User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pubs Galore crawls 2020 with oldboots on the Pub Forum

The Bald Buzzard Ale House, Leighton Buzzard Central, Leighton Buzzard

Pub added by aleand hearty
6 Hockcliffe Street
Leighton Buzzard
LU7 1HE

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Bald Buzzard Ale House

I would like to have scored this a little higher, only the owner's attitude towards his opening times was dogmatic. We had our itinerary for the day and took the trouble to check the opening times on the Bald Buzzard site, Whatpub which isn't always accurate, and social media. Friday opening times all read 12pm, Google 12am which we took for 12pm and their Facebook page had no opening times, so we arrived at 12.20 to find the pub shut and the opening times on the door - Friday opening 4pm.
We went back later in the day and arrived back at 5.30 where we found the pub to be busy as expected. We went for the Oakham JHB, served from the stillage in a cold room from behind the bar, slightly cold in my opinion, to meet the temps of their three craft keg. The other cask choice was Chiltern Copper Beech and four ciders. After receiving my beer I said to the owner, nice to see you open. He said the times are on the door and Facebook, which wasn't correct as we had checked this before arriving earlier in the day. The owner proceeded to mock me in front of the other customers around the bar, who all stared at me as though I had two heads. Not somewhere I'd return to.

On 3rd November 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2915 recommendations about 2915 pubs]


Gill Smith left this review about The Bald Buzzard Ale House

Enjoyed our visit to this busy microbar which features in the 2019 Good Beer Guide. Beers on offer were Oakham Dragon in Bavaria and also Green Devil, Chiltern 300s Old Ale and Honey Porter. We had the Honey Porter which was fine. Also serve bottled beers,cider and wine, and various snacks.

On 18th February 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1296 recommendations about 1186 pubs]


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Bald Buzzard Ale House

ORIGINAL REVIEW November 2015
This is a very fine example of a micro pub,there is lots of light in this former shop unit but the frosted glass means you retain some privacy while sampling the fine real ale.There is a bench seat along one wall,sensible sized tables on both sides,a small bench opposite the bar and room for vertical drinking while chatting to the guv'nor.The dark wood floor completed the scene.The number of barrels racked in the temperature controlled stillage has been increased which means you may have up to 5 choices,and Red Squirrel/Mad Squirrel now features large besides LBB so lots of Locale choice.My Mad Squirrel APA and LBB Rebel Yell were on top form.There is a selection of real ciders,wine,nuts,pork pies,scotch eggs,ploughmans,cheeses and toasties which all seemed the perfect accompanyment to the ale.The generous landlady also brought out some free snacks which was a lovely touch and naturally we got chatting.Conversation rules the roost here and it's very dog friendly so there are lots of people popping in and out .Due to a lack of economies of scale,this micropub doesnt charge micro prices but is in line with local pub ale pricing and hopefully is sustainable as such.A must visit in Leighton Buzzard and one of the best micro pubs I've visited in the UK.Recommended.

UPDATE
This is now the go to pub when in Leighton Buzzard and the ale selection had got better and better every year.The ale conditioning is perfect and by looking at the pump clip collection on the walls you can tell that only the very best brewers will feature here.Expect a real treat on Fridays when Oakham Green Devil IPA will appear ,and then disappear quickly ! Vinyl is discretely played at low volume from a turntable.Expect real ale discussion of the highest order with the guv'nor.Upgraded to full marks from me,an absolute must visit and stay a while to really enjoy.

On 18th February 2019 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2021 recommendations about 2021 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Bald Buzzard Alehouse

This is now one of the older micropubs being well over two years old. It's run by a friendly couple who are a bit more mature than some micropub owners but younger than me! It's well described below and is a proper micropub with no TVs or music. I saw no sign of any spirits either. As far as size goes it's probably average or slightly smaller but there is low seating.
There were four beers on and three ciders on an early Thursday afternoon. These were Oakham JHB, Moon Landing & Black Hole Porter and a local Rockhopper Lonbrew. I went for the Moon Landing and Lonbrew both £3.60. The Moon landing was a new beer to me and was excellent while the Lonbrew was a lowish ABV pale with English hops so was very similar to countless beers. It was unfined but only had a slight haze and tasted fine. I noticed the cider was the same price as the Black Hole Porter (£3.80) so went for one of them which was also excellent.
This was easily my favourite of three Leighton Buzzard pubs visited and is a worthy GBG 2018 entry. My only disappointment was missing out on Dark Star Revelation which was due on next.

On 4th December 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2144 recommendations about 2139 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Bald Buzzard Alehouse

The Bald Buzzard demonstrates many micro pub positives: former shop, very friendly welcome, no music, good atmosphere, small selection of proper pub snacks and decent selection of beer.
It is small but comfortable with wooden floors and seating and a bar at the far end with a fake wood burner next to it. The bar is really no more than a leaning post and serving surface as the small, temperature controlled room behind it is where the beer is kept. There were 12 ale barrels and a couple of ciders in there on our visit and the beer is straight from the barrel.
It was busy on our early Saturday evening visit with one or two playing cards, which are provided along with a wooden games compendium, plenty of chat and a couple of friendly dogs.
It's basic, as you'd expect in a micro pub, but comfortable with sage green walls, traditional motor pictures and appropriate railway notices.
Beers on were Harviestoun Bitter and Twisted, Red Squirrel Best, Mad Squirrel APA and LBB Rebel Yell. A decent selection with good local representation and the latter two were in good shape.
A great example of a well run micro pub which would be my first stop in Leighton Buzzard.

On 8th December 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Bald Buzzard Alehouse

A recent shop conversion which has been tastefully achieved. This micropub is run by an enthusiastic couple and has already found a place for itself in the local real ale scene. Most of the beers featured so far have been from local breweries such as LBB (Leighton Buzzard Brewing Co), Hornes and XT, with Red Squirrel due to go on next, but they have also had some from further afield such as Dark Star and Tiny Rebel. Beers are served directly from barrels which are kept in a bespoke stillage behind the counter. Food such as sandwiches and jacket potatoes is available. The pub is closed on Sundays and Mondays. A slight gripe from me: £3.50 a pint seems a little steep, but perhaps that's just my northern prejudice.

On 21st October 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2456 recommendations about 2319 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


aleand hearty left this review about The Bald Buzzard Alehouse

Due to open on 4th July 2015.

On 10th July 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 341 recommendations about 328 pubs]