User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappointment of the week with london calling on the Pub Forum

Furley & Co, Hull

Pub added by Old Boots
18-20 Princes Dock Street
Hull
HU1 2LP

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Blue Scrumpy left this review about Furley & Co

We had arranged to meet here after the football match, but unbelievable on a busy Saturday evening, the bouncer outside stated that they were shutting early as it was too quiet.

If a pub cannot manage to sustain enough custom on a busy Saturday evening, I fear for its future.

On 10th January 2022 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 995 recommendations about 995 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Furley & Co

Nicely converted warehouse, well done, slight Brewdog industrial look but done better. There is a tacky outside area next to the quay. Good beer.

On 7th June 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1287 recommendations about 1265 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Furley & Co

This is a fairly new craft-style bar, opened a little over a year ago in an old Warehouse on the Princes Dock where it looks across to the modern Princes Quay shopping centre development. The pub has a concrete floored single room layout with the bar sited on the right hand wall. The servery is a fairly simple affair with a low counter and split bar back with a shelving unit which partly obscures the rear part of the room. High tables and stools have been set up under the front windows and in a row through the centre of the room whilst you can find some standard table and chairs on a slightly raised bare boarded platform over to the left. Further seating is available to the rear where the walls have been painted a rather alarming shade of orange, and elsewhere I noted a large photo collage, some interesting music and film posters and an 'On Air' sign from XFM Manchester - the significance of which was rather lost on me. To the rear, doors lead out to a patio garden which is signposted as the Eel Yard and has a nice eel themed mural painted on the back wall. This name apparently derives from this area previously being used as a storage space for eels caught in the Princes Dock before being sold to Dutch sailors. A modest crowd was in on a late Saturday evening and low level chatter and a good selection of tunes soundtracked my visit.
There was a good cask and keg selection to choose from at the bar, with the handpulls offering Atom Blonde, North Riding Milk Chocolate Stout and Sticklebract, Anarchy Blonde Star, Half Moon Old Forge and four real ciders. Meanwhile, keg fonts displayed beers from Atom, Wild Beer, Charlie Don't Surf, Brass Castle and Bristol Beer Factory among others. All of the cask ales are listed on a board to the right on entry and the keg range is displayed at the far end of the bar. My pint of the Atom Blonde was very nice and the bar staff were friendly and efficient in their service.
This is a very competent and pleasant example of a craft beer bar, seeming to get by fine without the extortionate pricing or terrible decor that tend to pervade in this sort of place. The pub benefits from being set in an interesting old building with nice views but gets the basics right in terms of beer range and quality too. This was a good solid addition to my crawl around the city centre and well worth a look in passing.

On 21st February 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2694 recommendations about 2694 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Furley & Co

A neat and small craft beer cafe on the Princes Dock. I called in here on both days of our trip to Hull. A fairly basic space with a booth in the window and the rest mainly tables and stools. The toilets are "interesting", worth a visit even if you don't need one. 4 handpumps on the bar and Atom Schrodinger's Cat and Camomile were both in good nick. A very good addition to the area. We'll be here again next time we're in Hull.

On 13th April 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2939 recommendations about 2856 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Furley & Co

New ‘craft beer’ place set in a nice dockside location (former shipping warehouse) overlooking Princes Quay, the (not so original) no hipsters/hamsters sign outside gives you an idea. Modern industrial style minimalist room inside; orange and grey shades that, due the large plate glass windows at the front which have unobstructed light, worked fairly well. Large amount of ‘proper music’ and film posters and some excellent piped tunes. Interesting multi-coloured urinals were a talking point. Anyway it’s about the beer isn’t it? Four cask; Atom Schrodinger (very good nick), Atom Camomile(very good), Half Moon Blonde and Otley O2. 12 craft kegs at sensible prices, plus four ciders. CAMRA discount available. Friendly service from the young staff. Also noticed some cakes etc, some of which had beer in their ingredients! In short, this is what Brew Dog bars should be but often aren't. I’d definitely do this one again.

On 12th April 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 4219 recommendations about 4206 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Furley & Co

A very good modern bar that had a vibrant feel about it, a good selection of beers as listed by just a quick pint below,the Atom Scrodingers Cat was an excellent pint at only 3.5%. The barman was pretty switched on and helpful, this style of bar may not be to everybody's taste but it's right up my street and a breath of fresh air after visiting the bland Admiral of the Humber beforehand.

On 20th March 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1468 recommendations about 1451 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Furley & Co

Interesting modern bar, not benefitting from very much in the way of seating in a 'L'-shape around the counter. Also has a small patio area out the back and what looks like some of its own furniture by the dockside (but it was hardly the weather for that). Four cask ales on offer, including two from Atom - Schrodinger's Cat (£3.50) and Camomile - Half Moon Blonde and Otley O2 Croeso from the five handpumps. 12 'craft' beers and four ciders listed too. It won't appeal to everybody, of course, but it does what it sets out to do pretty well, I thought, and certainly worth a stop if in the area.

On 20th March 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6687 recommendations about 6687 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Furley & Co

An interesting modern bar serving quite a varied range of beers form keg and handpump. I decided to go for the Atom Blend 1 Camomile, which was a bit too way out in flavour for me. I managed to finish my pint, but unfortunately, I wouldn't be rushing back to the bar for another.
Atom Brewery started brewing in 2014, where they collaborate with Hull University, producing experimental beers and their main focus is on the science of brewing.
The bar had bright orange and grey painted walls, the bar consisted of a plywood front and a compressed ply counter top, sliced lengthways to reveal some interesting layers. Marine ply was also used to clad some of the walls behind the bar area. The atmosphere was relaxing and the staff were very helpful.

On 20th March 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3036 recommendations about 3036 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Furley & Co

I was impressed by this new bar situated on the quay side with views over the marina from the high tables arranged along the front windows.The A board outside was humorous and self deprecating ,and it does feel quite hip with the obligatory free water dispenser on the bar but there was a very friendly welcome from the young bar staff .12 keg craft beers,4 real ciders,5 handpumps serving 4 real ales with a CAMRA discount, pork pies £3 and scotch eggs led to an enjoyable interlude and the gentle muzak enhanced the relaxed vibe.My Atom Camomile (£3.14 with discount) was in good nick and an interesting brew.The multi coloured urinals in thermo plastic were worth a squint and this is a bar that would be firmly in the list for a revisit when next in Hull.

On 20th March 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2230 recommendations about 2230 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Furley & Co

This fairly new bar, opened in December last year, was described by the Yorkshire Post as “Probably the most interesting and exciting new drinking hole to open its doors in East Yorkshire for quite some time”.
Now I cannot comment on how much excitement the drinking populous of East Yorkshire are used to but Furly & Co is quite a good Craft and Cask and should certainly be added to the list of venues worth visiting in Hull.
A fairly minimalist interior common with a lot of new craft bars with some exposed air conditioning and bare walls, but not on the industrial factory level of Brew dog bars, and with a bit of character provided by some iconic film posters dotted about the place. The ground floor area is one open plan room with some comfy brown leather settee seating and high tables and chairs with a corner bar area that dispenses 12 craft beers and four cask beers.
I think there will be functioning upper floor areas in the fullness of time but at the moment it is only the interesting toilets with its funky coloured plumbing and giant Starsky & Hutch film poster from what I could see.
The craft beers included offerings from the local Atom Microbrewery, Thornbridge, Vocation and Beavertown and the four available cask beer for our visit included two from Atom, Camomile and Shrodingers Cat, Half moon Blond and Otley O2 Croeso. Tried the two Aton Cask beers and the Camomile was a bit of an acquired taste the Shrodingers Cat was a nice hoppy beer. The Cask beers were available in schooners or thirds with most at the £3 to £4 level for a schooner and the four ales were at £3.40 for a pint. A very reasonable Craft and Cask Ale bar and a very good addition to the Hull drinking scene.

On 20th March 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1779 recommendations about 1721 pubs]