User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with london calling on the Pub Forum

York Chambers, Nottingham

Pub added by Alan Winfield
38 Market Place
Long Eaton
Postal town: Nottingham
NG10 1LT

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Bucking Fastard left this review about York Chambers

A very good micro,which is infact a lot larger than some town centre pubs.Situated in a former bank building,the present owners uncovered the fine wood panelling ,an ornate fireplace and some impressive stained glass in the entrance lobby.The front window is magnificent.There is an outside drinking area in part of the pedestrian square with the door to the micro propped open giving good fresh air to the interior,which also has a high ceiling and felt Covid secure with fewer tables than usual and table service.Effective T&T ,lots of sanitiser and srupulously clean one in one out lavs made this a pleasant visit.
6 ales served from stillage in a cold room on my trip offering Shipstone's Original and MILD (Both excellent NBSS 4.5),Milestone Dark Galleon,Falstaff Meldrew,Lincoln Green Marion and Scribblers Life of IPA (NBSS 4).A very decent line up,lots of Locale but nothing at knockout ABV was the only minor fly in the otherwise excellent ointment.7 real ciders for apple fans.
The two guy's running the micro were top blokes,friendly,chatty excellent curry recommendation and run a tight ship here,with takeout also proving popular.
Covid hasnt dented the financial performance due to excellence ,and together with the outstanding Hole in the Wall very nearby makes this area of Long Eaton a must visit for any real ale fan.

On 12th September 2020 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2088 recommendations about 2088 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about York Chambers

An excellent micro. This is arguably your best bet for decent real ale in Long Eaton centre. Very friendly staff there are the 6 real ales to choose from plus about 6 real ciders also. Small, as you would expect, and definitely worth a visit. I liked it.

On 4th February 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3389 recommendations about 3302 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about York Chambers

The York Chambers micropub is in a handsome building that was obviously designed for some more serious purpose. As mentioned below, beer is poured from barrels on stillage in a cool room at the back. My half of Pheasantry Red was in good condition and I think I managed to walk into and out of the pub without seeming too much of a wreck, although it was my 18th of the day. Only two more to go.

Date of visit: 5th September 2018

On 22nd October 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2658 recommendations about 2505 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about York Chambers

A well run Micropub this one, with a good choice of six ales. Service at the bar was fast and efficient from the two barman on our Friday eve visit. The seating area for such a large micro was limited and the locals will quickly find their way to the seats along the front windows or near the fireplace, which was lit on our visit. We went for the Leatherbritches Bouncer and Rat Brewery Cheating Rat. There was also fresh cobs on the bar and pork pies available. This is worthy as a destination pub and can be easily twinned with Draycott, as it is only a short bus ride away.

On 20th March 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about York Chambers

Excellent little pub, perhaps a bit bigger than most micro-pubs but very much of that ilk. Housed in a very distinctive listed building, it features five small tables between the compact counter and the splendid front window that forms part of a very distinctive façade. There are also four, even smaller, tall tables for vertical drinking around the periphery. Proudly proclaiming that "Lager isn't served here", there a six real ales on gravity that are served from casks on stillages visible in a cool room at the back. Fine selection of real ales from mostly local breweries, although it was the Summer Down Under from Brewsters (£3.25) that caught my eye. The chalk boards listing the beers 'coming soon' looked good too, and six ciders / perries were also listed. With an atmosphere full of friendly chatter, this one is well worth seeking out.

On 4th February 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about York Chambers

York Chambers is Long Eatons first micro pub.
The pub was converted from an old cafe and still has the same room and bar inside.
The room is roughly square shaped and has a tiled floor,the bar faces,the landlord said there will be a new bar installed in the new year,there are no pumps on the bar or optics,the seating is a pew seat to the front and normal tables and chairs elsewhere.
The beers are are stored in barrels in a cold room to the rear which can be seen while having a drink,all beers are poured in this room.
There was a good choice of real ales go choose,i had a couple of drinks of Lincoln Green Sheriff IPA which was on top form,the other beers were Lincoln Green Marrion,Banks & Taylor Old Dark,Dukeries Golden Castle,Springhead Robin Hood and Dancing Duck Ay Up,there was also three ciders for those who like that drink.
Wines are listed on menus on the tables,no food but there are crisps and nuts.
All beers are £3.25 a pint or £1.65 a half whatever gravity they are.
The pub opens at 11am and on my visit closes at 10pm though probably later at weekends.
This is a great addition the Long Eatons drinking scene.

Pub visited 30/12/2015

On 7th January 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]