User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 16th January 2022) with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

Early Doors, Skipton

Pub added by Aqualung .
14 Newmarket Street
Skipton
BD23 2HX

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Old Boots left this review about Early Doors

Still the best micro in Skipton, on previous visits I hadn’t noticed the WW2 aircraft and motorcycle decor otherwise it’s the same as before. Decent banter among the locals mostly at the expense of one bloke but as he was wearing shorts he didn’t get my sympathy. Five pulls, a few kegs, most of the cask was from Reedly Hallows, all I tried were in decent nick.

On 22nd August 2021 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2452 recommendations about 2246 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Early Doors

Owned and ran by two former landlords, hence the good beer condition. This former book makers open up as a micro pub in Feb 2016 and has a good reputation around Skipton. Six handpumps along the counter, which were all highly polished. All their ales are priced at £2.80, so we went for the Hetton Brewery Hetton Pale ale, which was excellent. We sat over by the window and found the stools to be too high and uncomfortable to perch on, this is my only miniscule criticism.

On 9th November 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3036 recommendations about 3036 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Early Doors

A micropub and a reasonably good one. Thevpub stretches thinly back and the bar to the left has 6 handpumps. Today's beers were from Reedly Hallows, Moorhouse, Doghouse and Black Horse breweries. The beer range covered a range of styles with pale ale, bitter, stout and blonde beers on. Its not the most comfortable of place but the beers compensate for that.

On 29th October 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3436 recommendations about 3346 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Early Doors

Well-described by Old Boots below, so I would only add that the T&G is painted a pleasant and warming shade of red, and that the bar has both elbow- and foot-rails. The five beers at the time of my visit were three from Beer Monkey Brew Co (a local brewery I have not come across before, but some of whose promotional materials were scattered about the pub), plus Moorhouses Blonde Witch and Worsthorne Blackthorne Stout, a cumbersomely named but beautifully constructed beer, which Custodian 42 would have been pleased to note weighs in at 4.9%; my beer of the week.

On 19th August 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2760 recommendations about 2599 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Early Doors

One long room with the bar to the left. Five hand pumps with the strongest @ 4.8% ABV.

On 28th April 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1693 recommendations about 1691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Early Doors

Typical long thin space, with the counter near front on the left with six pulls, two from Moorhouses and one from local wide boys Copper Dragon plus three smaller breweries. Limited seating at stools throughout, there's a drinking shelf down right hand side and a bit on the left. Tongue and groove walls up to the dado, otherwise your usual micro-pub ethos and atmosphere so well worth dropping in.

On 5th April 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2452 recommendations about 2246 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


General Staal left this review about Early Doors

Excellent bar in Skipton. Six taps with five on and no extraneous frippery, just excellent ale. Lovely pint of Kirby Lonsdale's Monumental and a cracking drop of Chestnut Mare drunk over a chat with the very friendly landlord and customers. I am assured that this bar will only be selling ales from microbreweries. Long may places like this lovely bar survive. Highly recommended.

On 16th August 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 142 recommendations about 125 pubs]