraft Temple of Love, Big Hug Hibernation, Roaring four Simcoe and the White , Pilsner and Stout from the Outstanding Brewery as a thank you to the Bury Brewery for fitting the pub’s beer lines and pumps.
Tried a couple of the Mallinson’s brew as it would have been rude not too and they were obviously in fine form. Decent price levels as well, especially for a Londoner, with the cheapest Ale coming in at £2.40 for a pint and although a couple of the Keg offerings were touching £6.00 (what you almost have to pay for a pint of Peroni in London BTW) , most were around the £3 to £4 mark.
I think we got the last available table when we arrived mid Friday afternoon, so it’s good to see this new beer venue already well utilised by the good folk of Huddersfield.

On 26th November 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1698 recommendations about 1647 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Corner

Mallinson's recently opened brewery tap, somewhat hidden away in a rectangular, modern bar housed in a first-floor room in an alleyway between the Market Place and the Packhorse Shopping Centre. Light decor with interesting graphics, smart furniture, friendly staff and an excellent atmosphere on a Friday afternoon. Also has another room upstairs, mostly used for live music and other events. Seven real ales on handpump, including two of their own beers - Wappy Nick And Serious Blendin' (£1.40, half). You can see the care and effort put into this place, and well worth seeking out.

On 26th November 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 5955 recommendations about 5955 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Corner

This pub had a good atmosphere and also a decent vibe from the staff who genuinely took pride in their beer. The pub was bright and comfortable and had a good mix of beers from 7 handpumps and 10 keg taps. I went for the Hopcraft Temple of Love, as it's one of my fav tracks from the Sisters of Mercy and have to say a good choice. The pub also had a large function room upstairs, which was equal in size to the first floor lounge and bar. This floor is used for various events and tasting nights from Mallison's Brewery. ROB Camra had also organised a meet the brewer and we happily engaged with two brewers from the brewery. My conversation skills were ok at this stage, another hour into the crawl, then they'd have had no chance understanding me.

On 21st November 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2947 recommendations about 2947 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Corner

Quite difficult to find,best approached from the Market Place but well worth seeking out.You enter by a long flight of steps to a square first floor room with a collection of tables,some with formica tops, and chairs with the bar running along most of the far end.Large windows bring in a lot of natural light and there is a further room up another set of steps,which is more utilitarian.
There are 10 keg taps and 7 handpumps featuring on my visit Mallinsons Wappy Nick and Serious Blending (excellent) along with Empire Ahtanum,Outstanding Ultra Pale,Torrside Late to the Party,North Riding Dandelion & Baldock and Revolutions Disintegration.An interesting and eclectic line up mostly Locale,it might have been good to see more Mallinson's output in their brewery tap but what was on offer still marks this out as a must visit on any serious real ale crawl around town.I will most certainly return.

On 19th November 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2049 recommendations about 2049 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Corner

Situated, as might be imagined, in a corner of Market Walk, the Mallinsons Brewery Taphouse's entrance would be easy to miss, if you weren't looking for it. An upstairs bar, the entrance is through a green drab-painted door and up a couple of flights of stairs. The light and airy room is a plain rectangular shape, with the bar on the far side the most attractive feature. Painted off-white and blue, it features seven hand pumps and a number of keg fonts. Beers are listed on a board to the right, and samples of the cask beers are to be seen next to each pump, making the few dark beers easy to spot.

In fact, I swerved the Great Heck Voodoo Mild on this occasion, and went for Mallinsons Ahtanum, one of their single hop beers, this one hailing from the west coast of America. Service was friendly, with many offers of tasters, and beer prices were below average for the town centre, in my limited experience. At the time of my visit there were just two Mallinson beers, which I imagine would not always be the case (see my photos of the pump clips). Definitely worth a repeat visit.

Date of visit: 23rd September 2016

On 14th November 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2560 recommendations about 2419 pubs]