User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Guess who I met today? with bcfczuluarmy on the Pub Forum

Brew York Tap Room, York Central, York

Pub added by hondo .
Enterprise Complex
York
YO1 9TT

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


ROB Camra left this review about Brew York Tap Room

Found it open on our latest Sunday visit and it was much more to our taste than the attached beer hall. You sit alongside the brewery and there's also a small outdoor terrace overlooking the River Foss. We ended up having a couple here whilst waiting for our reservation time at the nearby and excellent Ambiente tapas bar. Both my pints were in good nick and Ms CAMRA liked her red wine, so we'll call back in here, but not if the beer hall is the only place open.

12/04/2019
Not open on our Sunday visit even though a sign on the window says they're open 12 - 9 on a Sunday. Turns out they'd got a lot of bookings and decided to open the beer hall next door instead.

On 28th October 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2749 recommendations about 2677 pubs]


Gill Smith left this review about Brew York Tap Room

Enjoyed our visit to this 2019 entry in the Good Beer Guide while visiting York last month. There were a good range of their own beers on around half a dozen cask handpulls, and Swedish brewery Beersmiths had 10 keg taps. We had a great evening sat in the outside seating area overlooking the river Foss tasting the Swedish beers. We also had half pints of Brew York Central Dark and the strong Imperial Tonkoko which went down very well. Friendly staff and great atmosphere.

On 12th August 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1296 recommendations about 1186 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Brew York

The brewery tap within the brewery itself, with seven hand pumps serving their own beers, also available are a clutch of other brewers beers and cider on a multi font plus some more on rear wall mounted taps. Seating is at tables, a drinking shelf bar beside the fermenting vessels etc, and on stools at the bar counter. There's a bar billiards table at one end as this has had a big revival in York. The walls of the bar area are the plain brick of the older building next door with white painted breeze block end walls, the decor is from the brewery's well deserved awards, arty photos and original artwork for the pump clips. Also there's some bunches of hops and a few too many fairy lights on the steelwork for my liking. It's a lot more pleasant than some brewery taps I've been to. Anyway Brew York brew high quality beers in a variety of styles so you pretty much can't go wrong here; opening hours are currently 5-11 pm Thursday, 12-11pm Friday & Saturday.

On 12th September 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2133 recommendations about 1981 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about Brew York

Just outside the town centre and well worth the walk is the Brew York Brewery Tap.
It's based in a large, high-ceilinged, unpromising shed and takes up a space to the right hand side of the building from where all the brewing kit can be easily seen.
Despite the utilitarian surroundings and it being a relative quiet and chilly night they had managed to generate a decent and warm atmosphere helped by clever lighting, efficient overhead heaters, very good beer and plenty of chat and laughter.
As expected, the cask offer was exclusively from Brew York: American Pale Ale, Viking DNA, Maris the Otter, Little Eagle, Jarsa and Tonkoko. Everything I tried was in superb nick and I was also persuaded to try some of the various keg offers which were generally stronger and more experimental. The Imperial Tonkoko Stout really stood as being excellent.
A superb spot and a great addition to York's already healthy range of establishments. I won't visit York again without dropping by.

On 9th January 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Brew York

Part of the back-street industrial unit where Brew York do their brewing, this fairly basic and badly designed bar doesn't really do it for me. If you like to drink your beer within sight of the vessels in which it is brewed, then this is the place for you; personally I prefer to have somewhere comfortable and publike to drink in. And preferably not to have to use my elbows to get near the bar. This place is obviously very popular with beer tourists and pub crawlers and was very busy on my Saturday afternoon visit. My beer was in good condition and I was able to find somewhere to sit while I drank it, but to be honest I wouldn't be hurrying back. Good marks for the beer, not so much for the experience.

Date of visit: 21st October 2017

On 28th November 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2432 recommendations about 2296 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


david hammill left this review about Brew York

Called in this very nice brewery tap the beer was some of the best I have had in along time i tried x-panda 3.9 abv my wife tried a couple of very nice pilsners

On 25th June 2017 - rating: 10
[User has posted 91 recommendations about 82 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Lester Ford left this review about Brew York

Having first visited this brewery bar in late November when we were last in the city it was always going to get a visit while we were here over Easter.

Arrived here just before 7pm on the Saturday and managed to bag a couple of stools at the bar, I do love sitting at bars!

Just like the last visit, there were 7 hand pumps and another 7 keg lines on all of ales & an addition of 5 real ciders. The ales were a mix of BrewYork ales and guests, not being able (yet) to sample BrewYork ales in the south I decided to stick to their beers, I had very good pints Razberet @ 5.3% (a very good Raspberry Saison beer), Amber Herd @ 5.5% & Big Eagle @ 6.5% (a mighty APA with a kick). All of the ales went down a treat while the wife enjoyed a couple of the lower % light beers.

We stopped for a few hours, enjoying the atmosphere, chatting to locals and ale hunters from states & just having a cracking night out.

I love this place and so does the wife so that’s a double tick.

On 15th May 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 80 recommendations about 78 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Lester Ford left this review about Brew York

A review from late November 2016.

After a few beers on the way down Fossgate on a Friday evening the wife and I finally arrived at this cracking Tap Room situated in an old industrial unit on Fossgate.

I expected the tap room to be pretty empty but I was very wrong, the place was pretty packed and was really buzzing inside.

Almost all of the ales from their own range with 5 ales on cask and another 7 on keg. All beers are served in either 3rds, halves or pints. All 3 of the ales I had were excellent and from their core range, they were BrewYork BrewYork @ 5.0%, Little Eagle @ 4.5% & Viking DNA @ 5.0%.

New ales being added as soon as one was finished meant that I could of stayed here all night long and not got bored!

The Pork Pies are popular and very good. This is a cracking tap room and possibly one of the best I have been in certainly in the UK…..if only I lived in York!

On 12th April 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 80 recommendations about 78 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Brew York

Now open Thursdays 17:00 - 23:00 as well.

On 17th February 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2749 recommendations about 2677 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Brew York

Tucked away just off the main walmgate drag. Brew York brewery/tap room with an industrial feel but nothing wrong in seeing where your beer comes from. Definitely worth including in a crawl if in this area.
Tap room open 12:00 - 23:00 friday & saturday additional opening hours may be added in due course.

On 18th April 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2649 recommendations about 2592 pubs]