User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
pubs galore bar with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

Mackenzie's Whisky Bar, Liverpool

Pub added by Al Bundy
32 Rodney Street
Liverpool
L1 2TP

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Al Bundy left this review about Mackenzie's Whisky Bar

No longer serves real ale. All handpulls gone. Just like my custom, unfortunately.

On 17th July 2020 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3390 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about Mackenzie's Whisky Bar

a very nice place serving five real ales in a comfortable ornate room. Three TVs and loud music but the beer and friendly service make up for it. after a few more pints I think the sad naked clown behind me will freak me out though - frightening....

On 9th November 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 773 recommendations about 754 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Mackenzie's Whisky Bar

The name says it all,come here for whisky but beware the beer.There is a grandeur to the interior with it's high ceiling and impressive windows.However the artwork on the walls is disturbing and offputting,it weird rather than a talking point.There are 5 handpumps ,with three serving on my crawl visit of Sharps Sea Fury,Liverpool Light and Red Star Catch a Fire (out of condition,I left a lot of it).
Stick to the spirits

On 10th July 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2088 recommendations about 2088 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Mackenzie's Whisky Bar

Opening in 2015 in a former branch of the HSBC bank, this is a smart, upmarket bar specialising in whisky, with over 200 varieties apparently available. You enter the building through a grand porch with a marble framed doorway which gives way into a smartly floorboarded room with a grey servery running along the right hand wall. The bar has a nice patterned tile floor around it, a marble top counter and a part mirrored, part grey panelled bar back. The large, roughly square shaped, space opposite the bar has two chunky centrally positioned pillars which break up the space nicely. The room has been filled with lots of very smart tables, button backed chairs and a few high and low stools – no expense seems to have been spared on such plush furnishings. Each table has a whisky bottle place on top of it with fresh flowers inside and the walls are decorated with lots of old portraits, mainly to the rear, whilst the rest of the room has to make do with a mix of white and grey high panelling. A further collection of whisky bottles run around the top of these panels and I noticed a nice little fireplace to the front left which had a large screen above showing live football with the sound on. A door at the far end of the bar leads out to a decent looking, partly covered garden strung with copious amounts of fairy lights.
The huge collection of whisky bottles on the bar back grabs the attention on entry, but there are handpulls here too and the cask range on this occasion was Sharps Doom Bar, Red Star Samba, Cross Bay Halo, Stamps Blonde Moment and Titanic Plum Porter. Keg options were a mix of fairly well known international brands and less frequently seen brews although I’m not sure there was anything from a genuine microbrewery. I tried a pint of the Halo for £3.30, which was in good shape and indicative of why the pub has made the cut for the 2017 Good Beer Guide.
This is a very smartly presented bar that still felt very new despite having been open for well over a year now. It felt a bit too upmarket for my liking and I found it difficult to properly relax. It’s obviously a great venue for whisky lovers and the good beer means it would fit in well on a crawl around this part of town, but I can’t imagine enjoying a proper session in here.

On 9th March 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2545 recommendations about 2545 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Mackenzie's Whisky Bar

Situated on the corner of Rodney St and housed in a former ex bank and listed building. This upmarket establishment has a menu of over 200 worldwide whiskies and some of them can set you back £60 a shot. The bar area is on the right hand side as you enter with a marble counter top and painted panelled bar front and tiled floor surround.
Seating in the main lounge consisted of chesterfield settees and leather buttoned captain's chairs and large tables. Other features were marble fireplaces and red crystal glass chandeliers, the flooring was teak. The lighting changed from daylight to evening setting which was subdued and had an orange candle glow to it.
Five handpumps on the bar, so we settled on a George Wright Cheeky Pheasant and Red Willow Feckless, both were in great shape and served by a very knowledgeable barman. If you're looking for a room, you won't get one, as this is not part of a hotel.

On 5th July 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Mackenzie's Whisky Bar

A hotel bar decorated in shabby chic style. A lot of bench seating and a few tables and chairs plus bar stools. A large selection of whisky as you might expect given the name. The friendly barman was up for a chat despite the pub being fairly busy on our Sunday evening visit. Sadly only 2 of the 5 handpumps were in use, but my pint was in good condition and Ms CAMRA thought the red wine was very good. I suspect we'll be in here again soon.

On 24th February 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2868 recommendations about 2788 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about McKenzie's Whisky Bar

Update:
Now has more seating and all 5 pumps are usually in use. Apparently the 'house guest', I have been told, is to be the wonderfully delicious Liverpool Organic Kitty Wilkinson, a darned lovely chocolate and vanilla stout.

4/10/15
Part of a new hotel thingy. A one room pub with the bar to your right if you enter on Rodney St. 5 handpumps of which only 2 were on at this time serving Hobgob and Brains SA. Several crafty beers also on tap. Lots of whisky unsurprisingly. Limited seating at the moment. An outside area is at the rear.

On 3rd December 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3390 recommendations about 3303 pubs]