User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
pubs galore bar with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

A Room With A Brew, Nottingham

Pub added by Aqualung .
78 Derby Road
Nottingham
NG1 5FD

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Old Boots left this review about A Room With A Brew

A long thin one room micro, brewery tap for Scribblers Ales, not quite to my taste but well enough kept. Bench seating down both sides, raised on one side and with booth like ends the other. Toilets in basement. Their anti plague procedures were spot on as well.

On 29th September 2020 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about A Room With A Brew

Nice little micropub which is the Brewery Tap for Scribblers Ales. We tried Life Of IPA and Masher In The Rye. Both were excellent. I would happily call again.

On 25th March 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1087 recommendations about 1044 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about A Room With A Brew

Like the Barrel Drop this one had music blasting on my arrival and I was told that a quiz was about to start. It's a typical long narrow room with a small bar counter at the rear. The couple running it were very friendly. There was a good crowd in most of whom looked as though they were there for the quiz. I was rather alarmed to see an open mic night advertised for Thursday.
Six Scribbler beers were available along with Burton Bridge Stairway to Heaven and Nottingham Extra Pale. I went for the One Brew Over The Cuckoos Nest (£3.50 discounted) which I was warned wasn't clear but tasted OK. It didn't taste too bad but I wondered if the cask had been left in a hot place.
What Pub lists this as a "Quiet Pub", hardly true if a Karaoke session is going on.

On 27th July 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about A Room With A Brew

Excellent micro and Scribblers tap. Decent gin, wine and food menu so plenty for everyone. Great to sit outside on a warm summers night.

On 9th January 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about A Room With A Brew

For a micropub this one had a very good selection of real ales. It's effectively the tap for Scribbler's Brewery, and had on six of their ales - Rubecca; Beerfest at Tiffany's; One Brew Over the Cuckoo's Nest; Smasher in the Rye; Life of IPA; and Beyond Reasonable Stout. All are puns on films of course, with posters on the walls for some of the films concerned. As well as the Scribbler's ales, they also had on a couple of guest ales - Offiler's Derby and Nottingham Dreadnought. Prices are based on ABV with a 3.7% ale at £3.30 and a 6% one at £3.70. I had the 6.0% one - Beyond Reasonable Stout - which was a mighty nice drink as well. They give a CAMRA discount of 20p a pint. Food was limited to pork pies, sausage rolls, Scotch eggs, nuts, crisps and scratchings all for £1.

This one met the micropub criteria; no music, TVs or fruit machines. Obviously as a shop conversion space is at a premium, so they had some tall tables/tall stools on the left to optimise the space available, but there were some more traditional seating on the right.

This one ticked all the micropub boxes for me. I expect to be in here again during one of my annual trips to Nottingham. Everyone else has given it an 8, so to preserve arithmetical consistency so shall I.

On 3rd December 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about A Room With A Brew

A very welcoming place with the bar to the rear left. Many Scribblers ales on offer, the best of which was One Special Brew over the Cuckoo's Nest which was complemented by a Jack Nicholson poster of the film on the wall. Definitely worth a revisit.

On 15th October 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about A Room With A Brew

A recent and welcome micropub opening which needs to be good to hold its own in the Canning Circus area. It is and it does.
I'd guess that this was previously a shop and there's been a lot of thought put into the layout making it an easy and comfortable spot. The distorted mirror covers the whole wall behind the bar making a statement as well as visually enlarging the place.
The welcome from the young barmaid was friendly and she was knowledgeable on both the beer and the pub.
Being the Scribblers tap, a new brewery to me, their beers were well represented. Our visit found the following: Scribblers Beerfest, Life of IPA, One Special Brew Over the Cuckoo's Nest which was very good and Beyond Reasonable Stout with MH Premium Brown and Muirhouse Chocolate Mild on as guests. A good selection with most of it fairly local.
A very good spot for a pint on the way up.

On 4th May 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about A Room With A Brew

If you are struggling up the steep climb to Canning Circus,this is the perfect place to rest a while.A shop conversion with fine high windows,the interior decor has been well designed with lots of pictures relating to films or books,a mix of furniture with a good banquette by one front window,a small bookcase with the bar towards the back.The lighting has been brought down from a very high ceiling,and creates a good ambiance.This is the tap for Scribblers ales,but there will also be guests amongst the 8 real ales,there is a 20p CAMRA discount while ale is priced by ABV.My Scribblers One Special Brew Over the Cuckoo's Nest was a very good IPA,and there was a mix of styles and strengths.There was a warm and enthusiastic welcome,I would definitely return and it can compete in the red hot real ale scene of Canning Circus.

On 28th April 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2088 recommendations about 2088 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Conway left this review about A Room With A Brew

This is a fantastic addition to Nottingham's real ale scene and especially the "Derby Road Crawl". located opposite the hand and heart and a few shops down is a o long narrow one roomed pub with high sealing and the bar at the back. There are eight hand pulls on the bar dispensing beers and several boxes of real cider. all cider is £3.50 (even the 7.5% stuff) while beers are priced by strength 4.1 and under is £3.20, 4.2%-4.6% is £3.40 and so on. I tried Shipstones Nut Brown and it was in a brilliant condition. half are usually their own scribblers ales and half guests from local micros. This in my opinion probably the better of the two city center micro pubs and definitely worth a visit.

On 27th September 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 454 recommendations about 454 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about A Room With A Brew

A Room With a Brew is a new micro pub which has been opened by Scribblers Ales from St Apleford,this is really Stapleford or what most locals call Stabbo,the brewery is a couple of minutes walk from my house and even closer than the Full Mash brewery which is a five minute walk.

Once inside there is a small oblong shaped room with the bar facing,the room is bare boarded,the seating bench type a pew seats and one tall table.
There was a very good choice of real ales on the bar all from handpumps,i had a drink of Full Mash Red Dog which was on top form,the other beers noted were Scribblers Beerfest at Tiffanys/Rubecca/Beyond/Beyond Reasonable Stout,Nottingham EPA / Rock MIld,Springhead Roaring Meg and Muirhouse Tick Tock.
The pub was fairly busy on my Saturday dinner visit,back ground music was playing.
I quite liked this place and will visit again.

Pub visited 7/5/2016

On 30th May 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]

Page: 1 2